Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers Reviews

Page 1 of 99
½ January 12, 2018
It's a fun movie but not the best in the series
Super Reviewer
January 10, 2018
Halloween 4 may just be good because it reintroduces everyone's favourite pale-faced psychotic to the Halloween franchise, that was so clearly suffering from a Michael Myers shape void, evident in entry three, season of the witch. It may also be good because of the young, now a horror veteran Danielle Harris' performance as Jamie - Laurie Strode's abandoned daughter - who is really good in the film. Or it could just be that the film ups the ante, ups the gore and thickens the soup of the story. Either or, The Return of Michael Myers is the best of the franchise after the original Halloween.
January 7, 2018
It gets certain crucial things right: the introduction to the new main characters so that we will care for them later on and the up-to-par, consistent suspense. On the downside, it's prone to carelessness and jumpy pacing, possibly to avoid explaining the inexplicable plot holes - if you turn your brain off and see this as merely a convention that facilitates the action, you'll have a blast. It's a good but not great horror film with an ending that walks the line between far-fetched and awesome.
December 27, 2017
It can't live up to the first two films, but with the titular return of the masked killer, Halloween 4 is an underrated horror sequel. Donald Pleasance is once again fantastic as Sam Loomis, and the talented young Danielle Harris steals the show as Jamie Lloyd. The kills and scares are great, adding up to a more than adequate sequel.
November 20, 2017
yes yes yes, a fantastic horror sequal to the franchise, i like the halloween films but i do think this one may be my fravorite sequal personally its scary has a great story line it holds up to the original.
Super Reviewer
November 8, 2017
The movie's hilarious disregard for logic makes it definitely more entertaining than its two terrible predecessors, as it fully embraces the absurd (and is not even ashamed of doing so) and turns Michael Meyers into an indestructible devil (or "evil on two legs").
Super Reviewer
½ November 7, 2017
I don't know which of the four (or five, by this time next year) different Halloween timelines to consider the "official" one, but I guess personally I've always considered the one the includes the "of Michael Myers" movies to be it for me. Not necessarily the best movies, but its the longest timeline, and (not counting Season of the Witch) the first. Halloween 4 is a good lead in for the rest of this particular continuity. It's certainly not a perfect movie, but if you're looking for some background kills to accompany your October vibes, you could do worse.
November 2, 2017
Halloween 4 brings Michael Myers back in name and appearance, but unfortunately he now resembles Jason Voorhees. He has more in common with un-killable slasher than the malevolent shape he once was.
½ October 31, 2017
second best in the Halloween franchise was my earliest memory watching a horror film
October 31, 2017
A so-so Halloween sequel at best with an interesting twist at the end which ended up going nowhere as far as the rest of the franchise is concerned. All the usual cliche stupid characters and Michael Myers looks like he was played by an out of shape gym teacher with padding and stiff shoulders. Very odd
October 31, 2017
The original idea for this film was a ghost story revolved around Halloween as part of the proposed Halloween anthology films. That would've been a much better idea then reintroducing Michael Myers as a superhuman, indestructible, psychic who wakes up right when he hears he has a niece and proceeds to travel back to haddonfield to kill totally insufferably stupid characters which could be a fun movie but the tone becomes so serious and dark that it just comes off laughable and say for a few suspenseful scenes towards the end, the movie is just a boring silly mess.
October 30, 2017
Mike Myers ressurrects the franchise, so it's okay afterall!
October 30, 2017
Cheesy Halloween micheal Myers movie.
½ October 23, 2017
The second best film of the Halloween/Michael Meyers collection. I would only willingly watch the original and the 4th film.
October 19, 2017
Good Halloween film. Not the best in any way, but still rather good, with a memorable performance from Danielle Harris as Jamie
October 15, 2017
I think that this is where it starts to get weird.
½ October 14, 2017
Halloween 4: the return of Michael Myers was actually a good sequel. It was actually faithful to the original movie. Even without John Carpenter this movie did ok, it would've been better with him involved but it's still ok without him. There was some good suspense in this movie which made some of the scares effective. The directing was pretty good too. The only problems I had with this movie was that at times it was extremely corny and there were a lot of genre cliches. But other than that, this is a pretty good Halloween sequel. The twist in the end was great. B
October 14, 2017
.,,¢,,,¦,,¢,,,¦,¢,,¦h
October 9, 2017
a fun, and worth entry into the franchise. Definitely one of the stronger sequels.
½ September 23, 2017
Nice return for Michel is enjoyable but there's some flaws
Page 1 of 99