Hollywoodland - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hollywoodland Reviews

Page 1 of 153
September 2, 2016
What a sad life and death. It's slow but well acted and written. It's an ok movie.
½ August 13, 2016
Hollywoodland features two strong performances from Ben Affleck and Diane Lane, but that's about all we have here. Adrien Brody was the wrong choice to play the sneaky detective, trying to underplay an accent and bringing a dull sense to the screen. The film was ultimately unsatisfying, overly confusing, and lost me after the first half (which was very well done).
July 31, 2016
Hollywoodland is a fascinating story lost in a bland cinematic retelling. The ambiguity around the mysterious death of the first actor to ever play Superman, George Reeves, makes for an interesting detective mystery; paired with two simultaneously running storylines, one featuring the investigation and media circus and one focusing on Reeves' life leading up to his death, it has all the makings of a stunning piece of filmmaking.

It's a shame that this story is being told through such a bland script. It's a slow-burn that takes its time in revealing details and building upon itself, but maybe it takes too long in doing so. By the time the credits roll, there's no lasting sense of impact that should accompany this story. It's sad to see the talent of Adrien Brody being wasted in such an unfulfilling script: Brody is clearly giving it his all, and acting-wise, he's certainly not bad, but a stronger writer could've elevated his performance, and the film overall, into something much stronger.

The other side of the story, the George Reeves half of the film, is more solid. Ben Affleck's portrayal of Reeves is quite powerful: not only does he bring a sense of warmth to the few scenes in which he actually plays Superman, he shows the more tragic, troubled side of the struggling actor. Diane Lane, who has many powerful scenes of her own, and Bob Hoskins also feature prominently in this half, and are both excellent.

The contrast in quality between the two halves is detrimental to the overall experience, which is a shame because there's a lot of good hidden within Hollywoodland. For a directorial debut from Allen Coulter, it's quite a competently filmed and produced movie, and with a stronger writer behind it, it could've become something truly special. As it stands, it's a mostly unimpressive look at the Golden Age of Hollywood and what comes with becoming a star that'll likely hold your attention for two hours, if nothing else.
½ July 25, 2016
True Hollywood Noir. This one seems to slip between the cracks and wasn't on manys radar, solid film.
June 16, 2016
Interesting mystery/drama about the death of TV's Superman George Reeves.. Great cast.
½ April 7, 2016
Hollywoodland is drab and dismal. If it weren't for the impressive cast, this movie would feel like a student film that was trying a little too hard to be film noir. Ben Affleck's part of the story is interesting, but every time Adrian Brody came on the screen, I wanted to fall asleep. I really hope that George Reeves' life wasn't this miserable.
January 16, 2016
It's a slow, contemplative film that takes a lot of time and energy to watch. The script does not follow the standard format and takes time to get to the reveals. But it has plenty of surprises and twists. Great movie for a lazy Sunday afternoon and a martini. Deep characters. Multiple threads.
½ October 26, 2015
It's amazing how they managed to take a very fascinating mystery and turn it into this movie. The acting felt awful and rigid by most of the actors, the tone of the film was boring and pompous , so many side plots that distracted and detracted from the storyline, and all the characters are entirely unlikeable. This isn't the story about a murder or a suicide - it's a story about a narcissistic private investigator who thinks he can make shit up to get his name in the paper to help distract him from his crappy life.
September 17, 2015
If you know the backstory this is a interesting thriller otherwise you may think it drags in parts.
August 15, 2015
No, it ultimately doesn't hold together but Affleck gives a terrific performance as George Reeves. Unfortunately the whole Bennifer thing and Gigli doomed this film before it was even in the can. It would be a few years before Affleck directed his first film, Gone Baby Gone and it rescued his career.
½ June 1, 2015
A man is constantly told his theory about something is wrong, only to realise that his theory about something is wrong.
½ May 27, 2015
A compelling crime drama/ biopic that shows us three possible theories on how George Reeves (Ben Affleck) might have died that fateful night. Each scenario offers very unique and believable conflict between real-life figures.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
A pretty good drama/thriller movie. The story takes place in the 50s about a murder of an actor played by Ben Affleck. A detective (Adrien Brody) gets a job to find out if it really was a murder or suicide. Nice story and well made movie. I enjoyed watching it.
½ November 16, 2014
I don't know why it took me so long to watch this film. To be honest I hadn't even heard of this one. I don't know why because these are the type of movie that I enjoy. And I enjoyed this one, the acting is nothing special not bad but not great either. What I liked is how the director really let the story speak for it self. Yes, it is slow but it does a great job of showing how hollywood was is the 30s, 40s, 50s and 6ps when the studio system was king. Basically the head of the studio was a mob boss, and some abused this power.
½ September 26, 2014
Hollywoodland is a decent film. It is about a detective who examines the mysterious death of George Reeves, TV's Superman. Adrien Brody and Ben Affleck give good performances. The screenplay is entertaining but a little slow in places. Allen Coulter did an alright job directing this movie. I liked this motion picture because of the drama.
August 1, 2014
I think Affleck does a fine job here in a little, underrated film. It's a good story and I enjoy films about Hollywood history. But it doesn't entice repeat viewings.
July 19, 2014
Adrien Brody does well as Louis Simo, the detective who is seemingly unaware of his own desperation to make a name for himself by solving the mystery of George Reeves' death. This is an interesting movie with much to say about the price of fame especially as Simo is the perfect counterpoint for George Reeves' character, a man who did not value his own celebrity status. That being said, the movie itself doesn't quite accomplish it's goals but the journey is certainly worth a look.
July 14, 2014
wow......ummmm just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a great movie 2 watch......its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie......i think that adrien brody, ben affleck, diane lane, bob hoskins (.R.I.P.), lois smith, play good roles/parts throughout this movie....i think that the director of this mystery/suspense/drama movie had done a great job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.....i think that this is such a really powerful drama movie 2 watch its got a great cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie........its got a good soundtrack throughout this movie......i think that bob hoskins (.R.I.P.), was great throughout this movie......


Historical liberties::

Hollywoodland takes liberties with actual historical events for dramatic purposes. Several events and places are condensed to fit into the film, including:
During a personal appearance at a children's western show, George Reeves meets a boy with a loaded gun, who almost shoots bullets at him. Reeves talks him into giving up the gun by saying that they would bounce off him, but hurt innocent bystanders. Although Reeves repeated this story himself, researchers have never been able to find anything to corroborate the story. After Reeves's death, Leonore Lemmon is shown at the reading of his will, stunned when everything he owned in his estate goes to Toni. In reality, since Lemmon was not included in his last will and testament, she was not invited to the reading. Lemmon did, however, make public statements akin to the dialogue in the film.
The depiction of Reeves's scenes in From Here to Eternity suffering audience derision at a test screening (and subsequent cutting of his scenes) is part of an urban legend. No test screenings took place, and the finished film includes all Reeves's scenes that were present in the original shooting script. No alternate cuts of the film have ever been proven to exist.
The scene showing Reeves barbecuing his costume is based in fact: Reeves is said to have burned his costume at the end of each season, not just the one time to celebrate the cancellation of the series.
The detective Louis Simo is a fictional character based somewhat on an actual detective in the case named Milo Speriglio.
A scene in the filming of a first-season Superman episode shows Reeves in an alley, "taking off," suspended by wires. A wire breaks and Reeves crashes to the studio floor. The oft-repeated alley takeoff in the real series was stock footage and was performed by a stuntman. However, Reeves did take such a fall during a cable-aided takeoff, in a studio-bound forested setting, in the episode "Ghost Wolf," and never consented to use cable again in the series.



i think that this is such a really well written/acted/directed movie 2 watch.......its got a great cast thorughout this movie.......i think that this is such a really powerful drama movie 2 watch its got a great cast throughout this movie.....i think that this is such a brilliant movie 2 watch.......i think that ben affleck was fantastic throughout this movie as george reeves (.R.I.P.), throughout this movie.....i think that adrien brody was fantastic throughout this movie.....i think that this is such a really powerful drama movie 2 watch but its such a brilliant movie 2 watch with a great cast throughout this movie......
June 25, 2014
Crime Drama Which Is Based Around The Real Death Of Superman Actor, George Reeves. This Film Follows An Investigation By A Private Detective, Louis Simo (Adrien Brody), Who Is Hired By Reeves' Mother, Who Believes Her Son Was Murdered. The Film Starts With The Events Of June 16th, 1959, Where Reeves (Ben Affleck) Was Found Dead Of A Gunshot Wound. The Film Then Proceeds To Feature Various Flashbacks, Which Highlight Parts Of Reeves Career. This Slow-Burn Crime Drama, Makes The Viewer Question If It Was Suicide Or Murder, The Film Offers Different Alternatives Of What Could Have Happened. If The Relationships Of The Characters In This Film Are Close To What They Were In Real Life, This Is A Thought Provoking Mystery. This Is One Drama However Which Doesn't Fail. Director Allen Coulter, Directs This Beautifully And It Boasts Some Great Performances From Adrien Brody, Ben Affleck, Diane Lane & Bob Hoskins.
Page 1 of 153