Hope Springs Reviews

Page 1 of 9
October 31, 2019
Is having Meryl Steep's character practising her fellatio technique on a banana really all the material they could come up with?
August 24, 2019
Felt the need for a lighter more cinematic touch with its delivery, a little more humour when suitable to sell the big scenes, but with less use of the soundtrack to sign-post the next emotional trigger point.
July 30, 2019
The level of nuance, insight and realism offered by the actors is hard to come by in film... They continue, after all these years, to show them how it's done.
June 8, 2019
There hasn't been a romantic comedy this grown-up and this heartfelt to come to the multiplexes in quite some time.
February 2, 2019
There's an underlying air of reliability which allows the viewer to sit back, relax and enjoy its easy humour and the chemistry between Streep and Jones.
December 27, 2018
They say Meryl Streep can do anything as an actress. Hope Springs proves it.
November 21, 2018
I have to say most people, including myself, prefer to watch a romance take place with a younger couple, but with these two seasoned and compelling actors, the awkward sexual tension is charming and very funny.
September 1, 2018
One of those films that is only as good as its stars. Luckily, in this instance, the stars are Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones.
August 30, 2018
The script treats its characters with respect. The relentless music is another matter entirely.
June 19, 2018
The heart of the movie is about sacrificing pride and risking embarrassment in order serve a spouse in love.
December 3, 2017
The word for both Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones is simply "courageous." The overarching theme of the movie is: Should people who are no longer young and slim and unwrinkled talk so much about -- much less engage in -- s-e-x?
September 11, 2017
So as long as you're aware watching Hope Springs is a little like being in therapy yourself and having the occasional laugh, you'll find this film rewarding.
September 1, 2017
I won't reveal if these two adult learners rekindle the flame they thought was out long ago. But I will tell you this: I never thought seeing Meryl Streep pull an Alanis Morissette would be one of the highlights of my summer.
April 12, 2016
There are parts of the film that work beautifully, all of which feature Jones' innate ability to emote with a look, a gesture, or a sigh.
November 25, 2013
Unlike the cloying contrivances of It's Complicated, Hope Springs is audacious in its commitment to subtle authenticity, never artificially upping the dramatic stakes but instead staying true to its small yet relatable story.
July 17, 2013
As well-written as it is, with frank analysis of what can make a good marriage lose its spark over time, the film gets its emotional resonance from the heartfelt performances.
June 30, 2013
This dramedy offers a refreshingly-honest and comedic look at an aging couple still trying to make their relationship work.
May 26, 2013
As estranged bedfellows, Tommy Lee Jones (he's a little bit Harvard) and Meryl Streep (she's a little bit Yale) make great combatants in a rousing battle of the sexes.
January 10, 2013
...a refreshingly adult endeavor that benefits from its honest sensibilities and from the stellar performances of its leads.
January 8, 2013
Streep fans, I think you're going to enjoy this one. I know I did.
Page 1 of 9