How to Live Forever - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

How to Live Forever Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ February 2, 2016
Documentary about age and the hunt for a long lasting life. Naturally there are no answers here, but the key seem to stay happy and postitive. We meet some very freaky people, some interesting people, some very smart people and some dumber fellas.

Impressive ages and a cool documentary, but it's never a big film.

5.5 out of 10 long bearded men canoeing with a stick and a beer.
November 9, 2012
The best part of the movie is an interview with an Irish 103- year old smoking, beer-drinking marathoner.
September 22, 2012
Some great tips for how to live a better life and some really inspiring stories.
August 28, 2012
Amusing and enjoyable.
August 10, 2012
Fairly well made, mildly engaging.
½ June 19, 2012
Funny and quirky and ultimately thought provoking. The best part is being along for the ride into Mark Wexler's mind as he contemplates the surface topics (aging and preventing aging) and reveals the subterranean topics (living, spirituality, relationships.)
June 10, 2012
Mark Wexler's wonderful documentary "How to Live Forever" is a funny, surprising and thoughtful exploration of life's third act. The curious, down-to-earth Wexler asks a lot of great questions of both ordinary and extraordinary people -- from a 94 year old practicing heart surgeon to cryonics patrons, from preachers to elder porn stars. Woven throughout the film are some of the leading voices on the study of aging, along with writers Marianne Williamson, Ray Bradbury, Suzanne Somers and his very zen friend Pico Iyer.

A few of the interviews he did stayed with me long after leaving the theater. For example, the high school teacher who encourages her teenage students to put rocks in their shoes and smear Vaseline on their glasses to teach them empathy for their elders and the Ms. Senior America pageant that made us laugh, cheer, and cry. The joie de vivre of Ms. Senior Arkansas, her outlook and optimistic approach to life are truly inspiring. It's not about retiring, it's about refiring!
½ June 10, 2012
More an examination on certain people pushing 100 or more than any actual helpful tips (that aren't obvious) on living that long. It's not overly exciting filmmaking but presents us with a handful of interesting people. Most notably a man in England who smokes, drinks and gets angry often and is over 100 but still runs marathons and looks as though he's 30 years younger.
½ May 15, 2012
Live more now!!!
In a humorous and informative way, director Mark Wexler helps define what choices we need to make to live a quality life. There isn't just one clear path. I am glad I had a chance to watch it so I could focus my efforts on what is really important...
May 14, 2012
Director Mark Wexler freaks out about growing older, and decides to fight back. Luckily for us, he takes his camera along for the journey. With characteristic wit and depth, Wexler tackles the complex and prickly subject of aging with a surprising variety of opinions. This gem of a film gives us the cutting-edge science of futurist Ray Kurzweil, the wisdom of author Marianne Williamson, and the genius of science fiction legend Ray Bradbury, alongside more controversial voices like a 101 year old chain-smoking marathoner and an elder porn star. Wexler works out with fitness legend Jack LaLanne, contemplates a future on ice at a cryonics lab, laughs with comedienne Phyllis Diller, drinks gallons of green tea, and extracts promises of immortality from life-extension expert Aubrey de Grey, but draws a blank when asked by his friend, writer Pico Iyer, the actual merits of simply wanting more. It is the ultimate question, and one the director sagely leaves to the viewer. After all, as the subtitle warns us, results may vary.
½ July 31, 2011
If you were offered a pill that would allow you to live for 500 years, would you take it?

A fascinating exploration into the lives of some of the oldest people on this planet. It is at times quirky yet at times manages to be philosophical. The participants featured (a 94 year old surgeon--still active!, a centenarian marathon runner who only swears to smokes and beer, and the inevitable Jack LaLanne among many others) share their secret to a long and active life, though at times contradictory. Several 'experts' in the field advocate for more radical solutions to a long-life and some claim that within a few decades we might be able to avoid death altogether.
Leaving more questions asked than answered, the documentary's insight into different theories and practices to achieve what mankind has always sought is advantageous for any person who occasionally ponders these issues.
July 26, 2011
Self-conscious and uninspiring.
May 12, 2011
People who disliked this movie have lost sight of the real message behind the film. I don't think its purpose was to actually answer the question of how to live forever, but show us different outlooks on how to live as happy as you can while you live. If you live your life doing the things you love doing, your life will thank you with longevity and more time on earth. It also gives us a chance to hear about life and living from the perspective of people who have lived longest. I think the film does a great job at combining the spiritual things people can do to live longer and with the physical things like medicine and nutrition.
May 12, 2011
A marvelous documentary, that shows you the ways some folks have made it to be the oldest people around the world. The characters the director, Mark Wexler finds along the journey are quite unique and delightful to watch. And the great question that is asked throughout, "If there was a pill to live for 500 years, would you take it?" , makes you ask yourself if you would take the pill to be 500? This film has motivated me to become healthier and live a more fulfilling life. I find it will do the same for you.
May 12, 2011
I found Dir. Mark Wexler's documentary very enlightening as it detailed a vast variety of methods to slow the aging process. It was interesting to see so many celebrities lend their thoughts on the topic too. It doesn't matter what age you are, this film shows inspiring outlooks on the nature of life and death. I would definitely recommend it to anyone!
May 12, 2011
I have to say I love how this movie doesn't beat you over the head with an opinion one way or the other. We get to look into a world of cryogenics, active seniors, even hormone replacement therapies, but we aren't told what the best way is. Only that these options are out there. While these ideas and technologies are interesting, the interviewees really make the movie. Seeing them live out fulfilling lives into their 90's and beyond was really inspiring. Honestly I think Mark Wexler's decision (leaving it up to us to decide what we think about longevity and really the meaning of life) was correct, I wouldn't have enjoyed an ending that promoted a certain ideal way of life.
May 12, 2011
A movie full of characters. Watching this made me want to go out and live now rather than worry about forever. Buster Martin is a 101 year old that probably every college male wants to end up like, and Jack Lalanne puts Chuck Norris to shame. It really makes you think about quantity versus quality.
Page 1 of 1