Hysteria - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hysteria Reviews

Page 1 of 24
½ August 10, 2016
This might genuinely be the worst, most cliched film ever. Dreadful acting, non stop predictable lines - a complete waste of time. Left with the overwhelming desire to punch each cast member in the face. Proposal on Christmas Eve, as she's let out of prison and he gives her the rights to the settlement. FUCK RIGHT OFF whichever douchebag wrote this utter piece of shite.
½ August 1, 2016
I'm left feeling more unsatisfied than climaxed.
½ April 12, 2016
Silly little movie but good fun!
½ January 26, 2016
Good acting but the bizarre nature of the story leaves a lot to be desired about a doctor who has a breakthrough in pleasuring women by creating a sexual device
Super Reviewer
½ December 2, 2015
This delightful British comedy about the invention of the first vibrator in the medical treatment of female hysteria in the Victorian Era is a very funny film that benefits from an elegant dialogue, a sharp cast and a perfect chemistry between Dancy and Gyllenhaal.
½ September 1, 2015
~ Just finished watching this movie... ~,~,

#GranvillesHammer1880 #HamiltonTypeA1902 #BarkerUniversal1904 #WhiteCrossElectric1910 #ChicElectric1910 #PolarCub1921 #Gilbert1933 #ChicGlorifier1950 #TheFighter1970 #Wahl1970s #HitachiMagicWand1970s #Rabbit1980s #PocketRocket1990s #IRubMyDuckie
½ May 30, 2015
There is something inappropriate about a lame comedic love story set within the context of 19th Century misguided and misogynistic diagnosis of female hysteria. The movie's defiant refusal to actually take a more serious examination of a very complex moment in psychiatric and female history is the most provocative aspect to be found here. All the more disappointing that this predictable "rom-com" tossed in a time machine was made by a woman.
½ March 24, 2015
Safe and undemanding entertainment with solid performances from a good cast. Good for when you've got a bad cold and are feeling a bit low.... its well made but if youre looking for something memorable and inspiring this is not your film
February 22, 2015
An entertaining little period comedy about an entertaining subject. It's very tastefully handled and Dancy and Everett are good value.
February 18, 2015
Tosiasioihin perustuva romanttinen komedia 1800-luvun Englannista, jossa hoidettiin hysteriaa sairastavia naisia hieman erikoisin keinoin... ;)
½ February 12, 2015
The stiff Victorian setting creates quite the contrast for the subject matter. The fabricated upgrade to the real story is indeed hysterical, so it all makes sense! Overall quite enjoyable, if a little silly.
½ January 25, 2015
Maggie Gyllenhaal as usual amazing!
September 21, 2014
Aside from the peculiar plot, the execution is somewhat dull... Gyllenhall tries to do what she can with what she's given, I guess.
½ September 7, 2014
Sometimes you just need a good... movie
August 8, 2014
Slightly hilarious...all the more so because it is based on a true story.
July 23, 2014
I have never laughed so often while watching a period film. Although the romance was a little trite with cheesy dialogue choices, the overall movie was a silly, funny and entertaining experience.
July 22, 2014
a well-made film with a ludicrous premise and a few good laughs - but based on the premise i thought it would be a lot funnier and more substantial than it actually was. i felt the film didn't have a lot of substance and didn't cover much that wasn't already assumed from the trailer - in all, not many surprises, plot-wise.
June 28, 2014
OK overall movie, in this romantic comedy that has a decent cast but, Maggie Gyllenhaal really steals the show.
June 28, 2014
A fun and witty rom-com about the 'dark' times of the fairer sex with happy endings, and some science thrown in!
June 14, 2014
As a historical film, I found Hysteria badly researched.

As a romantic film, I found the chemistry between the leads forced.

As a comedy, I found the toilet humor references unsophisticated.

Though I found the topic of the film interesting.
Page 1 of 24