Irresistible Reviews

Page 1 of 10
July 9, 2020
I do like Jon Stewart -- I think almost everyone does -- and certainly respect what he was trying to do with this film, but ultimately it feels like a watered-down, not very imaginative version of Primary Colors.
July 9, 2020
I don't think it works well as a drama or a comedy. It's not especially funny... There's a good message here, but it's buried under a lot of stuff that doesn't work.
July 8, 2020
In desperate need of ruthless incisiveness, it goes soft at every turn.
July 7, 2020
It's shocking to see Stewart, an artist responsible for some of the most insightful political journalism of the modern-era, produce such a simple-minded and ill-researched movie.
July 7, 2020
Stewart is just better than this. The new movie is shockingly unfunny and disjointed...dated and utterly pointless...
July 6, 2020
Steve Carell and Rose Byrne... make two wonderful and passionate arch enemies. [Full review in Spanish]
July 6, 2020
Jon Stewart's misguided and unfunny political comedy is everything we don't need right now.
July 6, 2020
"Irresistible," ironically, is pretty easy not to like.
July 5, 2020
Contrary to the promise of its title, Irresistible lacks the sharpness required to make it a compelling and timely political satire. [Full Review in Spanish]
July 3, 2020
Irresistible keys its focus towards vital subject matter, but lacks the sharp precision needed to properly satirize the ambivalence of our political infrastructure.
July 3, 2020
Surprisingly, Jon Stewart is weak on character development and original comedy. But the ending is effectively stunning, Frank Capra meets the Prez Drumpf era. Worth the wait.
July 3, 2020
Irresistible is as scathing as you'd expect from Stewart, but it's also unexpectedly hopeful in the end. It's not an easy balancing act in today's nihilistic 24 hour news cycle, but blending humor and humanity has always been Stewart's wheelhouse.
July 3, 2020
Too safe and too hollow election-year satire.
July 2, 2020
Call it a less effective kind of satire.
July 2, 2020
Some of these asides are poignant and fit the film's flow... but some, like a bunch of visual pranks on the audience, don't land, stylistic flourishes that end up feeling underdeveloped.
July 2, 2020
Oh, how we've missed you Jon Stewart.
July 2, 2020
Stewart brilliantly weaves together a succinct story the unveils what drives the political machine no matter where you live and which party you most readily identify.
July 2, 2020
Stewart's basic decency requires a fundamental belief that things can always get better. And if that tenet isn't completely irresistible, it really should be.
July 2, 2020
Much like how some films are greater than the sum of their parts, Irresistible is nowhere near as bad as the sum of its failures.
July 2, 2020
[Irresistible is] funny and pointed as it skewers both politics and the media, carefully resisting the temptation to take sides.
Page 1 of 10