Lady Bird - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lady Bird Reviews

Page 1 of 18
December 12, 2018
Gerwig's film isn't quirky for the sake of quirks; she connects her themes of family, faith, and freedom into a wheel of curiosity that allows you to travel along and gain a unique perspective...
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 7, 2018
Greta Gerwig, in her first time out of the gate, establishes herself as a confident and intuitive 21st century American filmmaker.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/4
November 12, 2018
There's an intuitiveness to Gerwig's masterful screenplay that, in its own way, feels quietly profound, every bit as relatable on this side of the pond as it will be to those who grew up in the boring Sacramento suburbs.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
November 10, 2018
This film champions women, displaying the full range of complicated emotions, untold strengths, and everyday triumphs that are often afforded only men in feature films.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.83/5
November 6, 2018
The film still manages to be comedic and natural and leaves you with a sense of empathy for Lady Bird, as we all were her age, with our own problems, not very long ago.
November 5, 2018
You'd be hard-pressed to find more vivid, authentic female characters than in Lady Bird... Be sure not to miss out on one of the decade's ten best movies.
November 1, 2018
Strikes a balance between the mumblecore sensibilities of frequent collaborators Joe Swanberg and Noah Baumbach while bringing a refreshingly anarchical female voice into the choir.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 30, 2018
We already knew that Greta Gerwig was already immensely talented, but Lady Bird just goes to show that she hasn't presented the full extent of her talents until now and Gerwig will be a major force in filmmaking for years to come.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 28, 2018
I'm not one of spiritual inclinations, but a film like Lady Bird gets really close to getting to the heart of things. It's soulful, in a most literal and lyrical sense.
October 27, 2018
It's sincere without ever feeling contrite, intelligent without ever being condescending, and familiar but somehow entirely fresh and unique.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 25, 2018
It all comes back to Ronan and Metcalf, who create a mother-daughter relationship onscreen that is as memorable as any in recent memory.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 24, 2018
This movie had a sense of realism to it that set it apart from others in its genre.
October 23, 2018
I've loved Greta Gerwig since I first saw her in "Hannah Takes the Stairs" and I'm ecstatic to report that her first feature film 100% lives up to the hype.
October 14, 2018
Everything about it is a true delight.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 10, 2018
Lady Bird tells a familiar narrative, but its lead has, rather brilliantly, managed to package it with freshness that entertains and prompts reflection.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 10, 2018
At another time, on a second or third or fourth watch, I'm sure I will be able to find something to criticize about Lady Bird. But right now, having ruminated on this film for a full day, there is little to nitpick.
October 10, 2018
While Greta Gerwig may have painted her wings, it is the boldly captivating and nuanced performance from Saoirse Ronan that ultimately allows Lady Bird to fly.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
September 14, 2018
This is a enjoyable and refreshing drama which is definitely a must see on its road to wide-release. Go see it... then go call your mom.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 10, 2018
It feels real because the writing doesn't shy away from the pain and awkwardness and unexpected joys of the life it depicts.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 5, 2018
Lady Bird combines wisdom and tenderness, humor and grace. It's light-footed without being lightweight. And it captures, with great feeling, the turbulence of a girl growing up. I can't recommend it enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 18