Looking for Comedy in the Muslim World - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Looking for Comedy in the Muslim World Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 12, 2010
Finally seeing this film so many years after I was told it was awful, I can't agree with the people who told me that. Perhaps I love Brooks' self-deprecating humor too much. Paul Chambers, CNN.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 30, 2009
If there were any justice, the garlands now given to Woody Allen for Match Point would be handed over to Brooks
December 24, 2006
Brooks is going to India to shoot a movie (most of it filmed in New Delhi) about how to get laughs on foreign soil.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 27, 2006
Looking for Comedy succeeds smashingly both as a comedy and as a savvy deconstruction of comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
November 11, 2006
In Albert Brooks's new film, we get another plausible explanation of why we fight -- and it may be the most unsettling of all.
October 7, 2006
The movie has a perversely unifying effect: Muslims, Christians and Jews may not be able to agree on exactly who the heck Jesus is, but they're fully capable of bonding in boredom.
September 27, 2006
Those who like their humor wry and dry will be rewarded by a nuanced study of the way self-absorption can keep people disconnected, be they comedians, governments, or you and me.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 29, 2006
Looking For Comedy in the Muslim World is full of Albert Brooks' trademark jokes and absurd scenarios.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 29, 2006
Despite the potential for disaster Brooks sets up with the title, the movie is relatively harmless. It's just so very harmless that it doesn't make much of an impression.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
May 28, 2006
Brooks Ú o tipo de comediante mais corajoso que existe: aquele que prefere ser considerado um fracasso pela maioria desde que, no processo, divirta alguns poucos que consigam compreender seu senso de humor sutil e auto-depreciativo.
| Original Score: 4/5
May 12, 2006
... likeable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 4, 2006
Uses Middle Eastern stereotypes only to question what could be accomplished by foolishly sending Americans into a world we don't comprehend.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 18, 2006
Whether it was supposed to or not, it still falls uncharacteristically flat.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 11, 2006
An essentially toothless affair, poking fun at American imperialism and its attendant cluelessness while never illuminating much beyond the obvious.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 11, 2006
I think this thing is just flat and dead.
February 11, 2006
I like all of Brooks's features, which are brilliantly conceptualized and deftly executed. This one's no exception, and some of the laughs are genuinely cathartic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 11, 2006
A comedian should never attempt to be a diplomat.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 11, 2006
Albert Brooks is in general a funny guy. Many of his films are really good, especially when he doesn't play himself.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
February 11, 2006
Someone revoke this guy's visa, quick.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
February 1, 2006
Unfunny business.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Page 1 of 6