Reviews

Aug 31, 2021
As a heist drama I find it twisted and very exciting. [Full review in Spanish]
Aug 23, 2021
This is Soderbergh very much en forme, and the film's pleasures are constant and rich ... there's a stingingly direct reference to a prison stabbing that, in the right cinema with the right audience, would elicit howls of self-satisfaction.
Aug 18, 2021
Not Steven Soderbergh's best movie, but it is one in which one in which you can see his affinity for desecrating notions about perfect films. [Full review in Spanish]
Aug 9, 2021
Soderbergh examines the myths of America's Golden Age in this effective and stylish crime drama. [Full Review in Spanish]
Aug 6, 2021
There is a lot of fun to be had in No Sudden Move as we are always kept on our toes with the numerous twists and turns the adventure takes us on. Though deeply steeped in the era it mimics, it is an original and uniquely Soderbergh film
Aug 6, 2021
There's not a scene or even a line of dialogue that isn't tied into 'the ideas,' which is a quality with both positive and negative attributes.
Aug 5, 2021
Working with a precise screenplay credited to Ed Solomon, Soderbergh constructs a masterful tale of escalating crime, filled with anti-heroes, outright villains, and low-key twists at every turn.
Aug 3, 2021
For masters in any field, the game they play slows down. "No Sudden Move" doesn't need to show its hand; Soderbergh is three steps ahead and not looking like slowing down.
Aug 3, 2021
Critiques capitalism and institutional racism as effortlessly as it piles on the twists.
Jul 30, 2021
There is some violence, but there is also rapid-fire tension, a lot of humor, superb production values and a pitch-perfect supporting cast.
Jul 26, 2021
...a complicated and taut drama, a superb heist movie, but above all a brilliant neo-noir...
Jul 24, 2021
One of my favorite cast ensembles of 2021. Loved the homage to 50s film noir with its production, and costume design. Superb performances all around with a great direction & a script that deliver a thrilling suspensful story.
Jul 22, 2021
No Sudden Move glides along like a skater on a rail; bumps are felt, a sense of precarity persists unforgotten, but its momentum, poise, and balance are maintained.
Jul 20, 2021
Sometimes, directors will make a genre film, and you can almost feel them straining to rise above it. With No Sudden Move, it never feels that Soderbergh is better than the material.
Jul 19, 2021
Bonus points for a regally menacing extended cameo by the great actor-director Bill Duke, who barely has to move (or speak) to impose his will on scenes.
Jul 18, 2021
Reminiscent of Mamet's 'The Water Engine' this is a no-honor-among-thieves crime drama with comic undertones exploring class tensions and the role of the corporation in society
Jul 14, 2021
No Sudden Move is an extremely likable caper movie that nods to many iconic films of the past.
Jul 14, 2021
Thankfully, we get to catch our breath as Soderbergh also implements dark humor, social commentary and a cast of characters that are so clumsy and desperate you can't help but invest in the journey.
Jul 14, 2021
Part of the fun of No Sudden Move is that we figure out what's going on almost as the characters do.
Jul 13, 2021
The problem of the film's essential thematic timidity and blandness finds expression as a triumph of style over substance.