Oyster Farmer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Oyster Farmer Reviews

Page 1 of 5
June 25, 2015
Love the characters & the quirkiness.
May 26, 2015
Nice story about a guy with a plan to get rich quick backfiring somehow. Like so many englishes though, he is full of it. This would be a TV movie, pleasantly displaying the local lives. Well played and well developped characters. We get to feel the home in this place with warm and pleasant weather every day. Romance wins more than money here.
½ November 8, 2014
Great acting, location and story.
½ June 12, 2014
well crafted aussie drama
½ September 1, 2012
I loved the photography. I also thought the cast was good in the movie.
August 17, 2012
the movie is incredibly pleasant to watch and all the positive energy derives from the simplicity of the plot, the clear characteristics of the main cast and for all the stunning views that the Hawkesbury River offers. Rarely do I have a chance to watch such an unpretentious piece.
½ July 28, 2012
This one is hard to call. The plot is somewhat interesting, but overall I found it a bit too strange and a bit too boring.
½ May 6, 2012
Avustralya filmlerini anlamak zor...
April 10, 2012
Very Very good! The story was a perfect movie story, everything flowed wonderfully. Each character had a story of his or her own, and it made it that much more interesting. A little action, wonderful humor, not to mention an amazing sensual scene that will make you jaw drop. Alex of course was wonderful and handsome!!
Super Reviewer
July 20, 2011
Charming. Intelligent. Quirky. I have to tell you..there was this scene that involved a dog, and a remote, that had me in stitches. Kind of sad outcome..but really funny...
May 3, 2011
proud of the aussie movie industry, and liked seeing Alec get his gear off but not much of a story otherwise
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
April 2, 2011
"Oyster Farmer" starts with Jack(Alex O'Loughlin) giving a ride to Pearl(Diana Glenn) in his boat, making him late for work at the oyster farm run by Brownie(David Field). Aside from Brownie's dad(Jim Norton), Jack is about the only employee. Well, there might have been more if Brownie's wife Trish(Kerry Armstrong) had not left him. To be honest, it is not the job that attracted Jack to the area, but to be close to his sister Nikki(Claudia Harrison) who is recuperating at a local hospital from a car accident. However, the hospital stay is getting expensive and the insurance is running out, so Jack does the only sensible thing and robs an armored truck...

"Oyster Farmer" is a sweet, gentle and meandering slice of life movie, set in a place where a good day's work is valued above most everything else which fits in well with what they used to say about best laid plans. Due to the men finding the work of oyster farming so difficult, a certain machismo erupts in the area.(It is hard to make a case for the area being a backwaters when it is so scenic.) That keeps women away emotionally and physically which costs the men in more ways than one. For example, Trish is a lot smarter than her estranged husband gives her credit for.
½ January 30, 2011
I will never look at a fruit roll up the same way again!
½ October 17, 2010
havent seen it yet but i know its an awesome movie
½ October 11, 2010
it was not to bad love story ...
August 10, 2010
Really outback. Cold, laid-back, uninteresting & bland.
July 3, 2010
Excellent. One of these happened somewhere at some time -movies. Beautiful.
June 19, 2010
This was not an Oscar type film. It was not my usual fare. Claudia Harrison made it for me. A movie about oyster farmers was truly offbeat. I did not understand most of the dialog due to the accents. Nevertheless, I stayed entranced because of Claudia. She should definitely be in more movies.
March 30, 2010
a film that will make you lol and cry alla t the same time .. showing the purest love of them all .. between the farmer ... and the oyster ..lol.. but seriosly i.. here is a film that will warm the very cockels of your hart .. a defo keeper :D x
½ March 7, 2010
Great insight into the mind...
Page 1 of 5