Reviews

Sep 29, 2020
The thing about the Paddington movies is that they are perfect.
Mar 2, 2018
Is anything as improbable as a "feel-good" movie that actually leaves us feeling terrific? How about two of them in the same series?
Feb 1, 2018
The Paddington films preach a message of acceptance that's no less straightforward than that of The Shape of Water, encouraging viewers to share in the hero's tolerant worldview.
Jan 26, 2018
How rare that a sequel improves upon its original, and rarer still is a perfect film. But Paddington 2 is both, encouraging gentleness, politeness, and decency.
Jan 25, 2018
Paddington 2 surprised the hell out of me, and this is coming from somebody who loved the first. This is a sequel that doesn't disappoint.
Jan 25, 2018
A dash of Wes Anderson and a sprinkle of Jean-Pierre Jeunet, swirled around with a wonderfully fluid sense of airiness and light. It's mannered, yet carefree, colorful, and evocative.
Jan 24, 2018
I don't want to review Paddington 2: I want to live in it, and invite you to live in it with me.
Jan 19, 2018
A movie that promotes the importance of family and good manners might seem like it could become the squarest of snoozes, but Paddington 2 is so transcendentally cheerful that it carries the day - and then some.
Jan 18, 2018
All in all, "Paddington 2" has a warmth and wit that's missing from many a children's movie. Don't let your January go by without it.
Jan 17, 2018
It's a fun movie, within which lurks a poignant idea-and, yes, an oversimple one-about communities and their outsiders.
Jan 17, 2018
[Paddington 2] has one out-loud laugh, plenty of sincere cleverness, vast technical ingenuity, a warm heart, lively performances and enough gyroscopic camera moves to make Max Ophüls jealous.
Jan 15, 2018
This is one sequel it's a pleasure to review.
Jan 13, 2018
Everything that a kids' movie should be: sweet and adorable and kind, and adults can enjoy it too.
Jan 12, 2018
I might even go so far as to proclaim Paddington 2 pretty much perfect, but let me indulge in one more marmalade sandwich before I make the decision to say just that.
Jan 12, 2018
It may be difficult to find a review of director and co-writer Paul King's followup to [Paddington] that does not employ some form of the word "charming." This is right and just, and the achievement is surely harder than the devoted cast makes it look.
Jan 12, 2018
Paddington 2 may not be the novel revelation that its predecessor was, but it has its heart-and its stomach-in the right place.
Jan 12, 2018
Even in a sequel, Bond's furry metaphor survives its animation intact.
Jan 12, 2018
If you have kids, take them. If you have nieces and nephews, take them. If you don't have kids but just want to feel like one yourself, go see it. Paddington is a bear for all seasons.
Jan 12, 2018
Utterly beguiling.
Jan 11, 2018
This bear is constantly striving to earn the approval of the humans in his life. One day, maybe we can all be worthy of his.