Ravenous - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ravenous Reviews

Page 1 of 3
December 1, 2016
... the definitive frontier cannibal movie. ... a gruesome survival thriller with a crimson-hued streak of black humor and an elemental hint of the supernatural.
June 25, 2014
It's a layered and very unique satire on America's consumption of the world...
June 17, 2014
Imagine a film that makes A Modest Proposal-style satire out of Dracula's gothic horror tropes in the spaghetti western milieu of The Great Silence. It's a pitch-black comedy about Manifest Destiny and cannibal frontiersmen.
June 6, 2014
'He was licking me!' That plaintive, disgusted wail is pretty unforgettable once you've seen this one-of-a-kind tongue-in-cheek/blood-in-mouth historical horror movie that has garnered an appreciative cult audience...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 3, 2014
Ravenous is unlike anything else, and even if it's not to my own specific taste, I have great respect for its unrepentant weirdness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 2, 2014
There's an awkwardness to Ravenous' more violent scenes, and while Carlyle and Jones give zesty performances, the rest of the supporting cast is quirky to a fault.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 2, 2014
"Ravenous" could have turned out to be much more than what it ended up becoming, but thanks to an inability to take advantage of its creepy premise, all we get is a monotonous, forgettable, and worst of all, boring horror film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 14, 2013
More than just a gory horror film in period dress, though it bears saying over and over again that even as a simple Western-horror hybrid, this is pretty great.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
October 31, 2010
Director Antonia Bird and screenwriter Ted Griffin stir up an extremely unsavory concoction about cannibalism here.
December 23, 2005
The plot begins brazenly, but the story becomes more conventional (though no less bloody) as it goes along.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
June 23, 2003
A terrifically well-made gory horror movie with splashes of humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 8, 2002
...one of those rare, genuinely subversive (of Hollywood values) films, like Beyond the Valley of the Dolls or Eating Raoul
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: ???
April 30, 2001
The one movie of 1999 that looks and feels like nothing you've seen before.
Full Review | Original Score: short
April 2, 2001
If you take it with a truckload of salt you may just find something of merit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
It's too arty for the genre gang, and too grim for the art crowd, and its tone wavers uncertainly between quirky comedy and blunt violence.
January 1, 2000
It'll be on cable soon enough--wait for it and you'll thank me.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 1, 2000
Accomplishes the seemingly impossible task of being overstuffed and undercooked at the same time.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
I found myself often shrinking down in my seat, afraid to see what was going to happen next, but not daring to take my eyes off the screen, either.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Without a doubt the best -- and possibly only -- period cannibal horror comedy ever made!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Page 1 of 3