Rich and Strange - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rich and Strange Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ February 20, 2016
The promise contained in a brilliant opening scene sadly isn't followed through in the rest of the movie, which is quite pedestrian and lacking in Hitchcock's usual flair; the odd motif here and there feels shoe-horned in. However, it is one of Hitchcock's best comedies out of a rather poor record; this is partly because a British production presumably has a sense of humour he understands better than his US efforts, partly because he doesn't try to film it like a thriller, but mostly because the story is more satisfying. Very much a morality tale, at least it has a point to make that means it isn't as throwaway as The Trouble with Harry, Champagne or Mr. & Mrs. Smith.
July 1, 2015
More dross from the Hitchcock early years, working my way through the back catalogue is turning into a seriously poor decision...
February 3, 2015
6 ans après son début de carrière en tant que réalisateur, Alfred Hitchcock réalisa enfin en 1931 un film qui mériterait qu'on le considère comme un grand moment de sa filmographie, dans la mesure où Rich & Strange est une comédie de moeurs franchement hilarante, passionnante et dont la morale est bien plus moderne qu'on ne le croit. Sous couvert d'une structure et d'une mise en scène très proche du muet, Rich & Strange se trouve être un des films les plus modernes de la période anglaise d'Hitchcock, dans la mesure où son propos reste valable de nos jours. Henry Kendall & Joan Barry sont époustouflants.
November 28, 2014
The most visual film of Hitchcock's earlier work, and possibly my favorite comedic turn of his. This is a fairly basic romantic comedy plot, but Hitchcock tells it in a simple way that is beautiful and funny while still exploring the difference between want and need as well as the basic human want to be wanted.
½ August 25, 2014
A typical Hitchcock thriller.
½ April 29, 2014
A very poor transition between silent films and talkies
½ February 13, 2014
Starts off kind of dully, but eventually gets enjoyable. The characters are good though unlikable. There's some good suspense and sets and humor, which is a good addition from Hitchcock.
January 18, 2014
Great early hitchcock
September 25, 2013
Hitchcock didn't play with murder but disaster this time, and tried to explore marriage and loyalty. But it is a lot worse than William Wyler's Dodsworth, especially when I am not so sure I am happy about how the entire thing had begun - how would there be that amount of money in the first place?
½ May 10, 2013
This early Hitch is a sad effort at comedy, yet still remains an intriguing piece of work. Not a particularly good story and without a single sympathetic character, but it does a great job at showcasing Hitch's talent as a director. The mise-en-scene is excellent. It foreshadowed the Hitchcock to come; very stylish. I liked the cinematography and some of the special effects were ahead of their time. I think this is one of Hitchcock's better early films. What it lacks in story and characterization, it makes up for technically. It was fascinating to watch. I recommend it to any fan of Hitchcock.
September 26, 2012
This isn't really like any Hitchcock film I've seen but I do like it. It's morally ambiguous which in a way made the characters more interesting and I enjoyed the performances. It contains some decent visual flair too.
July 17, 2012
rohmer/chabrol listed this as one of their fave films from hitch's british opus...i can't share their enthusiasm but i would recommend this early hitchcock talkie to fans of his. it does provide an interesting study on fidelity...
May 24, 2012
not sure exactly what hitchcock was trying to do with this one, but "rich and strange" never seems to know if it's a silent film or a talkie. it randomly uses unnecessary title cards that don't really do anything other than make you wonder what their purpose is. i love hitchcock, but this is easily one of his weakest films.
½ May 13, 2012
One of the first crossover silent talkies. Had an odd effect, like they didn't know what to say.
cosmo313
Super Reviewer
December 21, 2011
Early atypical Hitchcock. Be prepared to see me review more of this type of stuff during the rest of this year (early Hitch, but not exclusively atypical). Besides being atypical fare for Hitch storywise, this is a curious blend of ":talkie" and silent film, which makes sense given when it was released. Actually, it's more silent than "talkie", with spoken dialogue being used maybe only a quarter of the time. That's fine though, because it gives the film a unique flavor, especially if you're interested in early cinema.

The story is a romantic melodrama concerning a young working class couple who, after coming into an inheritance, decide to get a taste of the good life by going on a cruise. The trip tests their relationship though, with both man and wife being tempted to leave the other, and both having to learn the hard way that money doesn't always make life better.

What the film lacks in originality or depth it makes up for with style and a couple really cool sequences. The shipwreck scene in particular is neat, especially if you can give it a pass given the time the film was made. There's also a particularly great shock moment near the end that is as horrifying as it is darkly funny.

All in all, not bad, but not that great or interesting either. It's not a totally boring film, but there could have been some more really great sequences throughout to make it worth giving it a complete recommendation.
½ August 19, 2011
It's hilarious and manages to sneak in some dramatic weight, but it's a good screwball comedy, no more and no less.
August 1, 2011
It was a bold attempt but it ultimately fell flat with a contrived love story.
½ June 8, 2011
Byrjunaratriðið er vel gert og það er margt ágætt í myndinni, Joan Barry t.d. Sagan sjálf er ekki upp á marga fiska.
½ May 29, 2011
Funny, then disturbing, then disturbing in a couple other ways, then funny again.
May 10, 2011
Not your usual mystery suspense film from Alfred Hitchcock. It's about a lesson in life. Quite boring.
Page 1 of 5