Something in the Air Reviews

Page 1 of 4
March 13, 2019
Something in the Air is an alluring picture, lithe and flowing, wonderful to look at, endlessly sensual in its evocations of youth and pleasure.
February 25, 2019
Something in the Air wobbles endlessly; not only around disposable panning shots of well-spotted locations, but whether the students' actions are justifiable or just plain childish folly.
February 22, 2019
The great thing about Something in the Air is that the movie makes the thrill of that brief but all-encompassing rupture apparent without sentimentality or even (excessive) nostalgia.
January 30, 2019
I love that Assayas keeps me on my toes and I look forward to his next hot potato.
September 5, 2018
Something in the Air captures its subjects with an uncanny sharpness, both in terms of form and content.
September 5, 2018
So it's not, I can now see, uneventful, but it does feel as if it is, as Assayas's style is so free-flowing and the takes are so meanderingly long. This does give it a ring of emotional truth... but it is also frustrating.
July 31, 2018
Assayas depicts a culturally and politically vibrant era made and lived through by intelligent, sensitive beings taking full advantage of their moment.
November 8, 2017
Après mai grows larger, and closer, in the rearview.
September 5, 2017
Lissom-limbed, dreamily topless girls puffing Gitanes and arguing life and art with bed-headed boys - this is exactly what you'd expect and most likely want of a French art-house film.
October 14, 2016
The experiential form of the film evokes the sense of submergence in a time, with the 60s soundtrack swelling in and out with the ebb and flow of their drives.
May 12, 2015
A film about fading out, about how youthful passions dissolve over time.
March 3, 2014
Something in the Air is a splendid title for a one-of-a-kind film -- a political mood movie that's more revelatory and exciting than almost any political melodrama.
November 14, 2013
While I recognise the truthful and splendid depiction, like the characters whose lives are depicted, I found the journey frustrating and difficult
September 16, 2013
Assayas's splendid autobiographical feature is about a young man who refuses to turn his back on the radicalism of the '60s
July 22, 2013
Accumulates a heady, almost trippy power, like the often lengthy psychedelic recordings by the Soft Machine and Kevin Ayers heard on the soundtrack.
June 13, 2013
So brilliantly directed, you'll feel like you are really there.
June 6, 2013
Revolution is less an action with direct purpose than a way of life in Olivier Assayas' heady, conflicted ode to the anarchic spirit of May 1968.
May 27, 2013
Something in the Air is not a film for all tastes, but it brings back a crucial part of the last century, touches on experiences we've all had at some time and is performed with delicacy, sincerity and conviction by a splendid young cast.
May 24, 2013
Assayas films it with a kinetic camera that follows his young protagonists through halls and stairways as they look for themselves. It's an assured film about rocky beginnings.
May 24, 2013
This sharply well-made French drama tackles an offbeat chapter in history with real skill, although the densely populated screenplay and fragmented approach to storytelling makes it difficult to engage with.
Page 1 of 4