Starlet - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Starlet Reviews

Page 1 of 5
April 8, 2018
***DIRECTOR SEAN BAKER TURNS CAMERA LENSE INSIDE OUT TO SHOW US SOMETHING NEW***
½ March 10, 2018
good movie about a girl who befriends an elderly woman. interesting that they decided to put their lives at opposite ends of the spectrum. Young vs old. rich vs. poor. entertaining movie.
½ January 18, 2018
Starlet does one of the most convincing jobs I've seen of portraying an unexpected friendship, and easily reminds me of the times when I got to know and like someone I wouldn't expect someone like me to get to know or like.
½ June 2, 2017
Very indie, but mostly in a good way. Unsentimental, avoids stereotypes, cliches and predictability, holding up well throughout. No major weak points, and with a thought provoking ending.
½ September 13, 2016
Baker has a knack for turning the ordinary into eye candy and, despite his fixation on mean-spirited characters who work within the sex industry and the ill-fitting, explicit sex scenes he has them display, "Starlet" has a heart at it's center and passes by in a breeze.
August 6, 2016
Dree Hemingway delivers a strong performance, and Starlet is overall touching and deep. Though its definitely more fiction than relatable, the film still resonates with you as you care about Jane and Sadie's relationship.
June 23, 2016
It's a fun bit of indie fun: worth the time but no new ground tilled.
April 10, 2016
This was better than I expected, and definitely than would be suggested by the first few minutes. Give it a chance!
April 4, 2016
Concept is there, execution is not. Users are saying the acting is above-par -- I'm not seeing it. Up until three-quarters through the movie, I kept hoping for some breakout of substance. Never happened. Where on earth is everyone getting their positive reviews from??
March 2, 2016
sean baker did a good job here... both the story and the cast is really good... nicely put...
February 21, 2016
little gem with lots of naked hot chicks. and a heart
½ November 21, 2015
Baker is a balls-to-the-wall, no-holds-barred filmmaker. This is right there with Tangerine on the badass filmmaking scale.
November 12, 2015
Really enjoyed this. I would recommend. This is NOT suitable for children in any fashion
½ November 7, 2015
Not interesting in the characters. Very unpleasant worlds they inhabit.
October 18, 2015
That was not what I expected at all. I thought this would be about two women, generations apart connecting and helping each other get to their next level. Secrets do emerge, but not the kind of secrets you would have ever imagined. Quite an interesting film.
½ September 22, 2015
me encantó, buena música y buen guión.
July 17, 2015
I really did like the main storyline of the two main characters,Jane and Sadie, how they meet and how they become friends to one another, however, I think that Jane's relationship with her roommate and her career as a porn star were a distraction from what could have been a much better film. I felt like I was watching two very different films, depending on which scene Jane was on screen with...Just ok...nothing great.
February 22, 2015
Really enjoyed this film, definitely worth watching!
February 1, 2015
A low budget film with good actors.
Page 1 of 5