Starlet - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Starlet Reviews

Page 1 of 5
June 23, 2016
It's a fun bit of indie fun: worth the time but no new ground tilled.
April 10, 2016
This was better than I expected, and definitely than would be suggested by the first few minutes. Give it a chance!
March 29, 2016
Concept is there, execution is not. Users are saying the acting is above-par -- I'm not seeing it. Up until three-quarters through the movie, I kept hoping for some breakout of substance. Never happened. Where on earth is everyone getting their positive reviews from??
March 2, 2016
sean baker did a good job here... both the story and the cast is really good... nicely put...
February 21, 2016
little gem with lots of naked hot chicks. and a heart
November 23, 2014
Dree Hemingway delivers a sexy performance, and Starlet is overall touching and deep. Though its definitely more fiction than relatable, the film still resonates with you as you care about Jane and Sadie's relationship.
½ November 20, 2015
Baker is a balls-to-the-wall, no-holds-barred filmmaker. This is right there with Tangerine on the badass filmmaking scale.
November 12, 2015
Really enjoyed this. I would recommend. This is NOT suitable for children in any fashion
½ November 7, 2015
Not interesting in the characters. Very unpleasant worlds they inhabit.
October 18, 2015
That was not what I expected at all. I thought this would be about two women, generations apart connecting and helping each other get to their next level. Secrets do emerge, but not the kind of secrets you would have ever imagined. Quite an interesting film.
½ September 22, 2015
me encantó, buena música y buen guión.
July 17, 2015
I really did like the main storyline of the two main characters,Jane and Sadie, how they meet and how they become friends to one another, however, I think that Jane's relationship with her roommate and her career as a porn star were a distraction from what could have been a much better film. I felt like I was watching two very different films, depending on which scene Jane was on screen with...Just ok...nothing great.
February 22, 2015
Really enjoyed this film, definitely worth watching!
February 1, 2015
A low budget film with good actors.
December 27, 2014
Enjoyed this movie. The elder lady, Sadie reminded me of an old song written & sung by John Prine, "Hello In There" . I hope young people will watch & learn the benefits of befriending older people.
½ December 26, 2014
A simple tale of an unlikely friendship directed with an even hand and graced with a pair of subtle performances that skilfully avoid the sentimental clichés that other films would fall into.
October 9, 2014
The relationship between Jane and Sadie never feels developed enough to care much about. The movie also keeps Jane's back story a little too undefined, making her motivations unclear, but ambiguity doesn't help the movie. The "twist" near the middle you can kinda see coming (no pun intended); the unstimulated sex was a little too jarring. Maybe it's supposed to be, but I don't think it needed to be included to make its point. Most of it is unfortunately just so low key it's mostly boring.
½ September 28, 2014
This movie had some potential, but that potential was ultimately unfulfilled.

The initial idea: young woman befriends much older woman, looked like it might have some legs to it, especially with the money angle to it too. However, from the start the movie seemed a bit unoriginal - Harold and Maude sprang immediately to mind - and implausible. Some of the stuff that happens is just plain weird and contrived.

Weaved in and out of this theme is Jane's (the young woman) other life, with her permanently-high flatmate, other friends and job. This varies from quite funny at times (the flatmate and friends) to downright gratuitous (the R-rated scenes). The porn industry stuff was essentially just padding and titillation. It cheapened the movie, to a very large extent.

Ending is interesting and does tie the movie together, but isn't that much of a shock or twist.
August 5, 2014
Very Depressing attempt at exploring the lives of several broken people wit no hope for the future. On group of hopless people who are still you but have gone on a road to piss away their lives while being exploited by other broken people. And one older person who has lost a great deal in her life and is trying her best to live each day of what is left of her sad life.
Page 1 of 5