The Layover - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Layover Reviews

Page 1 of 3
March 18, 2018
Good, fun and lol funny.
don't listen to the whiny, pretentious reviewers...see it!
½ March 11, 2018
I'm not entirely sure what William H. Macy thought of when picking this project but I know he can do better than this.
½ March 10, 2018
This is for sure one of the worst comedies of all time. I hated this movie. I really love Kate Upton. She is my number 1 celebrity crush. I also love Alexandra Daddario. But this movie is just soooo fuckin stupid. It's not funny at all, things that happen in this movie don't make sense, everybody's acting is terrible (except Kate Upton), and at the end they make the worst decision anybody could ever make. Really really awful movie. Do not waste your time.
½ February 27, 2018
This is absolutely atrocious. The 3 leads have no chemistry whatsoever.
Alexandra Daddario tries admirably with the physical comedy but is not given much to work with, basically every joke falls flat.

Kate Upton is horrible along with the male lead. Neither can act and are so dislikeable they deserve each other.

William H Macy should be ashamed of this unforgivable movie. It does not even manage to raise a smile during the run time.
½ February 26, 2018
Literally one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't get back that time.
February 20, 2018
Looks as funny as rectal cancer.
½ February 12, 2018
i watched this for bad reasons lol. i figured maybe i could get some enjoyment out of it, never enough comedies, and i've enjoyed some girl comedies lately. mistake. this movie is atrocious. i laughed a few times here and there, but the amount of horrendous that filled this movie wouldn't allow me to give it a 1.0. the characters are TERRIBLE. and i don't mean there are no characters, i mean they are the worst people ever. daddario is pretty bad, kate upton is the worst, and the dude is a douche. they are all bad ppl who do terrible things to each other. i am cool with a movie not having any message or anything, but this one does have a message, be a terrible person. lie, deceive, backstab, cheat, doesn't matter, it's all good. just do it. AND to top it off, at the end of the movie, is hands down the most cringe-worthy moment in movie history. almost walks away, turns around and says actually how about this, and kisses him. it hurt me. my body crumpled up and i couldn't even look as i yelled omg no way, rofl rofl rofl (1 viewing)
February 5, 2018
I enjoyed this movie because I saw I with my girlfriend and it's always fun to see movies with my girlfriend. Yay.
½ December 31, 2017
I wanted to like this film. The soundtrack is pretty good. Alexandra Daddario and Kate Upton both have some outright funny moments but not enough to make the movie a winner. Overly thin premise even for this type of "almost" romantic comedy.
½ October 19, 2017
Director William H. Macy should be able to know a good script when he sees it. So why did he decide direct this mess. It features the two most annoying and unlikable lead characters of the year. Do whatever you have to do and avoid spending a couple of hours with them.
October 13, 2017
Such harsh reviews, wow. True, this is not Bridesmaids, but it was a funny movie with plenty of laughs. Honestly, I was surprised at how hilarious a several scenes were...laughed till I cried.

The plot is well worn, two girlfriends after the same guy, but still funny. The acting was great and they all earned their salary.

Pleasantly surprised at how funny it was after some of these reviews. Glad I gave it a chance.
½ October 12, 2017
What a terrible movie, not a single laugh.
October 10, 2017
Another movie that wastes Daddario. Upton just isn't a good enough counterpart. The plot for this movie is very weak, as well. A Kal Penn cameo seemed wasted as well.

Spoilers alert:

also, not a fan of movies that try and make it seem ok to cheat.
September 27, 2017
Only 1/5 for the idea of the movie, they could have played it much much better but they didn't. the movie lacked everything; not funny, boring, even their friendship wasn't chemistry...NOTHING! Lol
½ September 25, 2017
The Layover stars Kate Upton and Alexandra Daddario as best friends who takes a trip to Fort Lauderdale after being fired from their jobs. After their plane was rerouted due to a hurricane (an unfortunate coincidence), they get stuck in St. Louis on a layover trying to compete each other for the same guy. And yes, it's a terrible movie.

First of all, the movie expects me to believe that Kate Upton and Alexandra Daddario are not supermodel pretty that can get any guy they want, so they have to fight each other over some blandly handsome dude. I'm not a feminist, but this movie was written and directed by men who knows nothing about women.

We've seen this premise in movies a dozen times, and it amazing how a movie like this was greenlit, and even directed by William H. Macy, who starred in Fargo, Boogie Nights, and Magnolia. He was even nominated for an Oscar, and won two Emmys as well as three SAG awards. The Layover is the type of movie he would absolutely reject as an actor. His direction was competent, but offered no originality. I guess he took this project because he wanted more directing experience, since he has only directed one film prior to this piece of shit.

Unsurprisingly, Kate Upton is not the worst thing about this film. It's not like Kate Upton's character is beyond her reach as an actress. She plays a blonde bitch, and I think even Kate Upton is capable of playing that role, and she is. There are worst examples of models becoming actresses... ahem, Cara Delevingne.

The whole movie is the two lead actresses sabotaging their relationship so that can have sex with Matt Barr, with Kate Upton going to extreme measures to get rid of her best friend. She locks her in a bathroom, and even spikes her drink. None of it was funny or believable. Kate Upton is also a bitch to a guy who took an interest in her because he's not as good looking as Matt Barr.

I'm going to spoil the movie because I know no one gives a shit, but after Matt Barr has sex with both of them, it's revealed that he's engaged, and the wedding he was going to is actually his own. It's from that point on that the girls decided to become friends again and get their revenge on Matt Barr, who said that the reason why he had sex with both of them is because he's been with one woman his whole life (free pizza anyone?), and that he has never had two beautiful women fight over him. Yeah, no shit. You're handsome, but not that handsome. And women don't fight each other over a guy either. That only happens in movies.

There, I just saved you an hour and a half. Don't waste your time with this film. The acting was decent and it's not the worst film of the year, but it's a dated film that's boring, unfunny, and even though it stars two attractive actresses, it's not very sexy. Don't watch this as an alternative to porn.
Super Reviewer
½ September 23, 2017
Alexandra Daddario is an absolutely champion. She always gives 100% and I respect her for that immensely. The same goes for her in The Layover, but this straight up is not a good film.

The leads are just not on the same level (in terms of both the actors and the characters), virtually none of the jokes land, and almost everything in The Layover we have seen (and groaned at) a dozen times before. The payoff for the central conflict is actually oddly satisfying in a way that, I at least personally, haven't seen before. But everything leading up to it, and the short tag following it, were totally not striking a chord with me.
September 23, 2017
Hillarious!!!! We had a great time. I don't get all the bad reviews. Perfect comedy!
½ September 20, 2017
There is a reason that critics found this movie absurd; it's because it was. In all fairness, it's more difficult to get a laugh out of me than most, and I generally do not find "comedies" very funny at all, but this movie was not only painfully predictable, but also terrible. I don't even know where to begin! And me, like an idiot, suffered through the thing, hoping against hopes that Something would r deem it for me; I was wrong. Suffice it to say that I would not recommend it,.. unless, of course, you want to numb your brain and take a 1.5 hour long, sense-less trip down the road of "this sucks worse than my life"...
½ September 16, 2017
Is it possible to give a review for a film without giving it any stars?

What a ridiculously annoying, enraging, and unpleasant film. It depicts women in the cheapest way possible, and makes the audience question (in the most negative way possible) the value of both "friendship" and "love". The "humour" in this film is just plain offensive and completely off-putting.

The movie left me feeling considerately dumber. It has taught me that sometimes it is necessary to overcome my stubbornness that I should finish the movie that I start. Sometimes, it is better to just flee.
½ September 12, 2017
Yet another comedy where two women destroy their passive aggressive friendship for a guy the don't know.
Page 1 of 3