Thunder Force Reviews

Jan 21, 2023
Thunder Force failed to deliver in comedy and development of its main characters but delivered great world-building elements.
Sep 1, 2022
Thunder Force is a sidesplitting take on a superhero origin story, anchored by the always-excellent Melissa McCarthy and Octavia Spencer.
Aug 17, 2022
Other than die-hard McCarthy fans, it’s hard to figure out who this movie is aimed at. It’s a little too crass to be a kids movie and too puerile for adults. The one thing I’m sure of is that it wasn’t for me.
Feb 9, 2022
I love seeing women in their 40s kicking butt, taking on a new lease on life because it's never too late to go after what you want and do what you want.
Sep 14, 2021
A wasted opportunity. Crass jokes overtake any thrills or insight.
Jun 22, 2021
The plot is, unfortunately, bland and formulaic, which wouldn't be much of a problem except that it is too often intrudes on McCarthy and Spencer's buddy comedy antics, which is what really works.
Jun 6, 2021
Yet another feminist tale told from the male POV that, of course, temporarily pits the two women against one another, because sure, that's what we need.
Jun 1, 2021
Melissa McCarthy can't be stopped, but she continues to be content making films that leave her talent frustratingly untapped.
May 26, 2021
Melissa McCarthy and Octavia Spencer are the best haphazard superheroine duo I've seen. A hilarious comedy worthy of a series and/or sequel.
May 17, 2021
An action movie that never winds up being fun or exciting. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 11, 2021
Thunder Force is dull and perfunctory and listless and altogether incredibly dismal.
May 5, 2021
Many heroic abilities are on display - but cracking jokes isn't one of them.
May 5, 2021
Can Melissa McCarthy and Ben Falcone just stop working together?
Apr 29, 2021
Thunder Force is an absolute Thunder Farce - and not in any good way - and clearly has only been created to serve the minuscule talents of its leading lady.
Apr 28, 2021
I really wish the joy McCarthy and Ben Falcone were having with their friends on the sets of these various movies would transfer over better to their films.
Apr 25, 2021
McCarthy has a recurring problem in her career, however: She keeps working with husband Ben Falcone.
Apr 23, 2021
Thunder Force squanders a couple of interesting ideas and settles for half-hearted mediocrity.
Apr 21, 2021
The lameness of the set-up would matter less if the gags were even vaguely funny but, despite the capable performances, quips and pratfalls alike land with a deadening thud.
Apr 21, 2021
The mere presence of Jason Bateman elevates this from being another totally awful collaboration between Falcone & McCarthy which only makes one recall how poor the comic instincts have been in the previous four. And this one too.
Apr 21, 2021
... more effective as a buddy comedy than a superhero saga, but its effort to combine the two feels labored and uneven. It's not funny enough to work as a genre send-up, and not clever enough to deliver the fanboy goods.
Do you think we mischaracterized a critic's review?