The Way We Were Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 28, 2020
...a slow-moving yet mostly compelling love story...
July 23, 2020
The entire picture reeks of prophetic hindsight, whereby the cleverer characters so splendidly predict the future, thanks to the author's writing them years after the fact.
October 2, 2019
While I could not really believe much of what I saw, my eyes never left the screen.
November 14, 2018
For a screen romance with huge movie stars, that sentiment feels pretty real.
November 14, 2018
Redford, as a character seemingly hewn from the pages of F Scott Fitzgerald (he's a writer to boot), is perfectly cast and Streisand is simply Streisand.
November 14, 2018
Streisand is capable in an implausible role as a liberated Jewess, and Redford is...well, Redford.
November 14, 2018
By, some peculiar alchemy, "The Way We Were" turns into the kind of compromised claptrap that Hubbell is supposed to be making within the film and that we're meant to think is a sellout. It is.
October 17, 2018
The movie has the look of a big Hollywood romantic film but because director Pollack looks corruption in the face and exposes it for what it feels like, The Way We Were emerges as one of the least sentimental love stories ever filmed.
January 26, 2010
Old-fashioned sudser.
July 29, 2009
In Pollack's schmaltzy romantic melodrama, real politics is in the background (of course), but the movie is enjoyable as a star vehicle for its handsome stars, Redford and Streisand in their only film together, not to mention Hamlisch's melodic tone.
May 26, 2008
The politics are relegated to the background, and what is left is a commercially astute weepie.
May 26, 2008
An engrossing, if occasionally ludicrous, hit tearjerker with Pollack, Streisand, and Redford doing a good job of bringing Arthur Laurents' script to the screen.
May 26, 2008
A distended, talky, redundant and moody melodrama.
May 26, 2008
A for effort; C for execution.
March 29, 2007
Sentimental but not overly smaltzy
May 29, 2006
January 26, 2006
With the script glossing whole areas of confrontation (from the communist '30s to the McCarthy witch-hunts), it often passes into the haze of a nostalgic fashion parade.
October 23, 2004
It's easy to forgive the movie a lot because of Streisand. She's fantastic.
November 25, 2003
November 20, 2003
The Way We Were isn't about the way we were. It's about the movies we used to see.
Page 1 of 2