We Are the Flesh (Tenemos la carne) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
September 26, 2020
Profoundly allegorical yet not far removed from a psychedelic journey.
October 10, 2019
A brutal, intense story with a riveting performance by Noe Hernandez...
October 8, 2019
There's nothing realistic about these scenes, nothing new or potentially boundary-pushing.
October 4, 2019
We Are the Flesh is outré enough to generate avid enthusiasts, but for those who are easily desensitized by unrelenting grotesqueness, one may find this kind of shock value a bit too transparent.
September 14, 2019
The exploitation of reproductive organs, the violent intensity behind every act, and the pure caliber of immoral yet delicious climaxes combine with mesmerising dream sequences soaked with visceral colours to prove that even extreme cinema...
September 1, 2019
We Are The Flesh is either unwatchable or unmissable, depending on your attitude towards unconventional filmmaking and weird sex cults.
August 9, 2019
I'm still unsure if We Are the Flesh is a true post-apocalyptic tale or an alcohol-fueled dream. It could seriously go either way.
December 27, 2018
A nightmarish mixture of community, acceptance of primitive nature, and the results of extreme isolation, We are the flesh is an unforgettable piece of Mexican horror.
August 30, 2018
A deliriously depraved take on Hansel and Gretel, We are the Flesh will haunt you for all the wrong reasons.
August 25, 2018
While a difficult film to claim as 'beautiful' in the sense of classical prettiness, there is ... a dizzying exquisiteness to Minter's craft.
August 20, 2018
I'll be chewing on this one for a long time.
June 13, 2017
We Are the Flesh could inspire evenings of fervent disputation and interpretation, but first there needs to be an audience for it, and for this? I'm not so sure. There was once a time, though.
April 3, 2017
Despite the dark, perverse and twisted approach, the film is a statement that celebrates freedom and struggles against social boundaries and conventions. [Full review in Spanish]
March 27, 2017
Regardless of how complete or failed, it's an evidence of a creativity that strengthens the industry and gives us enough to talk about. [Full review in Spanish]
March 27, 2017
It's not something we haven't seen before but that doesn't mean it's not a pretty fun product, full of excesses and mistakes, like any debut film. [Full review in Spanish]
March 25, 2017
A downpour of shock, but pointless at the end, even if you want to make us believe otherwise with its swirl of colorfully retouched secretions. [Full review in Spanish]
February 22, 2017
The great achievement of the film is that it manages to create enough interest to immerse itself more than once in this surreal world full of caricature characters, madness and disgust. [Full review in Spanish]
February 22, 2017
[Emiliano Rocha Minter] has realised that when one mixes two genres, each of which generally plays to a separate group of critics, one can create the illusion of innovation.
February 8, 2017
The dialogue is as poetic as the story is ambiguous, but strong performances and a muted, artful visual style keep this from straying into exploitation territory. Bring a long attention span and a strong stomach.
January 26, 2017
What it lacks in scope and budget, the intentionally claustrophobic Tenemos La Carne makes up for with a wonderfully spooky sound design, and the best use of a tympani since 1963's Blood Feast.
Page 1 of 3