The White Ribbon (Das weisse Band) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 13, 2018
Suffice it to say that I don't understand the rave reviews that this picture received, and I was not a happy camper when I left the theater.
September 20, 2012
As for Haneke's handling of the material, his directing is immaculate. Every moment is the product of a penetrating mind and a steady talent.
May 6, 2010
Far from enjoyable escapism, The White Ribbon is nonetheless utterly compelling and quite beautiful in its unsettling presentation of this prosaic evil.
February 25, 2010
The White Ribbon is a stark, contemplative and hauntingly brilliant film.
February 19, 2010
Writer-director Michael Haneke doesn't pull any punches, but then he doesn't throw any wild ones, either. His filmmaking shows precisely the sort of obsession with control that the movie itself is denouncing. Interesting, you've got to admit.
February 17, 2010
Haneke tells this tale a bit too patiently for my taste. But the metaphors are unmistakable, as is the power of the film's message.
February 12, 2010
The White Ribbon lunges hungrily for serious art-film credibility. Don't be fooled.
February 11, 2010
Haneke has dramatized his intellectual conceits in an uninvolving, snail-paced movie that illustrates its themes in an obvious, almost banal manner.
January 21, 2010
The White Ribbon doesn't resonate at all. The filmmaker's doom-laden view of humanity -- that we are all unredeemably awful creatures, easily swayed to do dastardly things -- oozes with contempt.
January 20, 2010
The quintessential art film: slow, demanding, and rewarding for those willing to put forth the intellectual effort necessary to puzzle out its ambiguities.
January 19, 2010
I don't question Haneke's craft: it's his ideas that get under my skin.
January 15, 2010
There's no denying this is a coldly commanding tale in which Haneke's signature obsessions simmer quietly as subtext before bursting into the open in the final reels.
January 15, 2010
The film, even while drawing us into its creepy web, also disappoints.
January 14, 2010
Haneke's success in maintaining tension is especially impressive in that he does it despite a loose narrative and the necessity of juggling a dozen characters.
January 14, 2010
The ends remain loose in The White Ribbon. But that lack of closure is thrilling.
January 14, 2010
Watching the daisy chain of events is akin to auditing a seminar on incipient fascism taught by a master filmmaker who speaks in a steely murmur, confident of his research.
January 14, 2010
I wonder if Haneke's point is that we grow so disturbed by danger that we will surrender freedom -- even demand to. Do we feel more secure in an orderly state? Many do.
January 8, 2010
It's an M. Night Shyamalan movie with a PhD. Or maybe an MA.
January 8, 2010
Its austere gloom feels oppressive and monotonous, undercutting its psychological impact.
January 7, 2010
A severe and eerily beautiful German-language drama by Michael Haneke...
Page 1 of 2