xXx: State of the Union - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

xXx: State of the Union Reviews

Page 1 of 134
JohnSilver
Super Reviewer
May 19, 2017
de l'action à volontà (C), mais pousse à la puissance 1000! Si c'à (C)tait moins exagà (C)rà (C), on d'adhèrerait beaucoup plus.
Complot pas mal tir√ (C) par les cheveux.
May 6, 2017
Horrendous filmmaking, mainly the director who commissioned what is a terrible sequel to an already poor original film. The director has shown a poor eye for directing action films, just remember that special effects debacle of an opening for Along came a spider or the surfing scene in Die another day. This film fails in poor storyline and supporting cast who are just relentless and one dimensional. I'm gearing up to see the next film but I'm struggling after this one-two punch knockout franchise, how talents like Dafoe, Jackson and Foley joined this film is probably the central question after Diesel hated the scripts. I fell asleep 20 mins in and suffered through the remaining action film. Cube was a better lead than Diesel but the film crafted around him was beyond dull. I now understand the delay with the new sequel, a time when sequels rarely succeeded the originals. The film deserved to flop and I'm annoyed that a film of this size has horrible special effects. 07-05-2017.
May 5, 2017
Ice Cube is the new XXX and it's a whole new game!
April 16, 2017
As terrible as you'd expect
½ March 12, 2017
Saying I've seen worse isn't saying much. Terrible acting, terrible premise, terrible cinematography, casual racism. The definition of a shit movie. Two hours of my life gone.
½ February 2, 2017
It's good movie to watch
January 29, 2017
Terrible cheesy but fun if your drunk action packed movie starring ice cube replacing vin diesel. This movie is like fast and furious 2 or Tokyo drift , it's as cheesy but it had better action and those dumb explosions. I like ice cube with his humor and murdering people with humor and he's saving the president from the actor who only plays villains in bad movies except for Spider-Man but that's it. I don't care if this is part of the xxx vin diesel franchise because it feels on its own.
January 27, 2017
Entertaining with non-stop action but not as solid and dope as the first. Nothing beats the XANDER ZONE!!
January 23, 2017
I thought that xXx: State of the Union could be a fun movie at times and Ice Cube seemed to be having fun blowing stuff up but overall I think it would've worked better as a stand-alone film particularly because it ditches the enjoyable stunts that Vin Diesel pulled off in the first movie in favour of a climax that prefers to top it all off with CGI and also has a generic assassinate-the-President-of-US plot. While this movie could be a slight guilty pleasure, it also suffers from generic joke dialogue that I think is actually supposed to be funny such as an inevitable joke about the title XXX, something that Rob Cohen thankfully ditched in the first film and how Samuel L. Jackson initially asks Ice Cube's character who said the quote "Wars come and go, but my soldiers stay eternal" with Darius Stone simply saying "Tupac". Uh, ha ha? I still think, as a movie that's basically just black James Bond, that this movie could've been far worse.
January 19, 2017
Even more mindless and stupid than the first one, xXx State of the Union plays like a joke. Unenjoyable and boring.
½ January 13, 2017
it's a good movie, but the vin diesel aka first movie was better. still be would be great if both came out together in the next xxx movie aka the 4th one or if there will be a 5th movie.
January 6, 2017
Its great but not better than first
½ November 12, 2016
A little cheesy, and at the end of the Pimp My Ride Era, it fulfilled the cool cars and weapons quota we looked for in the early 2000's. Ice cube, and the movie would've looked better if a different director had control. Then they mention Xander Cage...
½ November 1, 2016
For some reason, I liked this film more than the first one. Requires less suspension of belief.
½ October 3, 2016
Not as thrilling as the first one but Sunny Mabrey (Charlie) was sexy enough to keep me watching this!!!
½ July 10, 2016
I don't blend.

The xXx unit has lost enough agents and needs a new, special ops agent from Agent Gibbons past. He frees a former soldier, and former army buddy, to take down an international cartel; however, the cartel kidnaps Agent Gibbons. The former colleague will need to strap up the boots with Agent Gibbons' lackey and try to rescue Agent Gibbons and bring down the cartel.

"You can die in here or you can take the fight to them."

Lee Tamahori, director of Die Another Day, Along Came a Spider, Next, The Devil's Double, The Edge, Mullholland Falls, Once were Warriors, and The Patriarch, delivers xXx: State of the Union. The storyline for this picture is dreadful, unimaginative, and painfully pathetic. The action scenes were awkward as was the acting. The cast includes Samuel L. Jackson, Ice Cube, Willem Dafoe, Xzibit, Nona Gaye, Peter Strauss, and Scott Speedman.

"'I don't play with my life. I'd rather play with yours."

I came across this on Netflix and decided to watch it again for the first time in a long time. This was fairly terrible with few redeeming qualities. I'm not sure I would even recommend this to action genre junkies, because even the action is lacking. I recommend skipping this.

"You're going to want to be real delicate here."

Grade: D
½ May 10, 2016
This a far stretch from the first film. It's poorly acted and corny.
May 6, 2016
I don't know why this movie was made, other than to cash in on the success of the previous film. It's not even really that fun to watch.
Page 1 of 134