xXx: State of the Union Reviews

Page 1 of 133
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
September 29, 2007
An entertaining movie that doesnt have a lot going on but you can appreciate the action sequences not as good as the first but entertaining enough!
Super Reviewer
August 27, 2008
Not a bad film really, just run of the mill action flick that wouldn't look outta place from the 80's. A nice opening sequence that looks pretty smart and hi-tech, usual stuff packs the middle and it finishes on a VERY poor cgi looking finale.
A black man's 'James Bond' basically, but 'XXX/Bond' is a little chubby and porky in this sequel hehe not sure casting was correct with Ice Cube or whatever he calls himself.
Marc L.
Super Reviewer
May 20, 2011
Hmmm...Who should be the next xXx, a secret agent devoting his life to loyalty and honor with more skills than a Navy SEAL, Spetsnaz soldier, and KSK soldier combined. Oh I know! Let's get a gangster we found of the streets with no loyalty, no self control and no acting ability! Our enemies are screwed now!

So, what is the best thing about the movie? It's xXx. As bad as it is, it's still xXx. That means I can handle watching it...For about 20 min.(The movie is an hour forty minutes)

As for the bad, there is a lot of it. Ice Cube makes Shaq look like a good actor. I'll admit he's a good rapper but just because you can make a few decent songs doesn't mean you can act worth crap. He has pretty much no personality, apart from the occasional explosion.


But they couldn;t just take one crappy actor/rapper! No they had to take another one, in the form of Xzibit. Contrary to Ice Cube being a great rapper and a bad actor Xzibit happens to be a bad actor AND a bad rapper! 2 for the price of 1!

The whole premise of the movie is down right uncreative and ridiculous. The villain has murdered more people than our last war, but he NEVER get's caught for it? And why didn't Willem Defoe just kill Gibbons?! Then nothing would have stood in his way! And why is Ice Cube put under so little securaty. Do they REALIZE this is xXx?

But the worst part about it? They KILLED of the first xXx! You;re telling me Ice Cube has a better chance of surviving a maniacal dictator than Vin Diesel. No. Just No.

Ice Cube needs to learn to leave acting to actors. Not rappers, not athletes, actors.
Super Reviewer
½ May 31, 2007
A very poor sequel when the first was so good. Just looks wrong and the plot is laughable at times. Stick with the first.
TheGame90
Super Reviewer
½ December 15, 2010
Far superior to the first one (mostly....only because Vin Diesel isn't in it) ...This is the best rating it could hope for. So they should all be happy.
Super Reviewer
½ January 13, 2010
An unnecessary sequel to an otherwise good film that was fine by itself!
thmtsang
Super Reviewer
September 1, 2007
Ice Cube is recruited as the next XXX. He has to save the president from assassination. Good action but very cheesy dialogue.
Super Reviewer
½ December 11, 2006
I enjoyed it in a dumb ass way, an over the top plot with some great action and bad acting.
Super Reviewer
August 26, 2007
James Bond...Eat Your Heart Out ^_^
Super Reviewer
March 5, 2007
Not as bad as people claim.
kpn666
Super Reviewer
March 3, 2007
Stuff Vin Diesel - Ice Cube is da man - get XXX'd by Cube!
When the CIA XXX division is secretly attacked, Sam Jackson recruits an ex-Navy seal whom he served with to take on the bad guys with more hard hitting power and attitude than the original XXX. Darius Stone, a criminal turned Navy SEAL commando is the last line of defense against a hostile coup by the Secretary of State and his private army.
This is a movie no action buff should miss. When the action starts, it never stops.
Super Reviewer
May 30, 2006
Well, I fell asleep watching this one.
Why?
Because I was bored.
Not sure what happened, when you have Jackson, Dafoe and Ice Cube, but somehow, this was not even enough fun to stay awake through.
deano
Super Reviewer
November 7, 2006
Ice Cube's amazing in this dangerous action, but I like Vin Diesel the best in the original film. I dislike the way of Vin Diesel's character was 'dead' because it wasn't shown how he was killed in this film - what a waste.
Beefy
Super Reviewer
August 30, 2005
Hysterical!
Super Reviewer
½ December 18, 2008
Taking the lead from the first film, the script kills off Xander Cage with barely a mention and moves on to the new agent. Discussion of the plot is pointless cause the whole affair is nonsense with logic holes so large that you could drive a souped up car through it. The action is as stupid and illogical as the plot itself but it is noisy, stupid, big and bold and is enjoyable on that level, it is a shame that it lacks any actual tension or excitement but the noise will be enough for the target audience. Ice Cube picks up the mantle and delivers a one-note performance where he basically sneers his way across the screen; he lacks any sort of charisma here and could have been any old actor. Overall this is a noisy genre flick, nothing more and nothing less. Those claiming how awful it is forget that there are people who don't want art films, emotional films or engaging dramas, they just want to whoop and holler as things get blowing up in fancy-looking ways. For them, and them alone, this movie will do the job as it provides effects, stunts and noise. However those looking for even the most basic characters, plot, tension, excitement or development will find themselves yawning through this noisy cross between a hip-hop video and a video game.
Super Reviewer
October 11, 2007
So-so.
EnigmaticHallucination
Super Reviewer
½ April 17, 2009
Seems pointless without triple X. Sure they say that Ice Cube is the "new" one because apparently it's a common occurrence for their to be multiple XXX's. If you completely over look that it is a bit more interesting than the first as it makes fun of itself. Ghetto spy action fueled with interesting government cheese.
KevinTheMovieManiac
Super Reviewer
October 22, 2008
Ice cube was in it, nuff said.
jim222001us
Super Reviewer
½ August 7, 2007
I don't think it was as bad as some people have said. It's not great either though. Ice Cube wasn't the right person to take over but he handles the action well anyway.

I mostly had a problem with the CGI in the film. During most of the action scenes you can tell computers were involved. It just looks way too fake. While William Dafoe who was great as the Green Goblin in Spiderman is just wasted here. He's a villain yet again but here he's a forgettable one.
Super Reviewer
February 14, 2008
A very very bad sequel to the original, I was so hyped when i heard that Ice Cube was going to be the next XXX but this just sucked
Page 1 of 133