American Horror Story: Coven Episode 4 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Horror Story: Coven Episode 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Tom Fitzgerald and Lorenzo Marquez
Tom & Lorenzo
June 18, 2018

It's the questions that keep us coming back, after all. No complaints here, even if this was the least exciting episode so far this season.

Christian Law
We Got This Covered
August 10, 2016

American Horror Story have consistently been among the best of the bunch. Even though there were a bit too many cliffhangers leaving me wanting more, American Horror Story: Coven matches previous seasons' level of crazy, perhaps even exceeding it.

Nick Harley
Den of Geek
August 2, 2016

It seems a full on war has started, and I can't wait to see what this bewitching show has in store.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Liane Bonin Starr
HitFix
July 26, 2016

Once you've made that commitment and squeeze your eyes shut to block out some of the leaps in logic... it's a really fun ride...Tonight's episode seemed like a step in the right direction, though, and I think that's largely because Zoe was hardly in it.

Halle Kiefer
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
July 20, 2016

There is a stark difference between a mother weeping over her lynched son and an undead Confederate soldier rising from the tomb and disemboweling a racist. One of those things is an artless callback to one of the darkest undercurrent in American history

Rakesh Satyal
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
July 19, 2016

The conceit of having a truly horrifying person be horrified in turn is a very compelling one, and Bates is one of the few actresses who could credibly convey Delphine's contrition for mistreating Queenie.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Price Peterson
TV.com
July 19, 2016

"Fearful Pranks Ensue" definitely kept up the insane momentum of the previous three episodes.

Mark Trammell
TV Equals
July 12, 2016

A pretty decent episode all around. Looking forward to seeing what kind of damage the zombies do, and whether or not Myrtle gets the burned-at-the-stake treatment.

Chuck Bowen
Slant Magazine
July 12, 2016

It suggests that the series has quite a bit more in store for Bassett, which partially assuages my fears that she'd be little more than window dressing for a four-to-five episode arc.

Kevin Yeoman
Screen Rant
July 7, 2016

As of 'Fearful Pranks Ensue,' the show is still on its way to equalizing Fiona's pursuit of youth and vitality, and the other threads that have so far been introduced.

Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
July 6, 2016

Halloween episodes of American Horror Story have never failed to be - shall we say - eventful.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.2/10
Darren Franich
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
July 6, 2016

American Horror Story takes that subtext and turns it into the lyrics to a Lady Gaga song. And I mean that as a huge compliment.

Emily VanDerWerff
AV Club
Top Critic
July 6, 2016

The show certainly knows how to write a scene where two great actresses sink their metaphorical teeth into each other, and this episode is mostly just that.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Cicely K. Dyson
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
July 6, 2016

The flashbacks on this show can be hit or miss, but they've been extremely useful as far as story development.

Page 1 of 1