Broad City: Season 2 Reviews

March 21, 2019
All of these nods to class dynamics make the show better: denser, more meaningful, more interesting to rewatch and notice all the things you missed the first time, more self-aware.
March 21, 2019
The episode's leisurely place just left a lot less time for the killer jokes I've come to expect each week. It's hard to stay upset, though. After another hilarious season, Broad City has probably earned a victory lap.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
March 21, 2019
It's nice to see that absolutely nothing has changed this time around, and the show is the same old lazy creature that we slowly fell in love with, and boy is it nice to have it back.
March 21, 2019
The first time I watched it, I thought, "That's it?" But upon the second watch, I realized that this episode accurately sums up what the show is all about: female friendship, quirky characters (Tree Man!), and slice-of-life storytelling.
March 21, 2019
The second season has the same feel as the first but with the stamp of approval now.
March 21, 2019
Sometimes it's good to inject some darkness into otherwise relatively cheery shows, and this episode proved that Broad City can combine lighter topics like anal sex and heavier topics like death into one half hour.
March 21, 2019
It would be appalling if it weren't so funny.
March 21, 2019
"Broad City" is still very funny. That being said, though, the second season is where the flaws in the show's premise start to become more apparent.
March 21, 2019
It's that exuberant depiction of female kinship as being inextricably bound to the anarchy of daily living that gives the series its unexpected sweetness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 12, 2015
Seriously, how are less than a million people tuning in for these weed-infused shenanigans each week?
January 15, 2015
More than the jokes and characters, where Broad City betrays its maturity and confidence is in its total commitment to Abbi and Ilana's own delightfully skewed and insular reality.
January 15, 2015
The brand of feminism practised by Broad City's protagonists is sometimes troubling if always heartfelt, and the humour of season 2 is increasingly unflinching.
January 15, 2015
It's one of the most purely funny shows on television -- where many "comedies" are really dramas in half-hour form, and others are likable but rarely laugh-out-loud funny -- and it's only more confident, sharp and its own thing in the new season.
Full Review | Original Score: A
January 15, 2015
The filmmaking is as sharp as the writing: There's a sequence in the second episode that I won't reveal here that's one of the goofiest, loveliest expressions of freedom in solitude that I've ever seen on TV, and it's all done in one take.
Top Critic
January 15, 2015
Initial indications are good -- the second season of Broad City may even exceed the first.
Full Review | Original Score: A
January 15, 2015
Abbi and Ilana are back and as unapologetic and funny as ever.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 15, 2015
Broad City shines brightest when Abbi and Ilana embrace their chaos above all else.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 14, 2015
Jacobson and Glazer are two of the funniest people currently on television and episodes like this which allow them to get a little weird allow for a heightened aspect of comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 12, 2015
Television so rarely allows for the kind of comedic experimentation we're seeing on Broad City.
January 9, 2015
The failure of life to imitate Broad City is something most of us have to accept at some point. But not Abbi and Ilana - it's never even occurred to them that life isn't supposed to be this. That's what makes hanging out with them such a joy.