Fargo - Season 3, Episode 5 - Rotten Tomatoes

The House of Special Purpose



Critic Consensus: No consensus yet.

Episode Info

Nikki and Ray's retaliation has consequences for Emmit while Gloria and Winnie start connecting the dots.


Carrie Coon
as Gloria Burgle
David Thewlis
as V.M. Vargas
Ewan McGregor
as Emmit Stussy; Ray Stussy
Mark Forward
as Donny Mashman
Jim Gaffigan
as Donny Mashman
Scoot McNairy
as Maurice LeFay
Shea Whigham
as Moe Dammick
Karan Soni
as Dr. Homer Gilruth
Fred Melamed
as Howard Zimmerman
Thomas Mann
as Thaddeus Mobley
Olivia Sandoval
as Winnie Lopez
Hamish Linklater
as Larue Dollars
Goran Bogdan
as Yuri Gurka
Graham Verchere
as Nathan Burgle
Andy Yu
as Meemo
Mary McDonnell
as Ruby Goldfarb
DJ Qualls
as Golem
Ray Wise
as Paul Marrane
View All

The House of Special Purpose Videos

The House of Special Purpose Photos

Critic reviews for The House of Special Purpose

If "The House of Special Purpose" is any indication things are plenty agitated already, and we're guaranteed to hear the pain before we see the results. First the poooooft, and then whatever deflated mess is left in the oven.

May 18, 2017 | Full Review…

It finally happened. After four weeks of relatively harmless fun - save for the comically killed Maurice LaFay (Scoot McNairy) - Fargo took us to the emotional woodshed.

May 18, 2017 | Rating: A- | Full Review…

"The House of Special Purpose" marks the mid-way point of Fargo's third season, and in many ways feels like a transitory episode, nodding towards the potential dark ends down the road for many of these characters.

August 29, 2018 | Full Review…

God bless the silence, restraint, and deliberately painstaking pacing of crime shows like Better Call Saul and The Americans, but there's something cathartic about watching everything collapse as quickly as possible.

December 20, 2017 | Full Review…

The various plots are beginning to condense and intertwine on Fargo Season 3 Episode 5, the midway point of the season.

May 18, 2017 | Rating: 4.5/5 | Full Review…

Pressure is coming from all angles, and it makes this the most eventful episode of the season.

May 18, 2017 | Rating: 5/5 | Full Review…

Discussion Forum

Discuss Fargo on our TV talk forum!