Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 8 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 8 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
April 12, 2019

"Second Sons" isn't exactly "Blackwater 2," but it's the most focused episode of the series since that one.

TK Burton
Pajiba
April 12, 2019

[It] brings a closer, oft-uncomfortable scrutiny to bear on not just these frequently unusual relationships.

Rob Power
SFX Magazine
March 19, 2019

Blimey, who'd have seen that one coming?

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Erik Kain
Forbes
March 19, 2019

Tonight's episode was great---another character-driven episode but, unlike last week's episode, not a dull moment to be found.

Katie Walsh
indieWire
Top Critic
March 19, 2019

Um, did he leave that dagger there? Homie best be returning to pick that damn thing up.

Olly Richards
Daily Telegraph (UK)
March 19, 2019

Where the last couple of episodes have been heavy on people having a moan in damp castles, this episode had stronger focus on those truly advancing the "game of thrones".

Jeff Spross
Brightest Young Things
March 19, 2019

The two extended riffs on Tyrion's marriage to Sansa, and Daenarys' efforts to recruit the sell swords known as the Second Sons to her cause, allowed for an unusually rich assortment of character pieces, plot pay-offs, and even an inside joke.

Paulo Javier Lazo
We Got This Covered
March 19, 2019

Second Sons is easily one of the best this year, although several fan-favorite characters were absent, including Robb Stark and Jon Snow.

Tim Surette
TV.com
March 19, 2019

The result was a fantastic look at characters we've known as they dealt with new circumstances we didn't expect.

Devin Faraci
Birth.Movies.Death.
March 19, 2019

It's rare to see a TV this thematically coherent, let alone one based on a series of novels whose themes may not be exactly the same. What a pity this season is almost over - it's really hitting its stride.

Allison Keene
Collider
March 19, 2019

The main thrust of the episode though came with the wedding of Tyrion and Sansa, every moment of which was brilliant and excruciating.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Jill Pantozzi
The Mary Sue
March 19, 2019

They face the man set to marry them and I swear to god I though the Princess Bride priest voice was going to come out of the actor.

Alison Herman
Flavorwire
March 19, 2019

The episode ends in a rush, but the audience is left with a vital piece of new information and a fresh injection of fantasy into an episode that's mostly realpolitik.

David Crow
Den of Geek
January 18, 2019

And that two minutes was better than the totality of The Walking Dead.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 12, 2018

No one character has demonstrated a conclusive arc across the season, nor do we necessarily expect season 3 to unfold as concisely as its literary counterpart, but we wish for more focused storytelling among the final two episodes of the year.

James Hibberd
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
August 29, 2017

Home stretch. Tonight's Game of Thrones is the most focused episode we've seen since Blackwater.

Emily VanDerWerff
AV Club
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

The best part of the episode involves Tyrion and Sansa's wedding, which is a long series of scenes where people get drunker and drunker and their tongues get looser and looser.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Chris O'Hara
TV Fanatic
March 29, 2016

Lady Olenna trying to make sense of all the changes to their collective family trees at the wedding reception was possibly the funniest moment of the episode.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Adam Newland
TV Equals
March 29, 2016

Though the episode was mostly conversational in nature, I enjoyed most of the moments involved.

Spencer Kornhaber
The Atlantic
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

White Walker aside, that was a pretty tranquil episode, right? Not boring, though. Just one of the few Game of Thrones installments that stuck to a mere number of storylines you can count on one hand.

Page 1 of 2