Game of Thrones: Season 8 Episode 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 8 Episode 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Huw Saunders
Cultured Vultures
August 22, 2019

It's aware, as Thrones always has been, that something's going to be happening in the future, but this comes to the detriment of the here and now.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Ian Thomas Malone
Ian Thomas Malone
July 23, 2019

Overall, this was a very enjoyable episode. We got to see many of our favorite characters interact for what could be the last time. Some of it was a little forced.

Jorge Rivera Rubio
QiiBO
June 5, 2019

Effective in several ways, especially by making us remembering why we love almost all of these characters [Full review in Spanish]

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Mireia Mullor
Fotogramas
May 19, 2019

There's only four episodes left of the series and all cards are on the table. [Full Review in Spanish]

James Hunt
What Culture
May 6, 2019

It sweeps you up in just how moving it is, and if you didn't tear up you're a liar or made of stone.

Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
Marianna Neal
Impression Blend
April 30, 2019

As much as we all love battles, and dragons, and twists and turns, at the core of Game of Thrones are these flawed, complex, interesting characters, and the relationships between them.

Steve Johnson
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic
April 29, 2019

Welcome back, Ghost, Jon's direwolf. If all the humans are gone and your kind takes over, I'm sorta good with that.

Andrew Bloom
Consequence of Sound
April 29, 2019

[It] takes the time to wonder what the world looks like after the game ends, to mark how long the journey has been, and to question how clear the picture of what's to come can look through that frosted glass. It's all the better for it.

Ben Pearson
Slashfilm
April 29, 2019

This episode seemed like it was written specifically for watchers like me - those of us who are impressed by dragon riding and huge battles, but haven't always connected to those scenes in the same way we've connected with smaller character moments.

Louise Rugendyke
Sydney Morning Herald
Top Critic
April 29, 2019

Sure, it kinda felt like watching your parents have sex but good on Arya, she's a woman of many faces and now she's a bastard-king-in-waiting slayer.

Jacob Hall
Slashfilm
April 29, 2019

"A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms" is too expensive and sweeping to be considered a typical "bottle episode...", but it's a reminder that epic is not always better.

Evan Davis
Decider
April 29, 2019

Sunday's episode often felt like it was spinning its wheels, waiting for the battle to finally arrive. Bryan Cogman's dialogue lays it on fairly thick, not always sure of when to pull back.

Eammon Jacobs
Flickering Myth
April 29, 2019

It doesn't feel like it's recycling old material though thanks to role reversals and characters discovering a genuine sense of agency.

James White
Empire Magazine
April 29, 2019

A Knight Of The Seven Kingdoms wasn't so much full of drama as it was a living recap of past stories. Which, for all its minor (and a couple of major incidences) came off as a little less than totally satisfying in the shadow of last week.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Emily VanDerWerff
Vox
April 29, 2019

"A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms" is the sort of episode that first made me fall in love with Game of Thrones.

Huw Fullerton
Radio Times
April 28, 2019

A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms, in homage to Brienne's knighting scene. Very nice, and would have been hard to predict!

Daniel Krauze
El Financiero
April 26, 2019

Screenwriter Bryan Cogman's pen is versatile. [Full review in Spanish]

Ned Lannamann
The Stranger (Seattle, WA)
April 24, 2019

It was a BAD but necessary episode, setting the table for next week's big battle... For me, not enough actually happened, and the things that did move the pieces forward.

Suzette Smith
The Stranger (Seattle, WA)
April 24, 2019

This was a GOOD and bigtime boo hoo hoo episode. I teared up at least twice.

Leilani Polk
The Stranger (Seattle, WA)
April 24, 2019

I'd say it was a good AND bad episode.

Page 1 of 5