Horace and Pete: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Top Critic
November 26, 2019
"Horace And Pete" is a signal to other performers. In a digital world, they can bring the right project directly to the people with quality and immediacy.
October 10, 2018
It is clear that C.K. is fascinated with the idea of bending expectations and pushing the boundaries of television in the process.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 29, 2017
Let me say here that I have no idea whether Horace and Pete is good or bad.
September 26, 2016
Louis CK is one of the greatest thinkers of this age. The genius is at work. Let's take a leap of faith and observe. We could be in the middle of something special.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 13, 2016
This Web series written and directed by C.K. might be one of the most original offerings on TV right now. Once you get into it, it is utterly absorbing.
May 13, 2016
I found myself binge-watching Horace and Pete, becoming far more involved in the lives of these characters than I'd anticipated. And I can't recommend it enough.
April 25, 2016
The series feels like a catharsis for its creator, an announcement of some yet-to-be-defined transition in Louis C.K.'s art-making.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 6, 2016
Horace and Pete was more comfortable with silence than any TV show made during my lifetime. Its style demanded that you experience drama in a way that's anathema to the values of contemporary television.
February 8, 2016
At a time when populist rancor is at a high and people are holding onto familiar fears because it's better than embracing something new, what could be a better time for a show that externalizes that sentiment?
Full Review | Original Score: A
February 5, 2016
This is an artist with a great deal of clout... - and he's using that cultural currency to challenge himself. It's worth a return visit to see where Horace and Pete will go from here.
February 3, 2016
Horace and Pete is a testament to what comedians can achieve when left to their own devices.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 2, 2016
It's dark. It's so dark, and random, and devoid of any humor, and out-of-the-blue surreal on a Twin Peaks level, and you know what? I laughed.
February 2, 2016
This series isn't going to be for everyone, but all of the disorientation and ingenuity certainly make it one of the most thrilling things to come along in some time.
February 2, 2016
It's a comedy, mostly, sort of, but a comedy that aims to capture the shifting tones of real life, the pathos and the existential aches as much as the laughter and the absurdities.
February 1, 2016
It feels more like theater than television has anytime since the fabled 1950s, though an extended political debate attempts to nail it as up-to-the-minute. It's also an opportunity to watch great actors at play.
February 1, 2016
Horace and Pete is quiet and intimate when it's at its best, but in so many ways it feels like indulgence. And that's fine.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
February 1, 2016
Like much of Louis C.K.'s TV work, Horace and Pete is a messy experiment that stays just on the good side of pretentiousness. But it's also probing, engaged and moving.
February 1, 2016
Gentle awkwardness quickly spirals into full-blown tragicomedy. If the first episode is any indication, Horace and Pete is the next great show to get obsessed over-and Louis did it on his own.
February 1, 2016
The strange thing is how well C.K.'s experiment seems to work in the end. The cast puts on a hell of a show; Alda is magnetic as he descends into sadness, while Falco injects Horace and Pete with tissue-worthy emotion.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 1, 2016
Alda, Falco, and Buscemi are powerhouse dramatic actors, and C.K. makes a good reactive foil to them.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 2