I May Destroy You: Miniseries Reviews

December 30, 2020
That's an awful lot to pack into one series, but Coel makes the narrative aspect seem easy.
December 30, 2020
Coel already had a hit with her series Chewing Gum, and the strength of I May Destroy you proves she's got more than one trick up her sleeve. Expect to see more from her.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.75/5
December 30, 2020
This is smart, compelling TV, electrifying and fun, but also important, stylishly filmed, with a superlative script and performances.
December 30, 2020
That is not only remarkable, but exceptionally brave.
December 30, 2020
I May Destroy You could very well make good on the promise of its title, but its strange, oddly beautiful denouement will almost certainly heal you.
December 30, 2020
A mystery story bubbles beneath the surface, but I May Destroy You excels for refusing to give easy answers to that hazy evening and everything else that follows.
December 30, 2020
You won't be able to shake I May Destroy You from your thoughts.
December 30, 2020
Both grand and personal, I May Destroy You is ultimately storytelling at its boldest: unafraid to destroy and rebuild itself - and its characters' understanding of the world around them - as many times as it takes to find something true.
December 30, 2020
It's a reckoning with the reality of the systems that don't protect us after we are destroyed, and with the understanding that we have to piece ourselves together regardless of whether justice is available to us.
December 30, 2020
I May Destroy You is a game-changer of a show: its most interesting legacy may not be its challenging themes, but its formal fearlessness.
December 30, 2020
This show is fearless in its attitude towards the modern world in which it exists, with Coel's creative voice bursting through to make some necessary commentary.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 30, 2020
What you do not expect from this story is humour. Yet Coel has pulled off the seemingly impossible by creating a drama that is frequently funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 30, 2020
I May Destroy You goes ahead and accomplishes its stated title statement, leaving the narrative heading into episode six in a place of deliberate uncertainty that makes you want to go and rewatch everything that came before.
December 30, 2020
It's a difficult part to pull off, and Coel takes no prisoners, laying herself out completely, offering no excuses. So hard to watch, and so rewarding.
November 26, 2020
I May Destroy You is a dramedy with an off kilter story that explores matters we so often brush aside.
November 17, 2020
The series captures the pain, absurdity, and murkiness of rape culture, refusing to ever tie a neat bow.
October 2, 2020
I May Destroy You takes us on a quest for wholeness...despite these very serious themes, the show is surprisingly funny, delicately poignant, and so visually gorgeous you can't look away.
September 16, 2020
Angry, vibrant, exhilarating, surprising and funny ... It's a story [that comes] not easily, but with righteous passion and undeniable integrity, in blood, sweat and tears.
September 14, 2020
I May Destroy You is a stunner, and quite possibly the best thing you will see on a small screen this year.
September 10, 2020
While this is a work of fiction, Coel grounds the experience fuller into reality by making Arabella a sort of avatar for herself. These similarities between author and character deepen what transpires, making the situations visceral and hard to ignore.
Full Review | Original Score: A