The Truth and Nothing But


Episode Info

Season three of Oz opens with the news that the name of the prison has been changed from Oswald Penitentiary to Oswald Correctional Facility. This is appropriate, according to narrator Hill (Harold Perrineau), because in Oz, "Nobody's penitent. Nobody's sorry." In addition, thanks to the machinations of the governor, the prison's health maintenance system has been privatized to save money. Dr. Frederick Garvey (Milo O'Shea) arrives on the scene to supervise the cost cutting. He deprives Alvarez (Kirk Acevedo) of antidepressants, raising the ire of Dr. Nathan (Lauren Velez). Alvarez also tells Father Mukada (B.D. Wong), in confidence, that the guards have not been feeding him. A new prisoner, Coyle (rapper Treach) arrives in Em City, and immediately bonds with Wangler (J.D. Williams), but Nappa (Mark Margolis) isn't ready to trust the new man. Adebisi (Adewale Akinnouye-Agbaje) apologizes to McManus (Terry Kinney) for his past behavior, claims he's done with drugs, and gets released from the psych ward. Warden Glynn (Ernie Hudson) reluctantly hires a new hack, Clayton Hughes (Seth Gilliam), the son of a guard who was killed in the prison years ago. McManus suspects that Metzger (Bill Fagerbakke) is in cahoots with the Nazis, but he can't get anyone to testify against him. Keller (Christopher Meloni) is released from the hole, and apologizes to Beecher (Lee Tergesen), who demands that Keller confess to attacking him, and testify against Metzger and Schillinger (J.K. Simmons). Metzger tries to intercede, leading to a bloody showdown. This episode was directed by Nick Gomez, who also directed the first episode of season two.


Frederick Koehler
as Prisoner #99S333 Andrew Schillinger
Ernie Hudson
as Leo Glynn
Terry Kinney
as Tim McManus
Rita Moreno
as Sister Peter Marie Reimondo
B.D. Wong
as Father Ray Mukada
Edie Falco
as Diane Wittlesey
Harold Perrineau
as Augustus Hill
Eamonn Walker
as Kareem Said
Lee Tergesen
as Tobias Beecher
Tony Musante
as Nino Schibetta
J.K. Simmons
as Vern Schillinger
Dean Winters
as Ryan O'Reily
Kirk Acevedo
as Miguel Alvarez
Luna Lauren Vélez
as Dr. Gloria Nathan
George Morfogen
as Bob Rebadow
Betty Buckley
as Suzanne Fitzgerald
Reg E. Cathey
as Martin Querns
Anthony Chisholm
as Burr Reading
Robert Clohessy
as Off. Sean Murphy
Carl DiMaggio
as Off. Len Lopresti
John Doman
as Col. Edward Galson
Sean Dugan
as Timmy Kirk
Christopher Meloni
as Christopher Keller
Rick Fox
as Jackson Vayhue
Joel Grey
as Lemuel Idzick
Ray Iannicelli
as Off. Roger Breese
Zeljko Ivanek
as Gov. James Devlin
Brendan Kelly
as Wolfgang Cutler
Tom Ligon
as Alvin Yood
Patti LuPone
as Stella Coffa
John Lurie
as Greg Pender
Tom Mardirosian
as Agamemnon Busmalis
Ellen McElduff
as Elenor O'Connor
Milo O'Shea
as Dr. Frederick Garvey
Blayne Perry
as Samuel Gougeon
Larry Pine
as Arnold Zelman
Sandra Purpuro
as Catherine McClain
Blake Robbins
as Off. David Brass
R.E. Rodgers
as James Robson
Kristin Rohde
as Off. Claire Howell
Otto Sanchez
as Carmen `Chico' Guerra
Paul Schulze
as Off. Rick Heim
Philip Scozzarella
as Off. Joseph Mineo
Jon Seda
as Dino Ortolani
Lou Sones
as Steve Dawkins
Thomas G. Waites
as Henry Stanton
Joel West
as Glen Shupe
Steven Wishnoff
as Tony Masters
Michael Wright
as Omar White
Emanuel Yarbrough
as Clarence Seroy
David Zayas
as Enrique Morales
Chuck Zito
as Charles Pancamo
Granville Adams
as Zahir Arif
Dena Atlantic
as Floria Mills
Tim Brown
as Off. Jason Armstrong
Bobby Cannavale
as Alonzo Torquemada
Antoni Corone
as Frances Urbano
Show More Cast

The Truth and Nothing But Photos