Samurai Jack: Season 5 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 8, 2019
It hasn't missed a single beat, effortlessly recapturing everything that has always made the series great... It's intoxicatingly perfect action cinema.
February 7, 2019
Samurai Jack wasn't a property I'd been dreaming of ever seeing again, but it's emerged from its trip through time and space far better than most of the recent TV revivals.
February 7, 2019
Even with the weight of Jack's grief hanging over every moment, Tartakovsky manages to flavor certain scenes with an absurdist comedic flair.
February 7, 2019
Take any single image from the new season by itself and it looks like a dynamic work of art. With so many haunting visuals, we're going to be remembering this show for a long time to come.
February 7, 2019
My god, this is the most wonderful time to be alive for fiction. Listen, when we talk about comebacks. When we talk about Ali, Foreman, Jordan, we going to have to put Samurai Jack up there with the greats.
February 7, 2019
Focuses on maximizing its artistic aesthetics, though that's not to say it is bereft of narrative cleverness, catharsis, and philosophical introspections.
September 26, 2018
Even when things are dark, the show is still fun in the way that Tartakovsky, his team of animators, and the writers have always approached scenes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 26, 2018
These 10 episodes featured some of the show's finest animation and gave Jack a resonant and satisfying emotional conclusion.
August 19, 2018
Kudos to Genndy Tartakovsky for this masterpiece of a show, 16 Years later we finally get back to the past, Samurai Jack.
August 6, 2018
It's a remarkable work of optimism in the face of overwhelming darkness without and within. For an action cartoon, it feels timely, even if it wasn't intended to be.
August 11, 2017
The original four seasons of Jack were a triumph in their own right, and the fifth is shaping up to be a proper send-off for a show that was rudely taken off the air before its time.
May 28, 2017
The way that a show like this ends is less of a problem than the sad knowledge that we won't witness any more from it. At the close of all his years, Jack has found an honorable way home.
May 26, 2017
Samurai Jack may be spare on plot, but it brims with emotional complexity and visual splendor.
March 14, 2017
The new season does give us that darker hero, but not in the way you might have expected. It's better.
March 13, 2017
Jack is back and better than ever. The years may not have been kind to the samurai, but his suffering makes for good television, promising a contemplative and compelling season.
March 13, 2017
I love Samurai Jack's action sequences, but something tells me this season will spend a bit more time exploring interiors.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
March 10, 2017
Everything glows. One hopes for a happy ending, of course, but what matters most is shape and color, the abstraction of rain on stone, the sun through the trees. It makes "Samurai Jack" endlessly rewatchable: Every picture tells a story.
March 9, 2017
Tartakovsky fills screens with flowing purple sunsets or lush forests that are nothing short of looking at a dream.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 9, 2017
There's an uncanny power to this series that defies language, and it's rooted in Samurai Jack's commitment to formal experimentation.
March 8, 2017
I'm happy to report that this cartoon created by Genndy Tartakovsky is as exciting, beautiful, and multilayered as it ever was.
Page 1 of 2