Stranger Things: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
December 29, 2017
The second season steps up the pace gently, without losing its firm grip on the very specifically dated narrative speed of the first season.
November 13, 2017
I've no idea where it's going, but that's hardly surprising because I've also no real idea where it went. I'll watch it all. Probably, so will you.
November 10, 2017
How many other shows about alternate dimensions and Dungeons & Dragons monsters operate with such emotional subtlety? Haters to the left.
November 9, 2017
Stranger Things provides a form of escapism that has nothing to do with alternate dimensions. It invites viewers to indulge in the sweet self-righteousness that can come with getting excluded for being uncool.
November 8, 2017
Come for the Stephen King font. Stay for a Stranger Things that smells surprisingly like teen spirit.
November 1, 2017
A beautiful moment of a boy and a girl not quite connecting reveals brilliance of using preteen protagonists.
November 1, 2017
... a season that throughout poignantly gestured at that fraught time when we all leave the basement and face life's terrors and thrills on our own...
October 30, 2017
It's not a story about otherworldly powers and mindless evil. It's about the people besieged by the mindless evil. The characters are deftly drawn, and irresistible.
October 30, 2017
In its second season, Stranger Things feels more like scattered things.
October 30, 2017
Stranger Things 2's stretch run fired on all cylinders, which should be the model for all Netflix originals as it perfectly plays into the binge consumption method.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 30, 2017
It was darker, its world expanded, and - most importantly - we got to find out about Steve Harrington's hair care regime.
Top Critic
October 30, 2017
I love Stranger Things so much. Even when it's scaring us and jolting us, it stops to take a poke at its own absurdity.
October 27, 2017
A Spielbergian sense of wonder and a John Hughes-like knack for underage anthropology invigorate the show's approach to scary science-fiction.
October 27, 2017
Just know that Stranger Things 2, like its predecessor, is richly atmospheric, making for great Halloween binging.
October 27, 2017
This season promises big questions, big answers, and a big, big monster.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 27, 2017
The season-two intro offers a glimpse into how the Duffer Brothers might catapult Stranger Things into Orphan Black territory: If there's more than one victim, there's more than one story.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 27, 2017
The greatest moments have nothing to do with aliens trying to escape the Upside Down.
October 27, 2017
None of the sequel's missteps blemish the plot enough to prevent or slow a person's binging of it - you probably will anyway, and moreover, you should.
October 26, 2017
It's a masterful creation by the somewhat enigmatically dubbed Duffer Brothers.
October 26, 2017
Once the series picks up momentum, though, it's a thrilling ride.
Page 1 of 3