Take Two: Season 1 Reviews

November 25, 2018
Although the first episode is undeniably formulaic, the second episode hints at a brighter future for this new drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4
October 5, 2018
I much prefer Sam Spade but Sam Swift is starting to grow on me.
September 17, 2018
The pieces all come together very conveniently.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 31, 2018
Seeing these likable characters work their way through difficult situations is fun, and these shows still treat it that way.
June 29, 2018
I'm going to tell you something, ladies and gentlemen: Through two episodes, this show is way more fun than it has any right to be. And that's mostly because Rachel Bilson rules.
June 27, 2018
Lighthearted detective show is a less charming Castle.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 22, 2018
Cibrian and Bilson have great chemistry, which is a major part of the show's appeal.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 22, 2018
Is it a breezy and diverting way to take your mind off the endless parade of horrors that your local ABC station's news report will show you after Take Two's credits roll? Yes. And that's all it needs to do.
June 22, 2018
Take Two promises to be just that sort of enjoyable show, and if it brings nothing new to the table, that is the meal we have come for.
June 22, 2018
The question ultimately boils down to whether the Bilson-Cibrian combination is charming enough to keep the cameras rolling, as opposed to yelling "Cut!"
June 21, 2018
"Take Two" is honest advertising. It's the second grab at a winning premise, for the same network, no less. You deserve more.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 21, 2018
Andrew W. Marlowe is the mind behind both Take Two and Castle. He can't very well sue himself for plagiarism, but might want to declare creative bankruptcy.
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 20, 2018
For a light drama it's entertaining enough, thanks to producers poking fun at TV procedural cliches (while also embracing them) and Ms. Bilson's likable performance.
June 20, 2018
My disappointment at Take Two, speaking as somebody who watched every episode of Castle though sometimes with disdain, is that there's absolutely no reason why this couldn't be a perfect vehicle for Rachel Bilson.
June 18, 2018
The trouble with Take Two is with neither the concept, retread though it may be, or the stars. It's the dreadful scripts.