The Politician: Season 2 Reviews

Aug 29, 2022
I don’t think The Politician necessarily set out to be an eye-opening show shedding light on the state of American politics for all viewers — if that were the actual aim, it’s way too on the nose of Murphy — but I hope it does.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Jul 8, 2021
With only nine months between seasons, the show could probably have benefited from an extended pre-production phase. It's not a Brexit-level political catastrophe, but it's certainly a ropey second term.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jul 8, 2020
A dysfunctional and tediously lazy and repetitive follow-up.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Jul 3, 2020
The tone is different in Season 2, focusing on plot rather than satire, so a bit messier. But Ben Platt is one of the exciting performers of our era, & its still a solid ride.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jul 2, 2020
Broadway darling Platt is still a worthy lead in his second term, one whom you can always depend on for a voracious performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jun 29, 2020
I didn't hate it, but I didn't like it, either. It's like most of Ryan Murphy's projects: A lot of insanely fun ingredients (Judith Light! Bette Middler! Zoey Deutch!), but there's always too much sugar and never enough flour and eggs.
Jun 29, 2020
It's a waste of talents like Bette Midler and Judith Light as Platt's seasoned political adversaries.
Jun 25, 2020
The gloss of The Politician may not compensate for its overall shallowness or the messy pointlessness of its plot, but it does remind us of celebrity's power to persuade us to make foolish decisions, including with our time.
Jun 24, 2020
The performances, writing, direction, and overall energy remain superb, further showing a series that is as confident as it is bold.
Jun 23, 2020
I didn't love the first season, but that kind of emptiness was easier to stomach when it was about a high-school election. Translated into the real world, that kind of farce does not feel fun.
Jun 23, 2020
It still has a spark and some episodes are entertaining, but it leaves us with the feeling that it could have been so much better. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Jun 22, 2020
It's good to see Ryan Murphy back at what he does best, garish colours, obnoxious characters, power suits and all.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jun 22, 2020
It never becomes cutthroat enough to tango with its own characters, but nonetheless you can never label it a bore.
Jun 22, 2020
It's the seediness, the kink, that Murphy fixates on more than an actual message, which sends a message unto itself: He doesn't care, and neither should the rest of us.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Jun 22, 2020
Make it to the end of this season, and you will learn more about the psychology and science behind rock-paper-scissors than you ever even knew existed, but then... it will ultimately mean nothing.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Jun 22, 2020
The speed at which these seven episodes fly by isn't a credit to efficiency; it's a signal that even those making the show have stopped caring about it.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Jun 22, 2020
It has many ideas -- actually too many ideas -- but can't quite figure out how to tie them all together. As a result, its overall plotting feels disjointed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Jun 20, 2020
The Politician season 2 offers a more tonally consistent and superior run compared to the last outing, with Bette Midler stealing the show entirely with her excellent comic timing and charismatic presence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jun 19, 2020
Overall I just really enjoy these actors. Do I enjoy their characters? No. But they're good performances, and they're really acting off some fun, weird direction.
Jun 19, 2020
To some, this social commentary/call to arms will seem preachy - Zoey Deutch's glamorous take on Greta Thunberg is especially heavy-handed - but it injects the show with a much-needed dose of vim.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Do you think we mischaracterized a critic's review?