The Walking Dead: Season 5 Episode 6 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Walking Dead: Season 5 Episode 6 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Randy Dankievitch
TV Over Mind
February 27, 2020

It's just an hour of killing time, with two fan-favorite characters - and even at doing that, The Walking Dead is still much better than it was in seasons past.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 14, 2018

While it still seems like a bizarre climax to structure the first half of the season around, "Consumed" proved a reasonably strong survivor's tale overall.

Tom Fitzgerald and Lorenzo Marquez
Tom & Lorenzo
June 6, 2018

How can we complain about the show giving its two most popular characters an entire hour of just being those characters for us? Call it fan service, but it worked.

Adam A. Donaldson
We Got This Covered
January 17, 2015

This week's episode of The Walking Dead should stand out as it features two of the show's best characters, a pair who internalize a lot and are the outsiders in a group of outsiders.

Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Danielle Henderson
Guardian
Top Critic
January 2, 2015

Carol is not so sure we're allowed to save people in this zombie-ridden hellscape, and Daryl, in his own quiet way, is trying to make sure she can at least save herself.

Patrick Kevin Day
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic
January 2, 2015

Nearly five and a half seasons in, and The Walking Dead continues to give us bizarre and inventive new walker encounters.

Richard Rys
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
January 2, 2015

The big theme in this chapter is identity, as Caryl struggles to reconcile past and present.

Laura Reiley
Tampa Bay Times
January 2, 2015

All that wide open space and concrete set the teeth on edge in a way that hearkened back to season one of The Walking Dead.

Blair Marnell
CraveOnline
January 2, 2015

I hope that this hospital storyline is worth all of the screentime that it's been getting. I'm already bored with it, but the show doesn't seem to be in a hurry to get past this.

Terri Schwartz
Zap2it.com
January 2, 2015

Taking the time to slow down and have the characters -- in this case, Daryl and Carol -- evaluate who they have become in the post-zombie apocalypse world is exactly what The Walking Dead needs, and excels at.

Laura Prudom
Variety
Top Critic
January 2, 2015

"Consumed" was a welcome return to two of the show's most compelling characters, turning the focus onto Daryl and Carol for an hour that crackled with tension and finally gave two of our least talkative survivors a chance to speak their minds.

Josh Jackson
Paste Magazine
January 2, 2015

I'm glad to see the gang back in Atlanta. We've spent a lot of time in rural Georgia, but there's something about the urban zombiescape that I dig. Maybe it's just the lack of traffic.

Sean McKenna
TV Fanatic
January 2, 2015

The Walking Dead Season 5 Episode 6 was the transition piece that tied everything together, clicked all the puzzle pieces into place, and set up what looks to be another showdown battle for the survivors heading into the fall finale.

Troy L. Smith
Cleveland Plain Dealer
January 2, 2015

To be honest, "Consumed" is probably the weakest episode Season 5 has produced thus far. The flashbacks were pretty uneventful and the plot was predictable.

David Sims
The Atlantic
Top Critic
January 2, 2015

The Walking Dead has always excelled at episodes like this -- quiet, atmospheric hours with a lot of zombie-killing and snatches of dialogue that say more than an introspective soliloquy could.

Zack Handlen
AV Club
Top Critic
January 2, 2015

"Consumed" is strong because it's haunting and melancholy throughout, and because it focuses on arguably the show's strongest relationship.

Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
January 2, 2015

For a terse Carol/Daryl adventure, "Consumed" triumphed in both landscape and tone, though it was hindered a bit by us knowing that nothing all that big was going to happen.

Kevin Yeoman
Screen Rant
January 2, 2015

"Consumed" is has more to do than set the table or move pieces around the board; there's some highly entertaining character work being done in the midst of a solid piece of genre storytelling.

Page 1 of 1