The Walking Dead: Season 6 Episode 13 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Walking Dead: Season 6 Episode 13 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Faye McCray
Black Girl Nerds
June 25, 2018

I appreciate how subtly the writers are taking us on this journey with the characters.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 18, 2018

It's strange that even a bottle episode of sorts couldn't keep up the character work.

Melissa Leon
The Daily Beast
October 25, 2016

A female-dominated bottle episode that happens to be one of The Walking Dead's best all season, and a surprisingly introspective look at motherhood, faith, brutality, and the ever-blurrier line between the good guys and the bad.

M. King Adkins
PopMatters
March 21, 2016

The Women Shine in "The Same Boat."

Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Jocelyn W
TV Equals
March 18, 2016

The writers have ventured away from the time manipulations and in telling a more linear storyline, we've gotten an excellent balance of action, suspense, tension and character development.

Noam Cohen
Observer
Top Critic
March 15, 2016

If The Walking Dead just full-on turned into The Carol Show, would anyone really mind?

Steve Wright
SciFiNow
March 14, 2016

For not the first time, this feels like a turning point for some of its characters, although considering their sudden influx of screen time, we have to admit that we're worried for Maggie and Carol.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 14, 2016

"The Same Boat" did a lot of very smart and necessary things, continuing the creative roll Walking Dead has been on since we moved past all the stupidity of the fall half-season.

Emily VanDerWerff
Vox
March 14, 2016

The hour takes some narrative shortcuts I don't really like, but I do appreciate where it ends up. Plus, it's proof of something very important: The Walking Dead is always better when it gives Carol plenty of screentime.

Jeremy Egner
New York Times
Top Critic
March 14, 2016

"Your people are killers, Carol," Paula said on Sunday. "That makes you a killer." She didn't know the half of it.

Morgan Jeffery
Digital Spy
March 14, 2016

It's already a crime that McBride hasn't scored more awards recognition for her stellar work on The Walking Dead - did these guys not see 'The Grove'? If 'The Same Boat' doesn't win this captivating actress an Emmy, then nothing will.

Noel Murray
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
March 14, 2016

It's hard to imagine that TWD's toughest character is about to become a Morgan-like pacifist. But maybe she's about to realize that if she keeps killing everyone she thinks of as an "other," soon she'll be the last person on Earth.

Zack Handlen
AV Club
Top Critic
March 14, 2016

"The Same Boat" works best when we see just how much Carol's efforts to stay alive and move past tragedy have cost her.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Chelsea Tatham
Tampa Bay Times
March 14, 2016

Tonight's episode, "The Same Boat," is probably a disappointment for Carol and Maggie fans. We are used to seeing them strong, independent and able to take whatever this new world throws at them. But it also showed their condition realistically.

Brian Moylan
Guardian
Top Critic
March 14, 2016

The best part about this phenomenal episode was that it really was a story about women, not only Carol and Maggie but the three women that took them captive.

Aaron Neuwirth
The Young Folks
March 14, 2016

'The Same Boat' does leave us with a lot of good material for Carol, even if we knew where things were headed.

Andy Patrick
TV Line
March 14, 2016

Negan wound up being introduced in this week's episode. Well, sort of. But, in a way, it was the "sort of" that made the villain seem even scarier than he did before.

Paul Vigna
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
March 14, 2016

One of the little things we love about this show is that they consistently give minor characters little things that make them real. Calling Carol "Magnolia" is a smart touch. "I want to bloody up that nice..."

Josh Jackson
Paste Magazine
March 14, 2016

I thought this was one of the best Carol episodes we've seen. [The] character has transformed from a timid, battered wife and protective mother to the biggest badass of the zombie apocalypse, but that transformation has come at a price.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.3/10
Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine
March 14, 2016

[Carol's is] a hell of a performance-so convincing that Polly believes Carol to be genuinely "pathetic."

Page 1 of 2