The Walking Dead: Season 9 Episode 6 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Walking Dead: Season 9 Episode 6 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Erik Kain
Forbes
November 13, 2018

I love that it feels like a whole new show, because The Walking Dead needed to become a whole new show to survive. I never thought they'd pull it off, but so far this may be the longest stretch of good episodes this show has ever aired.

Brian Richards
Pajiba
November 13, 2018

Despite the fact that many of us are still getting used to the idea of Andrew Lincoln-as-Rick and Lauren Cohan-as-Maggie being gone, this episode does an impressive job of keeping both the story and the momentum going forward.

Laura Bradley
Vanity Fair
November 12, 2018

Rosita is with -- wait for it -- Gabriel! That might be the show's biggest curveball, but rest assured: Eugene is still creepily pining over his longtime friend, because some things just never change.

Alexandra August
CBR
November 12, 2018

[Rick Grimes'] absence is still keenly felt, but for the most part, life has gone on... "Where Are You Now?" spends a fair amount of its energy delicately laying the foundations of the way things are in the present. It's a far cry from where we left off.

Nick Venable
CinemaBlend
November 12, 2018

It needed to fully close out Rick's story while also planting enough seeds to make possibilities seem endless in the future. For the most part, it did just that, and I never found myself wishing for Rick and Maggie to show up and carry a scene.

Noetta Harjo
Geek Girl Authority
November 12, 2018

RJ!! OMG!! I knew we were getting a Richonne Baby, but the reality is so amazing to watch. I hope we get to see more of him.

Rob Bricken
io9.com
November 12, 2018

While the season premiere recalibrated the show to something that felt fresh and energized in a way it hadn't been for years, "Who Are You Now?" was mostly a return to the dull, heavy-handed, and dour ways of the past.

Jim Vorel
Paste Magazine
November 12, 2018

Carol is once again in psychopath territory. Thankfully, that's our favorite Carol.

Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Steve Ford
TV Fanatic
November 12, 2018

Granted, it's only one episode, but the fact that The Walking Dead has found a way to continue telling compelling stories without its star is an extremely promising sign.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
James White
Empire Magazine
November 12, 2018

Some storylines had moments of flare and decent interactions, but it all mostly felt like what has gone before.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Richard Rys
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
November 12, 2018

We're teased with a brief glimpse of the next threat that looms (and groans). But the fun in this episode comes in seeing how different nearly everything has become in the AG (After Grimes) era.

Nick Romano
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
November 12, 2018

Offers more of a season premiere feeling than the actual season 9 premiere. Questions remain as we head deeper into this uncharted territory, but it's a journey that brings a fresh start to an often stale story. It's the promise of something different.

Jeff Stone
indieWire
Top Critic
November 12, 2018

The primary issue with "Who Are You Now" is that Michonne is now the knee-jerk xenophobe... It's not utterly derailing -- Michonne comes around by the end of the episode -- but it's still disheartening on top of being repetitive.

Full Review | Original Score: C
Alex Avard
SFX Magazine
November 12, 2018

This kind of ambitious, purposeful storytelling where things actually happen is exactly what we've been asking from The Walking Dead for years.

Ron Hogan
Den of Geek
November 12, 2018

Director Larry Teng does a solid job setting up the trap and springing it, and Carol's fiery revenge for being robbed is satisfying.

Alex McLevy
AV Club
Top Critic
November 12, 2018

If you're going to leap so many years forward in time, there needs to be a better way to help reconnect with the characters, especially in the middle of the season.

Full Review | Original Score: C+
Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
November 12, 2018

The most surprising twist, in all of this, was that everyone was still in the same spot after this long, but the episode still worked because the flood of new information, and new faces, carried us through swiftly.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.2/10
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
November 12, 2018

Who Are You Now kicks off the post-Rick Grimes era of The Walking Dead in strong fashion with new threats, characters and a few burnt Saviors.

Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Page 1 of 1