The Walking Dead: Season 9 Episode 13 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Walking Dead: Season 9 Episode 13 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Luke Y. Thompson
Nerdist
April 1, 2019

This is not how you write serious villains. If we already know the main hero can beat the main villain, what's the jeopardy?

Brian Richards
Pajiba
March 27, 2019

Another superb episode which gives us so many things to enjoy and appreciate.

Nick Venable
CinemaBlend
March 11, 2019

Still reeling from Carol's amazing approach to winning those highway pirates over by the promise of watching a movie again... I think the Kingdom's film-related advancements are becoming my favorite element of Season 9.

Alyse Wax
Syfy Wire
March 11, 2019

It was the fight I didn't even know I wanted, but once I got it, my life felt complete. There is something about Beta's huge size and Daryl's wiry... Daryl-ness that just make for a perfect fight.

Ron Hogan
Den of Geek
March 11, 2019

"Chokepoint," at the moment, is one of the better episodes of one of the better seasons of The Walking Dead, and serves as a latter-season highlight for the show, which has shown improvement under Angela Kang's guidance.

Erik Kain
Forbes
March 11, 2019

"Chokepoint" was, for the most part, a fantastic episode. It's certainly the first episode of 9B that had me on the edge of my seat. Mostly that's because of Beta (Sons of Anarchy's Ryan Hurst) who is just wonderfully scary and intimidating.

James White
Empire Magazine
March 11, 2019

A bright burst of action and an unusually light resolution to a Walking Dead problem couldn't quite keep Chokepoint from feeling a little lightweight... It did at least offer some fun along the way, but don't expect it to hit any top 10 lists.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Alexandra August
CBR
March 11, 2019

If you didn't cheer, you're a traitor. If you thought Beta was dead, you're na´ve.

Richard Rys
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
March 11, 2019

This odd truce was a well-placed moment of levity and a reminder that it's been a long time since most survivors could enjoy any of the comforts of the past.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeff Stone
indieWire
Top Critic
March 11, 2019

An adventure that seems dire at first but ultimately works out for the best. If that sounds a lot like the structure of "Bounty" from a few weeks ago, you'd be correct, but that episode was rock solid and this one follows suit.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Alex McLevy
AV Club
Top Critic
March 11, 2019

I found it wholly silly -- but in an entertaining way. This is the series delivering some hammy theatrics, and thanks to the looming, Michael Myers-esque threat of Beta, the ploy works.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Jim Vorel
Paste Magazine
March 11, 2019

This episode was a welcome return to some largely pointless, pulpy violence. And hey: I'll take it, when the alternative is just continuing to ask for information the show refuses to gives us.

Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
Steve Ford
TV Fanatic
March 11, 2019

All in all, this was a fun, fast-paced episode that pushed the overall direction of the season forward, even if the hyped up fight between Beta and Daryl was somewhat of a disappointment.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.2/5
Alex Avard
SFX Magazine
March 11, 2019

Chokepoint holds its own as a surprising, exciting pocket of action and drama in The Walking Dead season 9.

Rob Bricken
io9.com
March 11, 2019

As one who has experienced seasons of miserable, blood-soaked episodes that thought they were doing something but were only dimwitted bummers, I'm very happy to see the crazy train that brought in the Whisperers continue to go off those rails.

Dustin Rowles
Uproxx
March 11, 2019

The Walking Dead jumped back on the horse and delivered another exhilarating episode, successfully combining heroism, old-school horror, humor, and even a Western flair in "Chokepoint."

Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
March 11, 2019

One of the more challenging types of episodes to review because it's 50% awesome. The other half, involving Carol and Ezekiel dealing with a whole new faction, with even more characters to mix into the show's bubbling broth, is middling stuff.

Full Review | Original Score: 7.9/10
Kevin Lever
Tell-Tale TV
March 11, 2019

"Chokepoint" finds a duality in how two different groups of people deal with a threat... This kind of storytelling structure goes a long way in delivering meaningful looks at how each character tackles a situation.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Noetta Harjo
Geek Girl Authority
March 11, 2019

The Walking Dead is great at storytelling, but sometimes they slow down the story a bit too much. If it weren't for the Daryl vs. Beta fight, this would have been a very boring episode.

Nick Romano
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 11, 2019

This week's chapter in the Whisperer saga felt a burst of adrenaline from a one-on-one, hand-to-hand brawl between Daryl and Beta, showing what both are capable of.

Page 1 of 1