True Detective : Season 3 Episode 4 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

True Detective : Season 3 Episode 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Roxana Hadadi
Pajiba
February 12, 2019

I think the first season of True Detective was flawed but ambitious television, and I liked it very much, and I get wanting to recapture some of that magic. But to this degree of mimicry? "The Hour and the Day" never develops its own strengths.

Kevin Lever
Tell-Tale TV
January 28, 2019

True Detective [is] crossing into its halfway mark, and delivering its best episode of the season in doing so. Its way of allowing both character and plot to connect rather than character taking the lead, ... gives a new breath of life to what's ahead.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Martin Holmes
TV Line
January 28, 2019

This episode doesn't exactly provide us with any forward momentum. The show is holding its cards way close to the chest and I can see that becoming frustrating from some viewers who are more in this for the mystery elements than a character study.

Miles Surrey
The Ringer
January 28, 2019

Misplaced guilt is a through line for many crime stories... Seeing this conveyed in True Detective isn't a novel concept, of course, but it's tragically, movingly rendered by the show's cast and Pizzolatto and Milch's script.

Andrea Reiher
Refinery29
January 28, 2019

The puzzle pieces are starting to fall into place.

Emily L. Stephens
AV Club
Top Critic
January 28, 2019

There's nothing new and plenty clichéd about the story of the 'Nam survivor dogged by ghosts. But the effect of those figures quietly, swiftly flooding the room, their ready postures, their ease and silence, made my stomach drop with dread.

Full Review | Original Score: B-
Lanre Bakare
Guardian
Top Critic
January 28, 2019

We're four episodes in and the third outing of True Detective has settled into its rhythm. Is it working? Well, it's an improvement on season two.

Ben Travers
indieWire
Top Critic
January 28, 2019

Now that we're halfway through, it's safer than ever to start looking forward to some real answers in the weeks to come.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Derek Lawrence
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
January 28, 2019

The episode doesn't live up to the expectations and instead spins its wheels until an explosive ending.

Full Review | Original Score: B-
Sean T. Collins
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
January 28, 2019

Co-written by Nic Pizzolatto and David "Deadwood" Milch, with the former making his directorial debut, it's simply another well-written procedural, funny where it wants to be - and ugly where it needs to be.

Tony Sokol
Den of Geek
January 28, 2019

True Detective's halfway point is completely compelling. While we know we're going to see how this cliffhanger is going to play out, we don't know how long, given the three timeliness, we're going to have to wait.

Keith Phipps
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
January 28, 2019

It's starting to feel like much of the backstory is being withheld for the sake of withholding it, not because it's what the story requires.

Scott Tobias
New York Times
Top Critic
January 28, 2019

It's as if the show itself had unscrewed the cap on a bottle of Jack Daniels and gone for a swim. Maybe it will wake from its stupor and start working the case again, but for now it's passed out on the couch.

Page 1 of 1