Dressed to Kill - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dressed to Kill Reviews

Page 1 of 28
April 21, 2017
This Movie Was 34 Years Old In 2014.
April 9, 2017
I've never really liked this movie. Not even sure what it was about really. I guess it was about a serial killer, or was it about a girl and a boy trying to catch one? Or was it about a psychiatrist? Not really sure. But I didn't like it. Except for the first 20 minutes with Angie Dickinson. Hot.
January 9, 2017
Brian De Palma sure won't be winning any originality awards, and Dressed to Kill is a prime example why. On the surface, he walks an incredibly thin line between ripping off and paying homage to Hitchcock, but De Palma obviously brings his own unique touch. He pushes the limits of eroticism, dark humour and bloodshed further than Hitchcock ever did, but the similarities between Dressed to Kill and Psycho are undeniable. I guess if you're gonna borrow from other films, you might as well borrow from the best. The two directors definitely have an amazing talent for visual storytelling, as the cinematography and camerawork on display here is simply stunning. The first act can be a little slow, but the story is engaging and the film is packed with tension and style. What Dressed to Kill lacks in originality, it more than makes up for with its suspense and masterful direction. Highly recommended.
December 29, 2016
I have expected much more from this movie, hailed as a homage to Hitchcock. Well, it's a very-very pale copy of a great maestro. The reason that i give it 3 stars is for the beautifully rendered museum sequence.
July 25, 2016
Brian DePalma.. really?
July 24, 2016
Doctor Robert Elliott: "Doctor, I am not paranoid. Bobbi was making threats over the phone. She said she's going to hurt me. My patient was slashed to death. And now my razor is gone. Now you don't have to be a detective to figure it out, do you?"
July 15, 2016
An unrelenting sensual thriller that focus the death of a married woman by a razor & the only witness a High End Escort girl who caught a glimpse of the seemingly female murderer.

Filled with stunning camerawork (the camera is always moving) and many tense scenes & some terrific twists & turns.

Although dialogue & acting is a little tongue in cheek the suspense is pounding. A genuinely gripping thriller staring Michael Caine...throughly enjoyed this 80's Cult Classic.
June 14, 2016
De Palma fuses Hitchcock's 'Psycho' with Giallo cinema. Sleazy, sexy, dreamlike, nightmarish, quirky and cinematically a minor masterpiece.
Super Reviewer
½ June 9, 2016
It's DePalma's trashy homage to "Psycho". Despite however offensive the content is (by both today's and 1980's standards) it's difficult to deny the technical skill involved in the production. Plus I'm willing let the ridiculous psychological explanations slide as it's arguable to view the movie as nothing but lurid fantasy. Maybe that's a cop out on my part.
½ June 5, 2016
Outstanding. While today the plot line can be seen a mile away, back in 1980 this was groundbreaking. Adding to the pleasure is the style (Angie looks fantastic!) and the NYC locale. Great flick.
½ June 4, 2016
Brian DePalma's Hitchcockian homage complete with his own signature gratuitous sexuality and violence. It truly is a magnificent thriller.
April 24, 2016
This movie did not age well. Michael Caine does a good job and Nancy Allen does what she can, but Angie Dickinson was a huge miscast, she was 49 when this movie was shot.
March 20, 2016
Well I hope like Brian DePalma or you really not gonna like this movie. OK, I shouldn't said that but let's be honest, it's Dressed to Kill. It's about the psycho killer killing women with the razor, he cuts their throats and skins and it shocks you to death. If you like that you're gonna love this film if not it's a bit of a bore.
There's are scenes where Angie Dickinson doesn't talk much, it's like me being very quiet, that's always nice and also the soundtrack is absolutely phenomenal. I love the soundtrack. The film does have a shocking ending however I do not have the time to go into that right now, but yeah the film is worth checking out if you're a Brian DePalma fan.
½ January 31, 2016
A stylish and entertaining thriller even if it does seem derivative of Hitchcock and some of the Italian giallos. And yes its depiction of transsexuals and gender identity are fundamentally problematic, its still a disturbing and influential piece of filmmaking.
½ December 15, 2015
Fans of Hitchcock will definitely like this erotic psychological thriller. You seldom see Michael Caine playing characters like that.
November 29, 2015
A Hitchcock hard-on, "Psycho's" wet dream. De Palma lays it on thick here, and it's both ridiculously self-aware and cinematically accomplished.
November 11, 2015
From the opening scene you know you're in for something special. A film that always keeps you on your toes, you won't know what to expect. A somewhat progressive film for it's time.
½ October 30, 2015
This has to be one of my favorite thrillers I've seen this year, and I can't believe I hadn't seen this movie before. It was so suspenseful and unnerving, up till the last second. I really liked this movie, from the style and camera work of De Palma to the story and its performances.
~October 30, 2015~
September 23, 2015
The first thirty minutes or so (until the first attack) are a sublime mix of sexuality and suspense. It's too bad the rest of the movie fails to live up to those thirty minutes.
Page 1 of 28