Ad Astra Reviews

Page 1 of 20
April 29, 2021
A sci-fi masterpiece as thought-provoking as it entertaining.
March 25, 2021
It's worth watching, especially if you enjoy a space film, but it just doesn't quite add up to a perfect cinematic equation.
February 17, 2021
Ad Astra is an extraordinary film that contains a vision for the future that's both appealing and cautionary, as well as a technical wizardry that makes our solar system feel reachable and wondrous at the same time.
February 6, 2021
It certainly has something to say. I just wish it hadn't said it so very loudly.
February 5, 2021
Given the effectiveness of Gray's more genre-y moments ,his insistence on paring his stories down to a kind of quietly masculine anguish feels perverse.
January 31, 2021
Pitt, in a largely non-verbal performance save for copious voiceover, shows his emotions through the cracks, allowing the character to reveal himself in the contemplative but compellingly unsettling way.
January 29, 2021
A powerful meditation on fathers, sons, and masculinity, Ad Astra profoundly deconstructs a traditional character archetype with a deft hand.
December 7, 2020
It's awfully cautious and plodding, regularly amplifying the wonder and the mystery, but letting down with its revelations.
November 16, 2020
The equivalent of a painter completing their masterpiece by punching a fist through it.
November 10, 2020
Pitt's wicked combination of movie star allure and acting talent make you buy into this gripping father-son space drama, which marches to the beat of its own drum.
October 19, 2020
Ad Astra is more a father son story wrapped up in an existential exercise than it is any traditional sic-fi film.
September 23, 2020
A seamless mood piece about loneliness, colonization, and fatherhood and ranks highly among the current onslaught of space movies.
September 16, 2020
This should feel like a thrill ride IN SPACE, not like an actual 3-day trip to the moon where you wish the pulmonary embolisms developing in your legs would kill you.
August 6, 2020
One of the difficulties is that Ad Astra is a space movie with a fundamental lack of interest in what's out there, in the form of intelligent life or otherwise.
July 28, 2020
It seems unusual to me that the narrative of the space odyssey ends with a hopelessly conventional and unsurprising solution. [Full review in Spanish]
July 24, 2020
There may be alien life out there, but sometimes we have to appreciate the life right in front of us.
July 7, 2020
An introspective, philosophical, and moving film, with ideas that shook me and left me breathless. [Full review in Spanish]
July 1, 2020
This is a deep (though not complex) and emotional film that only achieves full force in a darkened room before a large screen.
June 27, 2020
While it won't be everyone's cup of tea, especially paced as it is, Ad Astra is a true work of science fiction art.
June 9, 2020
It's a suspenseful, extraordinarily well-made action film.
Page 1 of 20