Aftershock - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Aftershock Reviews

Page 1 of 15
½ January 13, 2017
An aggressively unwatchable disaster flick with dull characters, a shaky script and an overemphasis on gore.
½ December 16, 2016
I think the best analogous movie to this earthquake disaster film would be "Cloverfield." It's an ants-eye view of a of a major disaster (an earthquake here instead of a giant Godzilla-like monster) following a group of fleeing 30-something partygoers. There's a bit of a backstory to the groups relationships, but once the earthquake hits the film becomes a essentially a survival horror film. Set in Chile, the film does make good use it's location and creates a a scary breakdown of society that doesn't look far off from Purge Day. The main downfall of the film is I found the group of 30-somethings mostly a boorish group who I wasn't really rooting for. It also didn't help that there was not much of a story either, otuside of the group running from and one dangerous situation to the next. Andrea Osvárt did stand out as the "good girl" of the group, but for the most part the film is simply a series of gory horror set pieces of varying interest. I really do think there were possibilities with this film that were missed and it's certainly not a bad film, but I I really with there was a stronger story and better developed (or at least more interesting) of characters. Eli Roth co-wrote, produced and played one of the 20-somethings. Selena Gomez also appears in one scene as a party girl at a club.
November 29, 2016
This film is a giant turd. I understand and like the premise of it, but a horrible script, awful camera work and just some down right ridiculous parts absolutely destroys this movie and makes it just another film for Netflix to add to their pool of awful movies they think we enjoy watching. There is some funny parts which is making me give it a half of a point higher, but like I said earlier. This film is one giant Turd Ferguson
July 31, 2016
I thought this was going to be stupid, and then all hell broke loose. Pretty entertaining.
½ July 20, 2016
It may not live up to the expectation one has for a movie that promises so much on its man-vs-nature/man-vs-man fusion of conflict but it lives up to the promise of rugged suspense, blood splatters, and bleakness most of today's horror movies have in their final act. It's a good diversion. (3.5/5)
February 13, 2016
An ultimately uninteresting film that betrayed its premise.
½ January 9, 2016
I don't recommend this film at all.
January 9, 2016
Gross. Gratuitous violence. No plot. Watched to the end hoping there would be some light at the end of the tunnel! But no!
November 12, 2015
This was actually pretty good. A disaster film done right, with an amazing ending.
November 4, 2015
Your typical Eli Roth movie, parties, half naked chicks, gore and some really bad CGs. It was entertaining... Would I watch it again? Nope.
½ October 8, 2015
another gore from the mind of Roth. Acting wasnt much more special then a made for TV movie. Started abit slow with main characters running around partying. After the earthquake it turns into scene after scene murder mayhem and chaos. Just when you think someone might get away, murderous prisoners rape and burn them alive, something falls on them, a killer reveals himself or a scared citizen shoots them.
Climaxing with one girl who makes it to the beach only to be consumed by a tsunami.
September 20, 2015
Leave it to Eli Roth to turn this simple tale of earthquake survivors into a morbid blood bath of terror and torture porn. I only gave it one star because of the valiant attempt at earthquake effects.
½ August 4, 2015
Very odd film, first half I thought felt like some dodgy romcom! Once the tsunami hit it all got a bit weird! Do they really need to keep showing rape scenes in films? No!
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ July 16, 2015
In "Aftershock," an American(Eli Roth, who also co-wrote) travels through Chile with Ariel(Ariel Levy) and Pollo(Nicolas Martinez). While they show him a good time in night clubs, he bores them silly by taking them to a vineyard. In yet another nightclub, they meet three women also from the United States, Monica(Andrea Osvart), Irina(Natasha Yarovenko) and Kylie(Lorenza Izzo), and invite them along to Valparaiso for even more partying.

What I dislike about horror so much, and maybe even more than the icky parts(which this movie has, so relax), is the fact that filmmakers often use the genre as an excuse to visit all sorts of gross harm onto their characters. And that is no different with "Aftershock" which negates any ambitions of philosophical points it might have otherwise tried to make in favor of an extended sick joke. To make matters worse, the movie also takes relatively forever to get started.
Super Reviewer
July 3, 2015
A nihilistic and cheap-looking exploitation crap that has Roth's repellent fingerprints all over it: mediocre dialogue, a bunch of hateful characters we want to see dead and a huge amount of gratuitous violence and gore for the sake of mindless entertainment. In short, a waste of time.
June 25, 2015
That was actually pretty dope. Great intro to these characters, that helps you invest in them. A lesson a lot of low budget horror needs to learn.
½ June 9, 2015
this is a piece of garbage its just a horrible movie its the worst movie ever i watched in my whole life screw this movie
½ April 21, 2015
the idea of making a film about natural disaster but not when it happens, yet after it strikes is quite new n brilliant, the storyline is cool but seems a bit dragged out, the shiver and gore is not that bad, but couldve been better..
½ March 9, 2015
What happens after earthquake and people are waiting for Tsunami to come.. A nice plot idea but a very bad screenplay so a bad film.
½ February 9, 2015
I like Eli Roth but this was too unappealing for me.
Page 1 of 15