Aftershock - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Aftershock Reviews

Page 1 of 16
March 16, 2018
If I could give it no stars I would. Aftershock should have been called After-shlock. Everything about this horror film? felt wrong on every level. This one gets a big fat F as in this is easily one of the worst movies "horror" or otherwise I have ever F-ing seen. Also, Eli Roth keep your ass behind camera or I will set you on fire (SPOILER: his character is burned alive) for real!
½ March 7, 2018
Absolutely disgusting, depraved, obscene, offensive. don't see this movie for any reason.
If netflix continues to add malignant filth like this then i will quit netflix
½ March 7, 2018
Talk about a bad day.
the protagonists of this idiotic thriller have to face a violent earthquake, a group of criminals and other grotesque scenarios- some are raped, some are burned alive, some are left to die. even the only good guy turns out to be a criminal.
and eventually, a massive tsunami.
what's worse than all of that?
have to watch this movie once again.
½ January 13, 2018
Pretty standard Eli Roth film. More gore than substance.
November 12, 2017
Que película tan mala.
November 10, 2017
Más de lo que esperaba, bien por Nicolás López.
½ July 23, 2017
the ending is just great!
June 18, 2017
I love disaster films, but this movie is horrible. SPOILER: Everyone dies. Yep, you will get attached to protagonists and watch each of them die a horrible death. Imagine a young man crushed beneath a rock, the top half of his body still visible. He has to watch a young woman being raped in front of him and then he is set on fire *while still alive* -- and there are more horrible situations with torture and death. Avoid this movie. Yes, the set up of a post-earthquake and tsunami sounds fabulous, but Nicholas Lopez needs serious therapy (or film school). Bad, bad, bad.
½ January 13, 2017
An aggressively unwatchable disaster flick with dull characters, a shaky script and an overemphasis on gore.
½ December 16, 2016
I think the best analogous movie to this earthquake disaster film would be "Cloverfield." It's an ants-eye view of a of a major disaster (an earthquake here instead of a giant Godzilla-like monster) following a group of fleeing 30-something partygoers. There's a bit of a backstory to the groups relationships, but once the earthquake hits the film becomes a essentially a survival horror film. Set in Chile, the film does make good use it's location and creates a a scary breakdown of society that doesn't look far off from Purge Day. The main downfall of the film is I found the group of 30-somethings mostly a boorish group who I wasn't really rooting for. It also didn't help that there was not much of a story either, otuside of the group running from and one dangerous situation to the next. Andrea Osvárt did stand out as the "good girl" of the group, but for the most part the film is simply a series of gory horror set pieces of varying interest. I really do think there were possibilities with this film that were missed and it's certainly not a bad film, but I I really with there was a stronger story and better developed (or at least more interesting) of characters. Eli Roth co-wrote, produced and played one of the 20-somethings. Selena Gomez also appears in one scene as a party girl at a club.
November 29, 2016
This film is a giant turd. I understand and like the premise of it, but a horrible script, awful camera work and just some down right ridiculous parts absolutely destroys this movie and makes it just another film for Netflix to add to their pool of awful movies they think we enjoy watching. There is some funny parts which is making me give it a half of a point higher, but like I said earlier. This film is one giant Turd Ferguson
July 31, 2016
I thought this was going to be stupid, and then all hell broke loose. Pretty entertaining.
½ July 20, 2016
It may not live up to the expectation one has for a movie that promises so much on its man-vs-nature/man-vs-man fusion of conflict but it lives up to the promise of rugged suspense, blood splatters, and bleakness most of today's horror movies have in their final act. It's a good diversion. (3.5/5)
February 13, 2016
An ultimately uninteresting film that betrayed its premise.
½ January 9, 2016
I don't recommend this film at all.
January 9, 2016
Gross. Gratuitous violence. No plot. Watched to the end hoping there would be some light at the end of the tunnel! But no!
November 12, 2015
This was actually pretty good. A disaster film done right, with an amazing ending.
November 4, 2015
Your typical Eli Roth movie, parties, half naked chicks, gore and some really bad CGs. It was entertaining... Would I watch it again? Nope.
½ October 8, 2015
another gore from the mind of Roth. Acting wasnt much more special then a made for TV movie. Started abit slow with main characters running around partying. After the earthquake it turns into scene after scene murder mayhem and chaos. Just when you think someone might get away, murderous prisoners rape and burn them alive, something falls on them, a killer reveals himself or a scared citizen shoots them.
Climaxing with one girl who makes it to the beach only to be consumed by a tsunami.
September 20, 2015
Leave it to Eli Roth to turn this simple tale of earthquake survivors into a morbid blood bath of terror and torture porn. I only gave it one star because of the valiant attempt at earthquake effects.
Page 1 of 16