Aftershock - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Aftershock Reviews

Page 1 of 15
July 31, 2016
I thought this was going to be stupid, and then all hell broke loose. Pretty entertaining.
½ July 20, 2016
It may not live up to the expectation one has for a movie that promises so much on its man-vs-nature/man-vs-man fusion of conflict but it lives up to the promise of rugged suspense, blood splatters, and bleakness most of today's horror movies have in their final act. It's a good diversion. (3.5/5)
February 13, 2016
An ultimately uninteresting film that betrayed its premise.
½ January 9, 2016
I don't recommend this film at all.
January 9, 2016
Gross. Gratuitous violence. No plot. Watched to the end hoping there would be some light at the end of the tunnel! But no!
November 12, 2015
This was actually pretty good. A disaster film done right, with an amazing ending.
November 4, 2015
Your typical Eli Roth movie, parties, half naked chicks, gore and some really bad CGs. It was entertaining... Would I watch it again? Nope.
½ October 8, 2015
another gore from the mind of Roth. Acting wasnt much more special then a made for TV movie. Started abit slow with main characters running around partying. After the earthquake it turns into scene after scene murder mayhem and chaos. Just when you think someone might get away, murderous prisoners rape and burn them alive, something falls on them, a killer reveals himself or a scared citizen shoots them.
Climaxing with one girl who makes it to the beach only to be consumed by a tsunami.
September 20, 2015
Leave it to Eli Roth to turn this simple tale of earthquake survivors into a morbid blood bath of terror and torture porn. I only gave it one star because of the valiant attempt at earthquake effects.
½ August 4, 2015
Very odd film, first half I thought felt like some dodgy romcom! Once the tsunami hit it all got a bit weird! Do they really need to keep showing rape scenes in films? No!
Super Reviewer
½ July 16, 2015
In "Aftershock," an American(Eli Roth, who also co-wrote) travels through Chile with Ariel(Ariel Levy) and Pollo(Nicolas Martinez). While they show him a good time in night clubs, he bores them silly by taking them to a vineyard. In yet another nightclub, they meet three women also from the United States, Monica(Andrea Osvart), Irina(Natasha Yarovenko) and Kylie(Lorenza Izzo), and invite them along to Valparaiso for even more partying.

What I dislike about horror so much, and maybe even more than the icky parts(which this movie has, so relax), is the fact that filmmakers often use the genre as an excuse to visit all sorts of gross harm onto their characters. And that is no different with "Aftershock" which negates any ambitions of philosophical points it might have otherwise tried to make in favor of an extended sick joke. To make matters worse, the movie also takes relatively forever to get started.
Super Reviewer
July 3, 2015
A nihilistic and cheap-looking exploitation crap that has Roth's repellent fingerprints all over it: mediocre dialogue, a bunch of hateful characters we want to see dead and a huge amount of gratuitous violence and gore for the sake of mindless entertainment. In short, a waste of time.
June 25, 2015
That was actually pretty dope. Great intro to these characters, that helps you invest in them. A lesson a lot of low budget horror needs to learn.
½ June 9, 2015
this is a piece of garbage its just a horrible movie its the worst movie ever i watched in my whole life screw this movie
½ April 21, 2015
the idea of making a film about natural disaster but not when it happens, yet after it strikes is quite new n brilliant, the storyline is cool but seems a bit dragged out, the shiver and gore is not that bad, but couldve been better..
½ March 9, 2015
What happens after earthquake and people are waiting for Tsunami to come.. A nice plot idea but a very bad screenplay so a bad film.
½ February 9, 2015
I like Eli Roth but this was too unappealing for me.
½ November 30, 2014
I'm not entirely sure why people hated this film. Well, that's not true. There's despicable characters, a genre shift, and a plot that won't stop kicking its characters when they're down in increasingly brutal and depraved ways. Much like other films that do these things, it doesn't always sit well with viewers, and Aftershock uses a multitude of tactics to turn off the audience. But, I can't deny that the execution is excellent. I felt my heart racing in some scenes, not because they were scary, but because of how they made me empathize with the helplessness of the characters. It succeeds in transmitting that visceral feel many movies shoot for. Sure, there's a couple of obligatory shit twists, but in the end, it's a good film for what it is. It doesn't aspire to be high art, but it does offer a ridiculous ride that while not enjoyable at all points, does get you invested in the movie.
½ November 17, 2014
Decent gore and decent kills, but other than that, Aftershock is so bad that it's almost funny
October 30, 2014
I felt the aftershocks after watching this horrible film. Try the first 15 minutes and I'm sure you'll start shaking...
Page 1 of 15