Alexander - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Alexander Reviews

Page 1 of 407
½ October 2, 2016
7/10 a good story but fully white cast and runtime let it down
September 17, 2016
'Alexander', not-so-great (too easy?)
September 4, 2016
Favorite Colin Farrell movie! Oliver Stone directs a masterpiece!
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
August 1, 2016
Too long, Goes very slow in the middle, The story was ok but boring but there was a good battle scene at the beginning and near the end but apart from that it's pretty bland and not greatly acted, I'd stick to Troy.
July 6, 2016
Stupid and laughably executed.
Super Reviewer
June 22, 2016
I caught the Final Cut edition of the film for some odd reason. It added even more time to an already long and drawn out theatrical cut. This film is just plain boring. There's really no way around it or no other way to explain it. Check it out only if forced by your parents after they make you Thanksgiving dinner and after you already suggest Die Hard and they turn it down.
½ May 4, 2016
Very close to the worst movie I've ever seen
April 16, 2016
I LOVED IT, NEVERTHELESS...
March 11, 2016
One of the most underrated movie in Hollywood's history making ... !!! (what a shame)
½ January 16, 2016
Why so much hate? Yes there are some flaws in the movie like: how Colin Ferrell has an Irish accent and how the movie isn't 100% accurate on the life of Alexander, but so what? I bought the Final Cut which is probably the best version just because it was more well put together. I liked how it wasn't in chronological order so throughout the movie you were thinking about these plot holes that would later be filled it. If they made the theatrical cut like that and if Colin Ferrell lost the accent than the film would have been more praised. They practically should have just gotten the Final Cut, trimmed it down 30 minutes to an hour, and there you go! Then critics would have praised it more and then viewers would have praised it more and then Oliver Stone would be even more praised. If only, if only.
½ December 29, 2015
Long and slow but interesting
½ December 23, 2015
Uncomfortable, excruciating, and ultimately unworthy of the stature of its main character, Alexander is a disaster of epic proportions. Poorly written, miscast, bloated and really just boring, the film is salvaged by its rendering of battle scenes and costume and set design. Collin Farrell is perhaps a bit too unwieldy in the title role, and the film focuses too much on Alexander's sexual ambiguities and not enough on his statecraft and military genius, appearing more like a bad soap than a historical epic.
½ December 22, 2015
Ridiculous and uncomfortable to watch. Doesn't have the weight that it's subject matter demands, and merely feels lost in its time. Never does it wow and often does it repulse, with nearly every major player being miscast, though Colin Farrell does a competent job in the title role.
½ November 24, 2015
Pathetic in every way.
November 20, 2015
truly dumb movie. jolie has a Russian accent. acting is cheesy. makeup is unbelievable. who's idea was this?
November 12, 2015
I saw the most ridiculously long version and it felt like a third of a season of game of throne- only worse.
October 14, 2015
Thematic exploration delving into the intrinsic connections between passion, obsession, determination, and madness transcend the film's narrative stumbles.
October 12, 2015
Angelina Joile totally looked like a mother figure....very bad job Oliver Stone.
October 8, 2015
A brilliant, fascinating & haunting portrait of the young Macedonian King who conquered 90% of the known world before his death at the age of 32. A fantastic and near flawless script combined with Oliver Stones' expert direction make this one of the very best films of the 21st century so far. A-
½ October 3, 2015
What a piece of shit. 3 and a half hours of shit film. the first battle was tight but then all it had was bumming, a lot of bumming. I called it the greek broke back mountain. bummers bumming all through the film. it was unnecessarily long. really was spread out too thin, i don't mind bumming but not all the time. alexander was brad pitt (shit).
Page 1 of 407