Amour - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Amour Reviews

Page 1 of 11
October 4, 2017
What the film lacks in Haneke's usually impressive formal rigor, it makes up for with truly earned emotional truths.
September 20, 2017
Although Amour deals with unquestionably somber topics, the film is accessible to anyone who has ever coped with a partner or parent's terminal illness.
August 29, 2017
Scene after scene is an exquisite masterclass of astonishing acting.
June 16, 2017
It's hard not to appreciate the film's extraordinary qualities. Jean-Louis Trintignant, Emmanuelle Riva, and Isabelle Huppert deliver performances so convincing and delicately nuanced that we forget they are actors, let alone French movie stars.
June 10, 2016
I can't say you'll enjoy Amour. That would be an inappropriate reaction, in fact. Hollywood has conditioned us to expect swelling violins as characters draw close to death. (Here) there's little drama and nothing in the way of ceremony.
Full Review | Original Score: 5 of 5
April 13, 2016
Beautifully shot, powerfully acted, and skillfully composed, Amour is worth pursuing.
April 8, 2016
Does what it sets out to do, expertly weaving together the monotony of everyday life, the nauseating horror of mortality, and the most esoteric corners of the human mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 12, 2015
It's a chilling, pitiless vision that offers no relief, just a portrait of decline.
April 7, 2015
Michael Haneke's profound new film Amour is far from your standard Hollywood romance. It is also a more nuanced, challenging and thought-provoking experience than that one word might lead you to believe.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 17, 2014
Amour is a brutally difficult viewing experience, but it's in no way a film you'll desire -- or be able -- to forget.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
June 27, 2014
The performances of Riva and Trintignant are revelatory.
May 26, 2014
We wake from the best movies as witnesses; we feel the truth of what we have seen and heard, and though we know it's only a movie - just as we know in lucid dreams that we're actually asleep - we cannot help but feel changed by what we have seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 91/100
August 22, 2013
a profoundly humane and deeply challenging depiction of the emotional and physical ravages of old age
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 22, 2013
Amour is a lesser work from Michael Haneke that features brilliant performances from Jean-Louis Trintignant and Emmanuelle Riva, but is held back by a simplistic narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 20, 2013
Compelling and incredibly heartbreaking...
August 17, 2013
a stunning work from a man more capable of provocation than actual insight.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 4, 2013
Michael Haneke gives us an unflinching look at love in the twilight years, placing a lot on the shoulders of two stars who come through like the veterans they are.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
July 13, 2013
Unnerving in its own way - heartfelt and tender, but with an undercurrent of foreboding.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 17, 2013
This is realism that enlarges our conception of the term.
June 13, 2013
Now at the end of the year comes a masterpiece, not just the best of the year, but one of the best ever: Michael Haneke's Amour.
Page 1 of 11