Baadasssss! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Baadasssss! Reviews

Page 1 of 13
February 25, 2016
Entretenida película de esas que cuentan una historia de la vida real, con personajes muy humanos a los que se pueden amar y odiar al mismo tiempo.
December 12, 2014
Baad*bleep* is a great film that respects what the director's father has done. It has a great story, and really does make you wonder if it was going to be in theaters even though you already know what was the result of it. The acting is great, it's got funny moments although not much, and it really shows the hard work about what his father has been through for making an important film. I didn't really care much for the beginning, but it started to win me over with the middle and end. It kept me interested, and when I thought they got through it, there's another turn that they have to fix which makes it unpredictable. Baad*bleep* had left me entertained, and it's disappointing that it didn't made a lot of money.
August 10, 2014
Very good movie about the struggles of making an all black cast movie with a mixed race film crew backed partially by Bill Cosby. This film led to blaxploitation movies that were prevelant in the 70's. Not quite a documentary, but still was supposed to show some of the behind the scenes of what occurred.
½ March 24, 2014
BAADASSSSS! sounded like An interesting feature on the surface because it is based on the true story of the production of the movie Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song, an industry changing film for the African-American community. And considering that BAADASSSSS! serves as the Citizen Kane to the son of the original film's director, it sounded like a rather compelling piece.

Melvin Van Peebles was the director and star of the film Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song, so to have his son Mario Van Peebles serve as the director and main actor in BAADASSSSS! makes it a touching piece. And as an avid fan of cinema, BAADASSSSS! interests me because I'm always interested to see a film about the history behind the creation of a film, and when it covers an important film from a historical standpoint, it's just icing on the cake. So BAADASSSSS! sounds exactly like my kind of film.
During the counterculture time frame of the late 1960's and most of the 1970's, a lot of films took different approaches to the concept of defying corruption in justice such as Roman Polanski's Chinatown and Dennis Hopper's Easy Rider. One film which isn't as well known except among the African American community is the film Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song which was one of the few films created by and starring African Americans which didn't fall simply into Blaxploitation genre. I didn't realise the importance of it until seeing BAADASSSSS! because that film captured every element of the film's importance and the complicated production of the feature as told with the greatest heart that Mario Van Peebles has as a filmmaker.
BAADASSSSS! has an interesting story to it because as well as analysing the production of a film and just how important it was to its cultural timeframe, and director Mario Van Peebles passionately proves just how important that the film is to him. He is the perfect man for the job as the director of BAADASSSSS! because he has the same filmmaking passion in his loins that Melvin Van Peebles had when he made Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song. And you can see that he puts quite a bit of emphasis on how the film affected his life by revealing the way that his father sort of forced him into the film and demanded he cut his hair against his will. He doesn't make the film a self-indulgent criticism of his father, but revealed some of the characteristics of his father which were troublesome to him and to the surrounding people during the making of Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song. As Mario Van Peebles has a first hand experience with the making of the film and has direct contact with his father who put everything into making the film, Mario Van Peebles has the truth behind the production of the film and without fear, he shows it in BAADASSSSS! Before BAADASSSSS!, I only knew Mario Van Peebles as the bad antagonist from Highlander III: Final Dimension. After seeing BAADASSSSS!, I have an entirely new respect for him as an actor and a filmmaker.
BAADASSSSS! benefits from the best possible direction available to it from Mario Van Peebles, and he keeps it intelligently scripted as well because it captures the natural language from its timeframe as well as a lot of genuine intelligence to it. Frankly its an incredible effort on behalf of him. There is not a more perfect person for the role of director and writer than him, and he proves that because all his knowledge about acting, writing and directing is put into BAADASSSSS!, and the final product is just refreshing. BAADASSSSS! is an example of excellent storytelling, and it shows the endeavour of Mario Van Peebles' many talents.
From a technical perspective, BAADASSSSS! is terrific. It has a lot of artistic cinematography reminiscent of the style of blaxploitation films as well as a lot of camerawork which really depicts the state of mind that Melvin Van Peebles faces as his own personal turmoil comes into conflict with the production of his film. Technically, BAADASSSSS! is brilliant and makes for an intense visual experience from start to finish.
The soundtrack is also really groovy and it captures a lot of the cool tunes that came from the 1970's timeframe that the film is based in.
And on top of all of it, the acting in BAADASSSSS! is thoroughly intelligent, very realistic and captures the timeframe of its setting very well.
Mario Van Peebles' performance as his own father Melvin Van Peebles is the greatest of his career and it is undeniable. Melvin Van Peebles may sound simply like an ambitious filmmaker on the surface, but Mario Van Peebles reveals through an intelligent and excellent performance that he is a lot of things. Melvin Van Peebles is an excellent filmmaker, a man standing for his own rights and the rights of others, and above all a man without fear. And Mario Van Peebles embodies the role of the man, his own father, capturing a sharp and intelligent line delivery with a standover physicality which gives him a convincing strength, the strength to stand up to an unforgiving world and all the adversity that he faces. Frankly, the idea of a man playing his own father is almost too good to be true, and in BAADASSSSS! it is so perfect thanks to the greatest acting performance Mario Van Peebles has ever given.
Rainn Wilson's performance is such an unhinged one. Since I'm used to seeing him as the uptight Dwight Schrute from the US series The Office, it is awesome to see him in the more laid back and open role of Bill Harris because of how in the film he deals with the dramatic plot dynamics in a significantly more realistic and troubled way. Rainn Wilson has such a spaced out persona in BAADASSSSS! without deviating far from his natural and dedicated charisma, and whilst his character is surprising his performance is really not because the man is a great actor. BAADASSSSS! presents a great opportunity to Rainn Wilson, and he takes it by storm without problem.
Joy Bryant's performance manages to prove a lot of what she can do within a very brief screen time, and she faces an interesting role and takes it head on without experiencing any trouble along the way. Joy Bryant is a great addition to the cast of BAADASSSSS!.
David Alan Grier maintains a certain level of confidence and sophistication to him in BAADASSSSS!, and his chemistry with Mario Van Peebles is terrific.
Karimah Westbrook's small role is an effective one as well because it shows off her abilities as an actress as well as her immense sexual appeal.
Ossie Davis and Adam West also give really effective performances which bring in the best of their natural elements as actors and plays it out on the screen one more time. They prove really beneficial to the cast in BAADASSSSS! and deliver their lines with strong charisma.
Lastly, Khleo Thomas' small role as a young Mario Van Peebles was a nice touch because he firmly embodies the man who directed BAADASSSSS! and shares an excellent father-son chemistry with Mario Van Peebles as he plays his own father Melvin Van Peebles.

Quite frankly, BAADASSSSS! is one of the most inspiring films I have ever seen. Not only did it boost my ambitions as a filmmaker, but it provided me a lot of insight into the history of cinema and the incredible talents of Mario Van Peebles, as well as the talents of his own father which he depicted on screen. BAADASSSSS! is an excellently directed and flawlessly acted biopic which features a strong script and incredible dedicated passion from Mario Van Peebles in the best film work of his entire career.
January 28, 2014
A wonderful biopic about a very intriguing story. It was very interesting to learn about this movie and the movie it was portraying the making of.
September 1, 2013
really interesting story that could have been told better. maybe it would work better as a doc
May 18, 2013
Nowhere near as much fun as I wanted it to be. It played out as a pretty straight forward biopic.
April 17, 2013
This is a well-told story about grassroots movements and the history of black cinema.
February 19, 2013
The production value drags through a bit too much of the film, but it's an interesting piece.
February 5, 2013
A good movie about the making of an important one.
½ January 31, 2013
This premiered at a movie theater I worked at in Philadelphia and I had the very stressful job of putting the film together, and then running the projector while it was being screened to a packed theater with Mario and Melvin Van Peebles in attendance. Working as a projectionist can be pretty routine once you get the hang of it, but I don't think I've ever been so stressed as when I had to do this. I was so worried about everything working properly that I wasn't able to watch the film. Almost 10 years later, I finally got a chance to watch it and I thought it was a really enjoyable movie. Couldn't think of a better person to create a tribute film about Melvin Van Peebles than his son, Mario. It's a really interesting look at a landmark independent film.
Critique Threatt
Super Reviewer
½ January 3, 2013
This is a great film, a film I would have definetly want to make about learning how to make and finance an independent picture while risking everything on the line. I see it as almost a dead end tale where people will find ways of stoping one's passion yet still fighting to get the job done. It's a film that touches home with me dead on.

Mario Van Peebles, Melvin's son, directs an honest and revealing portrait of his pioneering father. Mario now tells the story of the making of Melvin Van Peebles' landmark 1971 film, "Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song," including Melvin's struggles to raise money to fund the film under the guise of creating a black porno film.

Melvin had ducked creditors, the unions and had to bail out his camera crew after they were arrested. Despite death threats and temporarily losing sight in one eye, Melvin somehow managed to whip into shape a rag-tag, multi-racial crew and finish the film that would give birth to birth of a new era which was about to explode: Independent Black Cinema.
December 16, 2012
If you ever wanted to know what it would be like to make a film watch this one. All the financing all the scheduling the dedication it takes really speaks very loudly in this picture about Mario Van Peebles fathers struggle to make his now famous Sweet Sweetbacks Badasssss Song. If you didn't understand me a second ago I'll try again. Mario Van Peebles plays his father and Zero from holes plays Mario Van Peebles son when he was a kid.
½ December 12, 2012
Wow. Juste wow. L'habit ne fait pas le moine comme on dit. Cette expression n'avait jamais fait autant de sens que pour Baadasssss! Petit film bâtard indépendant dont on n'a jamais entendu parlé a 3$ au Zellers avec comme titre ''Baadasssss!'' sur un homme noir moustachu avec un chapeau devant des flammes. Sérieusement, je me suis dit: ''Mais quel film ridiculement hilarant ce film va-t-il être?!'' A ce prix-la, je n'ai pas pu résisté! Finalement, c'est un genre de drame vraiment captivant et intéressant sur de nombreux aspects qui raconte la réalité noire dans les ghettos et les obstacles que peut rencontrer un réalisateur qui n'est qu'a son premier film.
cosmo313
Super Reviewer
December 11, 2012
Might as well, given the subject matter
December 7, 2012
Not interested in seeing...
October 19, 2012
Would have made a good documentary but as it stands, its a B-movie about a B-movie.
½ July 31, 2012
A little too pedestrian but an interesting look into the making of a classic.
½ June 19, 2012
A really cool movie about the making of a movie. Mario Van Peebles honors his pops in this homage the making of Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song. They sure as shit don't make movies like that anymore. Mario's movie is great and I'm sure it made his dad proud. Stick through the credits because there is some great commentary from the actual people involved the film from the early 1970's.
Page 1 of 13