Blade Runner - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Blade Runner Reviews

Page 1 of 1278
June 16, 2018
A masterpiece fortunate enough to have seen this in a theatre wow
½ June 11, 2018
Harrison Ford's better work. Fantastic sci-fi conception.
June 6, 2018
Blade Runner is a 1982 American-Hong Kong neo-noir science fiction film directed by Ridley Scott.
There are numerous versions of this 1982 American neo-noir science fiction film - I watched The Director's Cut which was released in 1992.
This film really had me intrigued from the opening scenes, with its use of interesting camera angles and production design. The special effects are amazing for its time. There are some very memorable scenes, imagery, and symbolism, and the film contains a number of different themes. Blade Runner centers around an impressive performance from Harrison Ford, who is ably supported by the rest of the cast.
Considered to be one of the best movies of all time and one of the top Science Fiction movies of all time.
1001
May 29, 2018
Woof - filmmaking at its best...
May 15, 2018
Doesn't hold up. Script is trite, it clearly shows they tried to have the characters briefly explain additional information found in the source material. Acting is bad, including Harrison Ford's. The only redeemable factor is its sci-fi theme ahead of its time.
May 2, 2018
This is a review of the final cut. Through stunning visual, a marvellous score and brilliant directing, Blade Runner set a new standard for cyberpunk and sci-fi. Blade Runner is not my favourite cyberpunk movie, but I do think it is the most important one.
April 25, 2018
Dysutopian cyberpunk AI world we're potentially heading to... classic
½ April 21, 2018
I know there is a cult following to this movie, and because of that I tried really hard to understand and appreciate the film. Before I get into why I gave this such as low rating, let me get into the positives. The music is great and the environments are awe inspiring. Every scene in this movie is so original, so unique, so interesting, and so special. The world of this movie feels real without even explaining it. You feel like you understand it based on background information alone. The actors and actresses (Harrison Ford and Rutger Hauer in particular) are convincing and interesting. Now, let us get into the negatives. The story is not told directly to the audience, we have to piece it together for the most part. It isn't too hard to do, but when first watching this film and haven't had it spoiled (such as I) it can be a bit jarring as it sometimes feels like you missed something important, some major dialogue or plot point, which would help the film make sense but in reality you didn't. The film just doesn't have that kind of storytelling. Next is the romance, it is boring, awkward, and a bit unsettling. They don't have chemistry. There is a specific scene in mind in which Sean Young's character tries to escape Harrison Ford's character's apartment and is forced to stay which felt very creepy and awkward. Another issue for me is the final act, specifically the final action scenes. The main villain of the movie does this weird thing in which he start howling like a wolf or dog. And I get it, it is supposed to represent how the villainous characters have different animals representing them, but that doesn't mean he had to literally become a wolf it was just weird and out of place. The whole film felt like a jumbled mess that looks like I should enjoy it and realize it's "artistic" and "unconventional" storytelling but I just don't. Another thing I have seen is that many people say you need to see the movie 3 or 4 times before you can fully understand and appreciate it. I think that marks a bad movie, at least for me. I shouldn't need to watch it 4 times just to enjoy or understand it. Any movie which I should watch multiple times to appreciate is one which I need to at least enjoy the first time around and understand the basics clearly. That is not this movie. With all that said, I'm sorry internet, I did not like this cult classic and do not understand it's "artsy" direction, I can't help it. P.S. I watched the Final Cut.
½ April 19, 2018
not an enjoyable watch at all. harrison ford is uncharismatic while visual director ridley scott fails to deliver a cleverly-structured sci-fi movie. a few great moments but they are overshadowed by its flaws and terrible acting (rutger hauer aside). superb concept but almost unbearable film.
½ April 17, 2018
A classic. Films are rarely conceived with this much detail and sophistication even today.
April 14, 2018
The small (spoken and visual) details in Blade Runner make it a very rich and layered sci-fi experience. More important than the insider's question: "is he, or isn't he?" Is the contemplation of the dramatic, underlying, theme of what exactly makes a human being.
April 13, 2018
A well thought out plot with philosophical questions.
April 7, 2018
Brilliant. It stays with you
April 5, 2018
I'll review this here and on the Final Cut page because really this is what I'm reviewing. I've spent 20 years saying this film was a boring mess and then after a recent conversation with a friend he urged me to seek out either the Director's or the Final cut versions. What a difference, unbelievable, with the silly voiceover and the cheesy happy ending stripped away the real brilliance of this film is revealed. You have to work far harder as the viewer but that's what makes the film so interesting. Is Deckard a replicant? Who knows, my friend thought it was much more strongly hinted that he is but I still thought it was perfectly ambiguous. That sound you here is me simultaneously eating my hat and a big dose of humble pie. This is a classic and a genuinely brilliant film.
½ March 31, 2018
No idea why people seem to worship this movie so much. I sat through the entire 1 hour and 57 minutes of it one night (although it felt much longer), and got absolutely nothing out of it. I get that it's supposed to be slower and more existential, but it mostly just came off as a miserably, hopelessly slow and boring movie with an utter lack of any interesting characters or plot.
March 31, 2018
Desde a sua estreia nos cinemas em 1982, Blade Runner estimulou as mentes de miúdos e graúdos com o seu cenário futurista e ambiente inspirado no género film-noir. A versão definitiva chegou em 2007, com pequenas mas importantes alterações, onde o diretor Ridley Scott apimentou o enredo de modo a tornar a experiência mais provocadora, imersa nas suas próprias questões. Baseado no livro de Philip K. Dick's de 1968: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, o filme adquiriu ao longo do tempo um estatuto de objeto de estudo para todo e qualquer filme de ficção científica, sendo o filme que mais influenciou o género desde o histórico Metropolis (1927).

Los Angeles, 2019. Num futuro que agora não parece assim tão distante, um detetive chamado Deckard (Harrison Ford) é chamado ao serviço para caçar andróides - que neste filme denominam-se replicas - que escaparam das suas prisões numa colónia espacial, com o propósito de se misturarem com os terrestres e encontrarem o seu criador. Uma premissa simples para um filme tão rico em termos temáticos e filosóficos, que conferiu intimidade a uma história onde a população está praticamente desprovida de ligações sociais.

É um dos primeiros filmes de ficção científica a suceder na criação de um mundo particular, cuja vivacidade é inquestionável e a sua execução perfecionista. O que de imediato salta à vista em Blade Runner é a minuciosa atenção a todo o detalhe que é apresentado na imagem. O próprio Ridley Scott disse numa entrevista ao New York Times que nunca prestou tanta atenção a um filme, porque os filmes que nos prendem a atenção e que tendemos a revisitar, são aqueles cujo mundo criado é de tal forma credível, que somos automaticamente transportados para dentro dele.

O mundo de Blade Runner é distópico, perpetuamente escuro e ensupado, onde os ricos vivem imensamente acima dos pobres nos seus prédios terrificamente altos que impediriam a passagem dos raios solares, se a poluição e a quase constante chuva não o estivessem já a bloquear. Apresenta uma paisagem urbana com exagerados cartazes luminosos no cimo dos prédios que incitam uma sociedade baseado no consumismo, enquanto que os níveis inferiores são um testamento de degradação, imundice e crime.

Uma produção de luxo que exige um ecrã à medida e uma tecnologia de som capaz de fazer jus à sublime composição musical de Vangelis, que se funde com o design de som e com o diálogo do filme. Não é tão amelódico como a composição de Forbidden Planet (1956) nem tão sinfónico como sentimos em, por exemplo, Star Wars (1977). Cada som é propositadamente integrado para garantir uma experiência sonora completa, que não só complementa a imagem como todo o ambiente envolvente.

A acompanhar a produção temos atuações que são uniformes na sua qualidade, com especial destaque para Harrison Ford, que interpreta brilhantemente esta personagem-tipo noir, confiante, e com um olhar dúbio na sua expressão constantemente séria. É o melhor no seu trabalho e interliga bem as pistas que encontra, mas, em última instância ,está onde o enredo pede para ele estar, sendo assim um protagonista parte passivo, parte ativo. Também Rachel (Sean Young) tem uma importante participação no argumento elaborado por Hampton Fancher e David Peoples, aprofundando a questão central do filme (uma velhinha interrogação da ficção científica), que é: O que é que significa ser humano?

Ridley Scott é um diretor que não faz planos pela metade. A sua filmografia está repleta de grandes êxitos como o claustrofóbico Alien (1979), o épico Gladiator (2000) e o excelente Kingdom of Heaven (2005). Mas também tem a sua quota de filmes medianos, como o conto de fadas Legend (1985) ou o thriller Someone to Watch Over Me (1987). Blade Runner pertence à sua alta hierarquia de filmes que foram realizados com uma mestria e ambição tal, que hoje em dia lhes chamamos, apropriadamente, clássicos. Um filme que se debruça sobre o superficial e artificial, pensamentos e sentimentos pré-elaborados, mas que acaba, ironicamente, com o mais nobre gesto humano, fazendo-nos questionar e debater a matéria em questão, que nunca foi tão relevante como nos dias de hoje.

9,3/10
½ March 30, 2018
Ridley Scott's magnum opus was released unfortunately to a poor box office performance due to 1982 being one of the most successful years in sci-fi with films like E.T, Tron, The Dark Crystal, Star Trek II, and Poltergeist cramming the box office and mostly poor reviews from critics that didn't understand the philosophy behind the film, which resulted in it being pulled early.

Thanks to numourous rereleases restoring the director's vision and it's influence in creating the cyberpunk sub-genre with it's groundbreaking production design depecting the futuristic Los Angeles being used as a reference in the design of the worlds of The Matrix, Ghost in the Shell and the city of Courasant in the Star Wars Prequels, Blade Runner, despite have numourous pacing issues in the first act, is a thought provoking and visually beautiful film no matter which version you watch.
½ March 26, 2018
I'm generally not at all fond of Ridley Scott. He's an undeniably talented craftsman who creates at minimum incredibly good looking films, and when he's at the top of his game, he creates incredible film worlds. My problem with him is that I don't think he cares at all about the people who inhabit those worlds or the stories he is trying to tell. His characters are not only not well developed, he has a tendency to compromise characters and narratives in favour of more razzle dazzle. (The main exception to this is "Alien" which features both an incredible world, great characters and a wonderfully spare narrative, but I think the influence of Walter Hill is why Scott's usual weaknesses don't manifest.) The odd thing about "Blade Runner" is that every last thing I have said about Scott is true of this film, yet I still love it. There's something at the heart of this film that manages to transcend the damage that Scott does to the characters and the narrative ... and he does damage it. Even without his idiotic "Deckard is a Replicant" insert that clearly demonstrates that he doesn't understand the themes of his own film, he makes you fight to understand the motivations of his characters.
March 25, 2018
Its probably my favorite movie.
½ March 24, 2018
Soaked in dystopian rain-slashed imagery, Blade Runner may occasionally jettison narrative drive in favour of a dreamy atmosphere, but otherwise succeeds magnificently as a timeless example of mind-bending science fiction.
Page 1 of 1278