Blade Runner - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Blade Runner Reviews

Page 1 of 1278
½ April 19, 2018
not an enjoyable watch at all. harrison ford is uncharismatic while visual director ridley scott fails to deliver a cleverly-structured sci-fi movie. a few great moments but they are overshadowed by its flaws and terrible acting (rutger hauer aside). superb concept but almost unbearable film.
½ April 17, 2018
A classic. Films are rarely conceived with this much detail and sophistication even today.
April 14, 2018
The small (spoken and visual) details in Blade Runner make it a very rich and layered sci-fi experience. More important than the insider's question: "is he, or isn't he?" Is the contemplation of the dramatic, underlying, theme of what exactly makes a human being.
April 13, 2018
A well thought out plot with philosophical questions.
April 7, 2018
Brilliant. It stays with you
April 5, 2018
I'll review this here and on the Final Cut page because really this is what I'm reviewing. I've spent 20 years saying this film was a boring mess and then after a recent conversation with a friend he urged me to seek out either the Director's or the Final cut versions. What a difference, unbelievable, with the silly voiceover and the cheesy happy ending stripped away the real brilliance of this film is revealed. You have to work far harder as the viewer but that's what makes the film so interesting. Is Deckard a replicant? Who knows, my friend thought it was much more strongly hinted that he is but I still thought it was perfectly ambiguous. That sound you here is me simultaneously eating my hat and a big dose of humble pie. This is a classic and a genuinely brilliant film.
½ March 31, 2018
No idea why people seem to worship this movie so much. I sat through the entire 1 hour and 57 minutes of it one night (although it felt much longer), and got absolutely nothing out of it. I get that it's supposed to be slower and more existential, but it mostly just came off as a miserably, hopelessly slow and boring movie with an utter lack of any interesting characters or plot.
March 31, 2018
Desde a sua estreia nos cinemas em 1982, Blade Runner estimulou as mentes de miúdos e graúdos com o seu cenário futurista e ambiente inspirado no género film-noir. A versão definitiva chegou em 2007, com pequenas mas importantes alterações, onde o diretor Ridley Scott apimentou o enredo de modo a tornar a experiência mais provocadora, imersa nas suas próprias questões. Baseado no livro de Philip K. Dick's de 1968: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, o filme adquiriu ao longo do tempo um estatuto de objeto de estudo para todo e qualquer filme de ficção científica, sendo o filme que mais influenciou o género desde o histórico Metropolis (1927).

Los Angeles, 2019. Num futuro que agora não parece assim tão distante, um detetive chamado Deckard (Harrison Ford) é chamado ao serviço para caçar andróides - que neste filme denominam-se replicas - que escaparam das suas prisões numa colónia espacial, com o propósito de se misturarem com os terrestres e encontrarem o seu criador. Uma premissa simples para um filme tão rico em termos temáticos e filosóficos, que conferiu intimidade a uma história onde a população está praticamente desprovida de ligações sociais.

É um dos primeiros filmes de ficção científica a suceder na criação de um mundo particular, cuja vivacidade é inquestionável e a sua execução perfecionista. O que de imediato salta à vista em Blade Runner é a minuciosa atenção a todo o detalhe que é apresentado na imagem. O próprio Ridley Scott disse numa entrevista ao New York Times que nunca prestou tanta atenção a um filme, porque os filmes que nos prendem a atenção e que tendemos a revisitar, são aqueles cujo mundo criado é de tal forma credível, que somos automaticamente transportados para dentro dele.

O mundo de Blade Runner é distópico, perpetuamente escuro e ensupado, onde os ricos vivem imensamente acima dos pobres nos seus prédios terrificamente altos que impediriam a passagem dos raios solares, se a poluição e a quase constante chuva não o estivessem já a bloquear. Apresenta uma paisagem urbana com exagerados cartazes luminosos no cimo dos prédios que incitam uma sociedade baseado no consumismo, enquanto que os níveis inferiores são um testamento de degradação, imundice e crime.

Uma produção de luxo que exige um ecrã à medida e uma tecnologia de som capaz de fazer jus à sublime composição musical de Vangelis, que se funde com o design de som e com o diálogo do filme. Não é tão amelódico como a composição de Forbidden Planet (1956) nem tão sinfónico como sentimos em, por exemplo, Star Wars (1977). Cada som é propositadamente integrado para garantir uma experiência sonora completa, que não só complementa a imagem como todo o ambiente envolvente.

A acompanhar a produção temos atuações que são uniformes na sua qualidade, com especial destaque para Harrison Ford, que interpreta brilhantemente esta personagem-tipo noir, confiante, e com um olhar dúbio na sua expressão constantemente séria. É o melhor no seu trabalho e interliga bem as pistas que encontra, mas, em última instância ,está onde o enredo pede para ele estar, sendo assim um protagonista parte passivo, parte ativo. Também Rachel (Sean Young) tem uma importante participação no argumento elaborado por Hampton Fancher e David Peoples, aprofundando a questão central do filme (uma velhinha interrogação da ficção científica), que é: O que é que significa ser humano?

Ridley Scott é um diretor que não faz planos pela metade. A sua filmografia está repleta de grandes êxitos como o claustrofóbico Alien (1979), o épico Gladiator (2000) e o excelente Kingdom of Heaven (2005). Mas também tem a sua quota de filmes medianos, como o conto de fadas Legend (1985) ou o thriller Someone to Watch Over Me (1987). Blade Runner pertence à sua alta hierarquia de filmes que foram realizados com uma mestria e ambição tal, que hoje em dia lhes chamamos, apropriadamente, clássicos. Um filme que se debruça sobre o superficial e artificial, pensamentos e sentimentos pré-elaborados, mas que acaba, ironicamente, com o mais nobre gesto humano, fazendo-nos questionar e debater a matéria em questão, que nunca foi tão relevante como nos dias de hoje.

9,3/10
½ March 30, 2018
Ridley Scott's magnum opus was released unfortunately to a poor box office performance due to 1982 being one of the most successful years in sci-fi with films like E.T, Tron, The Dark Crystal, Star Trek II, and Poltergeist cramming the box office and mostly poor reviews from critics that didn't understand the philosophy behind the film, which resulted in it being pulled early.

Thanks to numourous rereleases restoring the director's vision and it's influence in creating the cyberpunk sub-genre with it's groundbreaking production design depecting the futuristic Los Angeles being used as a reference in the design of the worlds of The Matrix, Ghost in the Shell and the city of Courasant in the Star Wars Prequels, Blade Runner, despite have numourous pacing issues in the first act, is a thought provoking and visually beautiful film no matter which version you watch.
½ March 26, 2018
I'm generally not at all fond of Ridley Scott. He's an undeniably talented craftsman who creates at minimum incredibly good looking films, and when he's at the top of his game, he creates incredible film worlds. My problem with him is that I don't think he cares at all about the people who inhabit those worlds or the stories he is trying to tell. His characters are not only not well developed, he has a tendency to compromise characters and narratives in favour of more razzle dazzle. (The main exception to this is "Alien" which features both an incredible world, great characters and a wonderfully spare narrative, but I think the influence of Walter Hill is why Scott's usual weaknesses don't manifest.) The odd thing about "Blade Runner" is that every last thing I have said about Scott is true of this film, yet I still love it. There's something at the heart of this film that manages to transcend the damage that Scott does to the characters and the narrative ... and he does damage it. Even without his idiotic "Deckard is a Replicant" insert that clearly demonstrates that he doesn't understand the themes of his own film, he makes you fight to understand the motivations of his characters.
March 25, 2018
Its probably my favorite movie.
½ March 24, 2018
Soaked in dystopian rain-slashed imagery, Blade Runner may occasionally jettison narrative drive in favour of a dreamy atmosphere, but otherwise succeeds magnificently as a timeless example of mind-bending science fiction.
March 21, 2018
A little weird at first but it really grew good at the end. It ended weird just not what u would suspect
½ March 19, 2018
Confusing tech noir requires multiple viewings, and is now a slow paced boring film.
March 17, 2018
Blade Runner is a visually remarkable film directed by Ridley Scott. It has amazing special affects and backgrounds and is one of the most influential sci-fi movies in history! Performances by Harrison Ford and the whole cast are good and the film is very mysterious throughout. Parts of Blade Runner are confusing as you watch and could be hard to follow but overall, the story and mastery of a futuristic setting brushes aside most complaints.
½ March 17, 2018
Ridiculously inventive with gorgeous, creative set designs and a wonderfully written, deep story that brings its complex characters to life, 'Blade Runner' is a film that requires the audience to actually put some real effort into thinking about what's going on and the meaning behind it all. Ridley Scott's direction is absolutely spot-on, creating some wonderfully evocative shots and scenes that stay with you -- it really is built on his superb vision. Great performances (although it's shame about the lack of chemistry between Ford and Young considering the importance of it), cinematography and use of music rounds things off making this one of the all-time greats when it comes to sci-fi films. A masterpiece of art, but one that may not appeal to everyone.
March 15, 2018
This movie didn't age well. It's overall boring but has some really great scenes and atmosphere.
March 8, 2018
Ótimo filme com o futuro sombrio que viria a influenciar muitos outros filmes nos anos seguintes. A história é um tanto confusa no início e o ambiente eternamente úmido cansa um pouco pelo filme ser longo.
½ March 8, 2018
I didn't get what all the fuss was about. Storyline was basic and slow. Was totally bored. I must be missing something.
March 7, 2018
Movie Double - 'Blade Runner' (Released: 1982) and 'Blade Runner 2049' (Released: 2017)

One of the best Part 1 and Part 2 combinations I have watched. Though both were released 35 years apart, and directed by different people, the sequel stayed true to the original in both style and substance. The visuals are stunning and beautiful, especially in the sequel. Like in most fantasy sci-fi dystopian movies, though the story is not the main feature, it was good, and the plot endings were not exactly predictable. If you have watched neither movie, I recommend you watch them back-to-back like I did.
Page 1 of 1278