Body Double - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Body Double Reviews

Page 1 of 23
Super Reviewer
½ November 24, 2016
Brian De Palma seems to be enjoying quite a lot to poke fun at the artificiality of cinema with this delicious pastiche that pays homage to Hitchcock's films (mainly Vertigo and Rear Window) and plays with the limits of narrative and language as he injects his own style into it.
½ November 10, 2016
De Palma at his most Hitchcock. A couple spots are a little overdramatic, but otherwise it's another one of his classics. Love the layers.
½ October 14, 2016
While I wouldn't call this top tier De Palma, I think it's definitely better than it's relatively poor reputation would suggest. It seems to have a reputation as an overly sleazy Hitchcock rip-off that pales in comparison to it's sources of inspiration ("Rear Window" and to some extent "Vertigo") because it substitutes exploitation for suspense. Well ... yes and no. It is somewhat inferior to the Hitchcock flicks (hardly a huge criticism since those are among his best films), but it's not really the fact that De Palma transforms Hitchcock's subtext into text that makes it inferior. If anything, it's less careful plotting and a weak lead that mark the film as inferior De Palma, not the supposedly rampant sleaze. It's actually a fairly tasteful film given its subject matter. It has at least two amazingly constructed suspense sequences that make this worth a watch for anyone that admire De Palma.
August 17, 2016
A fun campy musical cameo by Frankie Goes To Hollywood makes this one of the best films with an 80's New Wave edge to it.
July 24, 2016
DePalma has an incredible knack for overcoming the most implausible plotlines & deus ex machinas to make compulsively viewable films crackling with style and arresting atmospherics.
½ July 20, 2016
What was he thinking? Don't watch this one!
Super Reviewer
July 15, 2016
Queazy, cheesy and sleazy exploitation thriller from DePalma, a ripoff of Rear Window and Vertigo with a touch of A Perfect Murder. It's not "good" but it's fun.
June 23, 2016
"Hello, Gloria. How are you? Maybe you remember me: this is Jake. I'm the guy who almost fucked you at the beach today."
January 28, 2016
Melanie Griffith. For those who don't know, she's Dakota Johnson's mother.
I saw this as a very-young adult. The way DePalma shot this film has stuck with me.
½ November 11, 2015
A struggling actor is thrust into murder intrigue while spying on a neighbour through a telescope. The whole murder plot assumes a lot but who cares; most times I enjoy when DePalma ventures into Hitchcock territory. Some great camera angles employed.
½ September 21, 2015
A well-crafted, sleazy love letter to Hitchcock (most obviously Rear Window and Vertigo). Too bad it takes a page from the worst part of Psycho and buries its reveal in exposition. Harrowing sequences, enchanting virtuoso camerawork, and hypnotic score keep that from detracting too much.
August 15, 2015
Un homenaje directo a Vértigo y La Ventana Indiscreta de Hitchcock pero con un toque muy al estilo de Brian de Palma. Uno de sus filmes menos conocidos, aún así no deja de ser un material bien cuidado, puntual en la forma que narra la historia, utilizando un lenguaje erótico directo en algunas ocasiones , en otra más sutil ( sobre todo en cuestión de las perversiones ) . Un sexy thirller con toques humorísticos e incluso surrealistas que podrían no ser del gusto de todos pero aún así es un logro más dentro dela filmografía del director, que como es costumbre en él, la polémica podría estar justo cuando aparecen los créditos de cierre de la película. Vale la pena descubrirla.
July 28, 2015
For a while I wasn't completely enjoying this, I liked it but wasn't that into it and kinda thought it was just a Rear Window rip off. But man was I wrong, this really started to get great around the last 40 min. Overall I would call it really good but I might consider the whole movie great if I watch it again, rather than just the last 40ish minutes.
June 16, 2015
The man is such a fool I didn't enjoy the film.
February 17, 2015
A really bizarre thriller; DePalma proves yet again that he's a master of his craft.
½ February 6, 2015
After the success of Scarface (1983), Brian De Palma's next film would see him back doing another full-blown homage to his hero Alfred Hitchcock. While his previous films like Obsession (1976), Dressed to Kill (1980) and Blow Out (1981) had knowing nods and winks to Hitchcock's style of directing, this was his most explicit and personal tribute to date. While the story is a bit ropey, the way it's made is brilliant. Jobbing actor Jake Scully (Craig Wasson) lost a role as a vampire in a corny horror film due to suffering from claustrophobia, and he's homeless as his girlfriend has been cheating on him. He meets actor Sam Bouchard (Gregg Henry), who feels sorry for him, and the two strike up a friendship. Sam asks Jake to watch a house in the Hollywood hills for a friend who's out of town. Jake agrees, and while there, he finds himself spying on a neighbour Gloria Revelle (Deborah Shelton) through a telescope. However, he witnesses Gloria getting killed by a disfigured Indian, and is under suspicion. Jake goes undercover with porn actress Holly Body (Melanie Griffith) to catch the killer. It's a very silly film, mixing together the best bits of Rear Window (1954) and Vertigo (1957) to make the ultimate tale of obsession and voyeurism. However, De Palma has fun with the set up's and the suspense, and there are some good set pieces, like the rendition of Frankie Goes to Hollywood's "Relax on the set of a porn film.
January 20, 2015
Mixtura de generos , el cine habla sobre el cine , mucho suspense hitchcokniano , un gran trabajo de Depalma
January 10, 2015
This represents everything wrong with Hollywood. Women's acting constitutes ridiculous poses, preening and arching for the male gaze. The "femme fatale" tries on underwear multiple times and is kiss-raped by the "protagonist" stalker-voyeur. Lest that be the end of it, hooker porn star Melanie Griffith arrives to remind us that women are good for showing their tits, grabbing crotches and reaching orgasm. The idea that this was ever "serious" is insane and should only be viewed as Midnight Movie fare.
Page 1 of 23