Call Me by Your Name - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Call Me by Your Name Reviews

Page 1 of 15
October 8, 2018
It's hard for me to talk about this film without just hurling adjectives at the page; it's tender, beautiful, sexy, hilarious and deeply moving - a romance story for the ages, directed and acted with a passionate sincerity.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 31, 2018
Call Me By Your Name is a staggeringly beautiful film that brings together a fully fleshed out artistic vision ... as well as a host of brilliant performances from its cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 28, 2018
It's a languid Italian summer circa 1983 and everything is just so ripe.
Full Review | Original Score: 4
August 28, 2018
Where so many Hollywood "gay" stories end on positive notes of rebirth and optimism, Guadagnino helms a love story unafraid to highlight the suffering one always contains.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
August 27, 2018
Call Me By Your Name survives because of poignant screenwriting, keen directing, and tender acting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 26, 2018
Right when I begin to feel fatigued by "coming of age" movies, this comes out and blows me away.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 24, 2018
Call Me By Your Name doesn't insist on your attention for much of its two-hour running length; it lets you fall in and out, its scenes glazed with a nostalgia that almost encourages personal reminisces.
August 24, 2018
Call Me By Your Name is a romantic masterpiece and, quite possibly, my favourite film of the year.
August 24, 2018
In one singular space, you feel insecure, confident, charismatic, inferior and completely clueless, as if it were a revolving door never allowing you to stop and walk through, towards something bigger, maybe even something grown up.
August 24, 2018
A compelling, confusing, beautiful film peopled with unforgettable, believable characters, not necessarily a crowd pleaser, but an intense, highly individual vision that might open your eyes to what the definition of "summer romance" can mean.
August 22, 2018
By opting against a graphic depiction of the characters' carnal consummation, it causes that spark of first love Elio is coming to terms with to linger more pervasively. That warmth exuding from the screen is "Call Me by Your Name's" gift to you.
August 21, 2018
I find it strangely hypocritical that Hollywood is so willing to celebrate the behavior on film that it so vehemently condemns in real life... Call Me By Your Name is creepy, not cool.
August 21, 2018
It works well as a coming of age story and examination of how people communicate when they are unsure of the other's feelings.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 20, 2018
Chalamet's performance ascends into the pantheon of greats, a mixture of Marlon Brando's brimming panic and Heath Ledger's simmering vulnerability.
August 14, 2018
Call Me by Your Name is a stronger film than the director's last film, A Bigger Splash, and employs touches of pure emotion that will tug at your heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 7, 2018
There is much to relish in this passionate, visually rich romance...that particularly excels in its refreshing take on the permissiveness that's possible through liberalism guided by knowledge and experience.
August 7, 2018
The era of LGBT cinema has reached a zenith with this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 5, 2018
In a technical sense, Guadagnino understands how to transition between these moments, allowing the film to breathe effortlessly into the next as scenes are woven together with cross dissolves and fades rather than harsh cuts.
July 1, 2018
Surprisingly, given how hyper-articulate everyone is, the duo's most potent scenes are wordless, conveying a wealth of emotion in glances and gestures.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 12, 2018
It is the transmission of halcyon and the ensuing tragedy of its evaporation that Guadagnino nails in his adaptation.
Page 1 of 15