Call Me by Your Name - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Call Me by Your Name Reviews

Page 1 of 14
February 24, 2018
Call Me by Your Name sees Italian filmmaker Luca Guadagnino do his home country proud with an absolutely gorgeous depiction of the northern Italian countryside.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 23, 2018
Call Me By Your Name does more harm than good, and needed to be and do more. Especially as yet another queer white cisgender-centric film, it should have aimed for the stars instead of aiming to make people feel comfortable.
February 22, 2018
... [director Luca Guadagnino] seems to give body and soul to Call Me by Your Name. [Full review in Spanish]
February 22, 2018
The layered, lovely script is rich with an understanding of life and loss that comes only with age.
February 21, 2018
I appreciated the film quality and the acting but the story meandered in superficial courtship for too long without delivering actual connection. It was all foreplay and no action. Perhaps the sequel will make this film more appealing to me in the future.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 21, 2018
Destined, almost certainly, to become a queer film classic. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 20, 2018
...many of the best moments illustrate the experiences of [Timothy Chlamaet] in the solitary privacy of his room. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
February 18, 2018
A sweet and loving film where the characters are less mindful of an outside response and more consumed by the amorous temptations they possess.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 15, 2018
Anyone who has experienced the flush of first love will relate, but the fact that the film is specific and detailed both emotionally and physically in its portrayal of a gay relationship makes it a standout.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 14, 2018
The drama is filled with raw emotions and evinces an incredible honesty in terms of storytelling. The filmmaking style reflects, even more, the vivid three-dimensionality of the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
February 13, 2018
It is not only lovely to look at (the exquisite northern Italian countryside made me want to hop on a plane that moment), but is made even better by the subtle performance of Timothée Chalamet.
February 12, 2018
It is a brilliant, moving and charming film that delves into self-discovery and is perfect for this century. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
February 12, 2018
This is a beautiful film -- one that is startlingly real. It feels so blisteringly sensual and in the moment, that it's almost impossible to ignore.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
February 8, 2018
There's no way to convey why I dislike the film so much without giving out major spoilers later in this review, so be warned if you're really dying to see this 132-minute, morally bankrupt snoozefest.
Full Review | Original Score: F
February 8, 2018
This Best Picture nominee is a beautifully filmed coming-of-age and coming-out story.
Full Review | Original Score: A
February 2, 2018
The result is enveloping and moving. [Full review in Spanish]
February 2, 2018
...it breathes and evokes the essence of a landscape that throughout the centuries has been sometimes Italian and sometimes Gallic, but always Mediterranean to the marrow: a fertile ground for love or desire. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 1, 2018
"Call Me By Your Name" can be considered an idealistic film, but that's only natural for something about young people experiencing something wonderful for the first time.
January 31, 2018
Some of the scenery in the film, including a waterfall, is spectacular. The location shots are sumptuous. The acting is subtle and moving. This film has a lot going for it, but it is also very low-key, relatively non-dramatic and slow-moving.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 30, 2018
It's an extraordinary thing for a narrative film to successfully observe its characters like they aren't of its own creation - to make them utterly alive in front of us.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 14