Call Me by Your Name - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Call Me by Your Name Reviews

Page 1 of 15
August 7, 2018
There is much to relish in this passionate, visually rich romance...that particularly excels in its refreshing take on the permissiveness that's possible through liberalism guided by knowledge and experience.
August 7, 2018
The era of LGBT cinema has reached a zenith with this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 1, 2018
Surprisingly, given how hyper-articulate everyone is, the duo's most potent scenes are wordless, conveying a wealth of emotion in glances and gestures.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 12, 2018
It is the transmission of halcyon and the ensuing tragedy of its evaporation that Guadagnino nails in his adaptation.
March 9, 2018
The chemistry between the leading men grows organically and it chronologically makes sense for the viewer. These characters take time to feel comfortable with each other and the film takes its time documenting it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 8, 2018
The characters' beauty and intellectual perfection is so consummate that I couldn't entirely believe that these people actually had genitals-that they could ever sweat or incur sunburn.
March 7, 2018
...a fascinating study of fleeting love, proving that a lot can be done when you favor characterisation and atmosphere over traditional narrative. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 6, 2018
Director Luca Guadagnino has infused Call Me by Your Name with an unhurried and excessively languid sensibility that becomes more and more problematic as time progresses...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 6, 2018
... a universal story that conquers with empathy and delicacy as very few love stories have in the history of cinema. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 6, 2018
A fine coming-of-age ode to first love.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 5, 2018
It ends up being quite moving, supported by excellent performances to create an effective drama. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 8.4/10
February 26, 2018
Call Me By Your Name is a film made with great care. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 24, 2018
Call Me by Your Name sees Italian filmmaker Luca Guadagnino do his home country proud with an absolutely gorgeous depiction of the northern Italian countryside.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 23, 2018
Call Me By Your Name does more harm than good, and needed to be and do more. Especially as yet another queer white cisgender-centric film, it should have aimed for the stars instead of aiming to make people feel comfortable.
February 22, 2018
... [director Luca Guadagnino] seems to give body and soul to Call Me by Your Name. [Full review in Spanish]
February 22, 2018
The layered, lovely script is rich with an understanding of life and loss that comes only with age.
February 21, 2018
I appreciated the film quality and the acting but the story meandered in superficial courtship for too long without delivering actual connection. It was all foreplay and no action. Perhaps the sequel will make this film more appealing to me in the future.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 21, 2018
Destined, almost certainly, to become a queer film classic. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 20, 2018
...many of the best moments illustrate the experiences of [Timothy Chlamaet] in the solitary privacy of his room. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
February 18, 2018
A sweet and loving film where the characters are less mindful of an outside response and more consumed by the amorous temptations they possess.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 15