Call Me by Your Name - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Call Me by Your Name Reviews

Page 1 of 16
January 23, 2019
A stunning film - a sensual feast filled with desire.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 19, 2019
Guadagnino's film looks like idealized young love feels. It's as warm, lush, and timeless as a sacred Apollonian grove.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 18, 2019
Guadanigno is not interested in creating a story about sin, but rather one about joy, goodbyes and the loss that involves love. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 17, 2019
Call Me By Your Name is a masterfully told story about first love, hidden sexual desire and coming-of-age experiences capped with great performances, immersive production values and nuanced direction that will surely dazzle the eyes and warm your heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 22, 2018
Guadagnino creates a perfectly judged atmosphere of melancholy, longing, tranquillity and inner turmoil as the heat of the summer engulfs Elio with a rising attraction to Oliver.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
December 21, 2018
It's charming, it's pleasing, it's a bit sexy, it takes apricots to places they've never been before - but it's a strong movie with wonderful messages, subtexts and delivery.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
December 7, 2018
By the end of the film, when Michael Stuhlbarg delivers what is surely one of modern cinema's most achingly beautiful monologues, I was a puddle.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 8, 2018
CALL ME BY YOUR NAME REVIEW: 'A STUNNING COMING-OF-AGE TALE THAT WILL GO DOWN IN GAY CINEMA HISTORY
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 5, 2018
Guadagnino delivers one of the year's most striking, eloquent films... Each moment feels pulled out of a different era, transporting viewers in a way only cinema masters can.
November 1, 2018
A picturesque portrait of irresistible romance led by emotionally naked performances.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 1, 2018
Call Me By Your Name has been marketed as a gay romance, yet less overt is its inclusion of Jewish culture.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.42/5
October 31, 2018
Call Me By Your Name is an unapologetic celebration of emotion.
October 31, 2018
An observational character piece that's meant to be experienced in terms of visual beauty, erotic charge and thoughtful contemplation on the intensity and brevity of youth and love.
Full Review | Original Score: 3
October 30, 2018
Here is a film that shuns conventions expected in coming-of-age stories and romances but never at the expense of universal emotions felt by anyone who has ever been in love.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 25, 2018
It's a very astute study of the struggles of a young man trying to find out who he is and struggling between relationships -- both conventional and forbidden by society.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 25, 2018
It's refreshing, wonderful, and shows that love is love no matter how you slice it.
October 17, 2018
Guadagnino's adaptation of André Aciman's novel is a wonderfully sensitive and evocative portrait of young love, but lost in time somewhere in Northern Italy, Call Me By Your Name gets caught up in the outdated politics of its day.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 8, 2018
It's hard for me to talk about this film without just hurling adjectives at the page; it's tender, beautiful, sexy, hilarious and deeply moving - a romance story for the ages, directed and acted with a passionate sincerity.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 31, 2018
Call Me By Your Name is a staggeringly beautiful film that brings together a fully fleshed out artistic vision ... as well as a host of brilliant performances from its cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 28, 2018
It's a languid Italian summer circa 1983 and everything is just so ripe.
Full Review | Original Score: 4
Page 1 of 16