Cats Reviews

Page 1 of 17
April 2, 2021
...unable to claw itself away from its detracting visuals.
February 23, 2021
I want to tell you I at least had fun... but this movie is also so horrible it doesn't even earn the status to make fun of magicians.
February 17, 2021
Watching the film version of Cats is truly mystifying, in neither a completely bad nor completely good way. Fans of the theater production may enjoy seeing their favorite songs or characters again, but there's little to recommend for anyone else.
January 30, 2021
With actors who appear to have been put through the full-body Snapchat cat filter, a Ziegfeld Follies-style chorus line of dancing cockroaches and felines with human hands and feet, you'll wonder if the theatre popcorn is laced with catnip.
January 29, 2021
I, for one, felt lost, grappling down a sketchy back alley for rhyme, reason and, once the credits rolled, the nearest exit.
December 29, 2020
[The] stars must be coughing up hairballs after joining the film's giant litter of singing and dancing felines, whose weird digital fur and creepy features make them all look as though they've been dragged in from the Island of Dr Moreau.
October 12, 2020
May be too indigestible even for a hate-watch.
September 23, 2020
Enraging, unfathomable, and laughable, Cats is a masochistic experience, that this reviewer rather hesitantly recommends - if only for the gamut of emotions it will take you through, leaving you scratched all over.
September 16, 2020
Cats is disjointed, unintentionally comical, and a little creepy - and folks, I love musicals.
August 30, 2020
Cats may very well be the most unique film of the year, certainly released by a major studio, and you'll love it and hate it but you sure won't forget it.
August 15, 2020
Dragging on for almost two hours of poor singing and predominantly forgettable choreography, Cats is Hooper's way of maliciously toying with us like a half-dead mouse wishing for sweet release.
July 28, 2020
Add in the tonal shifts and performances that never feel like they're in the same movie, and out comes a cat scratch fever dream that can only be enjoyed ironically.
July 24, 2020
Every ounce of goodwill built by the feline community in this economy of viral cat videos and memes has been squandered by a single movie.
July 23, 2020
This is like doing too much catnip and falling asleep to the soundtrack, just surreal. Your MEMORY of the story may change, but the curiosity to see it won't kill you. Hy-ooh!
July 18, 2020
There's no use crying over spilled milk. ... It's a boo hiss - unless you're insanely curious to witness something so awesomely bad. Just remember: curiosity killed the cat.
July 8, 2020
I've never used drugs but I suppose the feeling is close to what I experienced watching Cats. [Full review in Spanish]
July 8, 2020
It is an oddity all to itself, a spectacular disaster in every sense of the term. It's a drug-induced hallucination brought to life.
July 1, 2020
Just don't think of it as a film, and you'll be fine.
June 30, 2020
What did I just watch?
June 30, 2020
Cats might be an example that just because something can be done doesn't mean it should be, and that some titles are better left for the stage.
Page 1 of 17