Con Air - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Con Air Reviews

Page 1 of 663
½ July 19, 2016
Dumb as hell... and I still somehow liked it.
½ July 10, 2016
great action popcorn flick. old school but not outdated. the things that stood out to me the most after watching it again are 1) the premise of this movie is amazing and was perfectly executed and 2) there were some awesome characters in this movie. the main villain being played by John Malkovich (I was so surprised!) was great. the other bad guys were awesome. Cage was a beast. it was funny (chappelle!). there were a few dumb things and some cheesy music but mostly this was an awesome movie


SPOILERS


the way Cyrus the Virus dies at the end is shockingly funny. he gets thrown off a firetruck through two windows, and just so happens to fall on a bunch of wires to get electrocuted, then just so happens to fall onto a treadmill of an assembly line leading to a garbage crusher, then just so happens to fall off of the treadmill in the perfect position for his head to be crushed by the crusher with the rest of his body sprawled out. if the rest of this movie was terrible, this might be the worst villain deaths ever. but i liked the rest of the movie so i just laughed at it and no longer considered giving this 4 stars. Although I don't think I would have regardless (about 4 viewings)
½ June 15, 2016
By no means a complete movie, Con Air is everything you would expect from a little '90s action movie: ridiculous, over-the-top action and poor dialogue. I ended up seeing this in a cabin near the Grand Canyon with family and every one of them was laughing throughout the duration of it. That itself sums up the movie, some will hate it... And others find it just plain hilarious.
Steve Grady
Super Reviewer
May 7, 2016
"Con Air" does have a few plot issues but in the end is a great 1990's action movie filled with talented actors, experienced cinematographers and thrilling scenes. The plot to "Con Air" is that a man named "Cameron Poe" portrayed by "Nicholas Cage" is sent to prison for 8 years due to him defending his wife's honor. On his release date "Poe" travels by plane with other convicts who attempt to break out and take over the plane. The movie opens with "Poe" returning from his military duty to meet his wife at a bar where she works at. Throughout the movie it shows "Poe" doing everything he can to bring down the criminal plane that he is on. The movie's climax is a thrilling conclusion to a great film. When the movie ended it did leave the audience with some unanswered questions, which frankly is quite annoying. As usual for a 90's movie, "Nicholas Cage" delivers an amazing performance as "Cameron Poe". "Cyrus The Virus" doesn't feel like an antagonist but more like a side character. The music composers for "Con Air" "Trevor Rabin" "Mark Mancina" created some thrilling Rock & Roll music for the movie that sadly has its moments where it doesn't fit it very well. The cinematographer "David Tattersall" does a splendid job at filming action and thrill. If you are a person who enjoys 1990's Action & Adventure films then I do recommend you watch "Con Air" as it has an amazing performance by "Nicholas Cage", a splendid cinematographer and great action sequences. Although the movie is not perfect it has issues, these being the audience being left with unanswered questions, a film score that doesn't blend in well with the movie at points and a weak antagonist portrayed by "John Malkovich". I give 1997's "Con Air" a 7.5/10.
May 2, 2016
Con Air is silly, ridiculous, and unbelievable. All the reasons why it still holds up in a time where we should be allowed to turn off our brain and enjoy an ensemble cast enjoying themselves in over-the-top roles.
½ April 29, 2016
Con Air is a classic action movie that contains the right amount of cheese and the right amount of action. Nicholas Cage rocks!
April 2, 2016
Thought this movie was a typical action movie but its still nicely done. Definetly worth a watch
½ March 17, 2016
A big, dumb, silly, mindless action romp meant only to entertain, and it succeeds.
February 28, 2016
Con Air is what every Hollywood action film should be, Big stars, Non stop action, Big explosions, Humour and a certain added charm in the lead role, This film has it all, Ok yes it's silly in places and the acting wasn't great but who cares, Sit back turn off your brain and enjoy.
February 25, 2016
It was an experience.
½ February 14, 2016
Bel cast, bei personaggi, ottima trama.
Decisamente un film action ben riuscito, anche se manca quella scintilla che l'avrebbe potuto portare pił in alto nella mia personalissima classifica del genere.
½ February 13, 2016
A fun 90's action movie with some good one liners.
February 6, 2016
What any teenager would like explosions, quirky dialogue, and a script that keep changing to please an audience.
January 30, 2016
From a war-hero to a con to a caregiver to a good samaritan, talk about a dynamic role!
Lil Casey Poe kills it in the final scene, great bit of acting from a child....
January 21, 2016
Another ninety-minute Jerry Bruckheimer cartoon, all climax, explosions and attention-deficit editing. At least we have a good supporting cast who have the measure of what they've signed up to and can gently send it up. Nicolas Cage wears a particularly ridiculous wig in this one: he's far better in small independent movies. Just the thought of him as an action hero is pretty stupid.
½ December 12, 2015
Stupid? Yes. Over-the-top? Yes. Hell of a lot of fun? Absolutely. Do I want to watch it over and over again. Absolutely.
½ December 7, 2015
The ultimate guilty pleasure! Enough explosions and violence to make you roll your eyes. Shut off your brain for two hours and enjoy the flight.
November 7, 2015
Action Thriller From The Single-Dad (Acting) Nic Cage, Savin' The Day.
October 21, 2015
Rubbish.. would have been shot down miles before the landing
½ October 6, 2015
You pretty much can't find a stronger Cage nor Malkovich performance and this is basically the epitome of Bruckheimer. It's solid gold on all three of those fronts. Add to that an all star supporting cast and plenty of humour. Good stuff.
Page 1 of 663