Confidence - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Confidence Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 22, 2010
Con man meets the mob. Violent, grown-up tale.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
I was entertained, but hardly stunned.
Steve Crum
Kansas City Kansan
October 15, 2004
Jammed with double and triple-crosses that make Doug Jung's confusing screenplay secondary to the film's overall look.
Full Review| Original Score: C
Jay Antani
Los Angeles Alternative
September 30, 2004
While it sometimes fails to live up to its title, Confidence ultimately, wins us over-in short, it dazzlingly does what all good cons are supposed to do.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
Oz
eFilmCritic.com
March 4, 2004
Misses the first rule of whodunnit filmmaking and never recovers; if you fool me once, you have to at least give me a reason to care that I've been fooled.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
February 12, 2004
...the performances elevate a standard con game plot.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
Charlie Brown
FilmStew.com
January 19, 2004
Garcia, who plays the least glamorous role of his life, does the best job of thieving each scene he's in.
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
January 5, 2004
Podemos até admirar a engenhosidade do tal 'golpe perfeito', mas não nos importamos muito com seus resultados.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Anton Bitel
Movie Gazette
October 28, 2003
certainly rivals con-film king Mamet for the choppy, colloquial crispness of its dialogue, but lacks something of the intricacy of Mamet's plotting.
Jurgen Fauth
About.com
October 8, 2003
With this crew doing the conning, I'm happy to be suckered.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Paul Arendt
Teletext
August 21, 2003
'It's great to have Hoffman back from his self-imposed movie exile.'
Shannon J. Harvey
Sunday Times (Australia)
July 29, 2003
Confident performances from confident performers, indeed, all chewing the kind of post-Tarantino dialogue that's dotted the genre's recent landscape.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/5
Kim Linekin
eye WEEKLY
July 8, 2003
Not quite as clever as it thinks it is, but it's still too clever for its own good.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Kevin A. Ranson
MovieCrypt.com
June 24, 2003
This isn't the worst film of its kind, but it isn't the best either. "Confidence" is only Hollywood's most recent attempt at a cookie-cutter sting/heist film... If you want something other than junk food, go rent "Diggstown" again.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 24, 2003
While Confidence is packed with all the ballsy bombast of Glengarry, it lacks the heart-stopping tension.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Susan Michals
FilmStew.com
May 30, 2003
Foley has definitely had his share of bombs - remember Madonna in Who's That Girl, or Marky Mark Wahlberg in Fear - it is apparent that he has found his niche with Confidence.
Top Critic
Rex Reed
New York Observer
May 16, 2003
Overplotted, overcontrived, overshot and overedited.
Carlo Cavagna
AboutFilm.com
May 9, 2003
...engaging material with brisk pacing and breezy style... [Includes cast and director interviews]
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
May 8, 2003
This is a one sweet sexy sting of a movie.
| Original Score: 3/4
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
May 8, 2003
The problem here is, however, that the real game is the filmmakers'. As I left the theater, I couldn't shake the feeling that I'd been had.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 9